Helena Waldmann

Helena Waldmann

German choreographer, stage designer and independent director Helena Waldmann was born in Burghausen in 1962.

Since the beginning of her theatre studies in Gießen, her first works at the German State Theatres in the early 90s with teachers such as Heiner Müller, George Tabori and Gerhard Bohner, several years at the Mousonturm in Frankfurt, and with her free-lance productions made in coproduction with German and international theatres and festivals, she points to social sore spots, creating total works of art that go far beyond traditional dance-theatre.

Helena Waldmann’s works have won prizes and travelled around the world – to Europe, India, Iran and Afghanistan, Egypt, Palestine, Kenia, South America, Korea and Vietnam. Her opinion is in demand in symposiums, as a lecturer and in workshops in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Germany, Greece, India, Iran, Japan, Korea and Switzerland.

These journeys have also continually inspired her to make new works, such as Letters from Tentland, produced in Tehran for six Iranian women, Return to sender, her commentary on European immigration policy, performed by six exiled Iranian women, as well as Feierabend! – das Gegengift, her anarchic, delirious antidote to the dictatorship of our modern meritocracy. In the captivating BurkaBondage she presented the Muslim veil and Japanese bondage in an uptempo relationship between shackle and protection. get a revolver, a solo on dementia presented by Danse Danse in 2014, is a celebration of forgetting in which Helena Waldmann senses a possible happiness.

List of shows

Helena Waldmann

Helena Waldmann

Chorégraphe, scénographe et metteure en scène indépendante allemande, Helena Waldmann est née à Burghausen en 1962 et basée à Berlin.

Dès ses études théâtrales à Giessen, elle n’hésite pas à mettre le doigt sur des problèmes sociaux dans des spectacles qui débordent du cadre de la danse-théâtre, et elle ne cessera jamais de le faire tout au long de sa carrière, que ce soit dans ses premières œuvres présentées dans les théâtres d’État allemands dans les années 90, sous la direction de maîtres comme Heiner Müller, George Tabori et Gerhard Bohner, pendant de nombreuses années au Mousonturm de Francfort ou dans des œuvres de commande produites en collaboration avec des théâtres et des festivals allemands et internationaux.

Le travail d’Helena Waldmann a été récompensé et apprécié partout dans le monde – en Europe, en Amérique du Sud, en Amérique du Nord, en Inde, en Iran, en Afghanistan, en Égypte, en Palestine, au Kenya, en Corée et au Vietnam. Recherchée à titre de conférencière et d’animatrice d’ateliers, elle a participé à de nombreuses rencontres en Afghanistan, au Bangladesh, en Éthiopie, en Allemagne, en Grèce, en Inde, en Iran, au Japon, en Corée et en Suisse.

Ses voyages lui ont inspiré des œuvres, telles que Letters from Tentland, produite à Téhéran pour six Iraniennes; Return to Sender, commentaire sur la politique d’immigration européenne interprété par six Iraniennes exilées; et Feierabend! – das Gegengift, délirant et anarchique antidote à la dictature de notre méritocratie moderne. Dans son captivant BurkaBondage, elle présente le voile musulman et le bondage japonais dans un rapport oscillant entre entrave et protection. Get a Revolver, solo sur la démence présenté à Danse Danse en 2014, est une célébration de l’oubli dans lequel Helena Waldmann décèle un possible bonheur. 

Liste des spectacles