Sylvain Émard - Préludes

  • Montreal
  • Sylvain Émard Danse

    Prelude # 1 - The Circle

    Sylvain Émard
  • Prelude #2 - The Square

    Sylvain Émard
Length – 25 min. per Prélude Venue – Esplanade, Place des Arts
2 October 2021
3 October 2021

4:00 PM  Prelude # 1 - The Circle 
5:00 PM  Prelude #2 - The Square 

A tribute to the liberating power of dance. 

This project originated with Rhapsodie, a work for 20 dancers choreographed by Sylvain Émard and scheduled to be presented by Danse Danse in Febuary 2022. Inspired by the ritual aspect of dance, Rhapsodie celebrates our visceral and instinctive side, capturing the life force and the sometimes subversive surrender of bodies in movement.

Challenged by the pandemic, the choreographer imagined “preludes” to his performance-event, “body chords” that would usher in the piece to come, using current constraints to explore the very essence of the work, now shaken. The 20 dancing bodies of Rhapsodie, sometimes entwined, often close together, no longer touch each other. Like a sudden and unexpected change of direction, Préludes to Rhapsodie drive the choreography into new territories.


Prelude #1  - The Circle 

The dancers form a big circle on the Place des Arts Esplanade before gathering around a kernel of spectators. In turn, the rest of the audience surrounds the performers like a circular wave. The circle represents the cycles of nature; it evokes ritual, a spirit of communion, of unity. Prélude #1 investigates the notion of ritual in a context where the very act of gathering is thrown into question.


Prelude #2  - The Square

Symbol of a fixed and balanced world, the square is a human invention, an attempt at stabilization that echoes the urban world around us, where the right angle reigns unopposed. The square suggests a more settled, ordered behaviour than the circle, even if the two forms are, in a way, complementary. In Prelude #2, the square comes to life and pulsates in the heart of the Place des Arts Esplanade.


A Danse Danse presentation.

Place des Arts

FREE OUTDOOR EVENT
 

  • Sylvain Émard

    Photo © Cindy Boyce.

    Sylvain Émard

    A prolific and internationally respected artist, Sylvain Émard created his own dance company Sylvain Émard Danse in 1990, quickly establishing a reputation for a very original style. Highly theatrical at first, his work soon evolved into a more formal approach to dance. Ever since Ozone, Ozone (1987), his first solo, up to Preludes (2020), a site specific diptych for 20 dancers, he has been exploring the territory of huma...

    Read more about Sylvain Émard
  • Sylvain Émard Danse

    A prolific and internationally respected artist, Sylvain Émard created his own dance company Sylvain Émard Danse in 1990, quickly establishing a reputation for a very original style. Highly theatrical at first, his work soon evolved into a more formal approach to dance. Ever since Ozone, Ozone (1987), his first solo, up to Preludes (2020), a site specific diptych for 20 dancers, he has been exploring the territory of huma...

    Read more about Sylvain Émard Danse

Choreography Sylvain Émard.

Dancers Rodrigo Alvarenga, Sophie Breton, Charles Cardin-Bourbeau, Luis Cabanzo, Karina Champoux, Matéo Chauchat, Félix Cossette, Dylan Crossman, Marilyne Cyr, Marie-Michelle Darveau, Janelle Hacault, Mathieu Hérard, Kyra Jean Green, Christopher LaPlante, James Phillips, Matthew Quigley, Simon Renaud, Cara Roy, Marie-Philippe Santerre, Camille Trudel-Vigeant.

Aprentices Aurélie Figaro, Nikita Perruzini.

Rehearsals Daniel Villeneuve.

Original Music Poirier and Martin Tétreault.

Costumes Marilène Bastien.

Technical Director François Marceau.

This creation show was made possible thanks to the special support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

Upcoming

Sébastien Provencher  Children of Chemistry

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Sébastien ProvencherChildren of Chemistry

Sébastien Provencher

24. 25. 26 Sep 2021

Companhia de Dança Deborah Colker  Cão Sem Plumas

SHOW  \ WEBCAST ON DEMAND

Companhia de Dança Deborah ColkerCão Sem Plumas

Deborah Colker

29. 30 Sep, 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11 Oct 2021

Tickets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Habiter nos mémoires

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageHabiter nos mémoires

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

1. 2. 3 Oct 2021

Sylvain Émard - Préludes

  • Montréal
  • Sylvain Émard Danse

    Prélude #1 – Le Cercle

    Sylvain Émard
  • Prélude #2 – Le Carré

    Sylvain Émard
Durée – 25 min. par prélude Lieu – Esplanade, Place des Arts
2 octobre 2021
3 octobre 2021

16 h   Prélude #1 – Le Cercle
17 h   Prélude #2 – Le Carré

Hommage à la danse libératrice. 

À l’origine de ce projet, il y a Rhapsodie, une chorégraphie pour 20 interprètes signée Sylvain Émard, qui sera présentée par Danse Danse en février 2022. S’inspirant de l’aspect rituel de la danse, Rhapsodie célèbre le côté viscéral et instinctif des êtres, capturant la pulsion de vie et l’abandon parfois subversif des corps en mouvement.  

Interpellé par la pandémie, le chorégraphe imagine des Préludes à son spectacle-événement, des « accords de corps  » qui annoncent la pièce à venir, maniant les contraintes actuelles pour explorer l’essence même de l’œuvre, aujourd’hui ébranlée. Les 20 corps dansants de Rhapsodie parfois enlacés, souvent rapprochés, ne se touchent plus. Tel un changement de cap soudain et inattendu, Les Préludes à Rhapsodie propulsent la chorégraphie dans de nouveaux territoires. 


Prélude #1  - Le Cercle 

Les interprètes forment un immense cercle sur l’Esplanade de la Place des Arts. La forme circulaire représente les cycles de la nature. Elle évoque le rituel, un esprit de communion, d’unité. Prélude #1 questionne la notion de rituel, dans un contexte où le rassemblement même est remis en cause. 


Prélude #2  - Le Carré 

Symbole d’un monde équilibré et fixé, le carré est une invention humaine, une tentative de stabilisation faisant écho au monde urbain qui nous entoure, où l’angle droit règne sans opposition. Le carré suggère un comportement plus réglé, plus ordonné que le cercle, même si les deux formes sont, d’une certaine manière, complémentaires. Avec Prélude #2, le quadrilatère prend vie et pulse au cœur de l’Esplanade de la Place des Arts.


Une présentation de Danse Danse.

Place des Arts

ÉVÉNEMENT EXTÉRIEUR GRATUIT

  • Sylvain Émard

    Photo © Cindy Boyce.

    Sylvain Émard

    Artiste prolifique de notoriété internationale, Sylvain Émard crée sa compagnie, Sylvain Émard Danse, en 1990. D'une théâtralité marquée à ses débuts, son travail s’oriente rapidement vers une danse plus formelle. Depuis Ozone, Ozone (1987), son premier solo, jusqu’aux Préludes (2020), un diptyque in situ pour 20 interprètes, Sylvain Émard explore le territoire de la nature humaine à travers la puissance ...

    En savoir plus sur Sylvain Émard
  • Sylvain Émard Danse

    Artiste prolifique de notoriété internationale, Sylvain Émard crée sa compagnie, Sylvain Émard Danse, en 1990. D'une théâtralité marquée à ses débuts, son travail s’oriente rapidement vers une danse plus formelle. Depuis Ozone, Ozone (1987), son premier solo, jusqu’aux Préludes (2020), un diptyque in situ pour 20 interprètes, Sylvain Émard explore le territoire de la nature humaine à travers la puissance ...

    En savoir plus sur Sylvain Émard Danse

Chorégraphie Sylvain Émard.

Interprètes Rodrigo Alvarenga, Sophie Breton, Charles Cardin-Bourbeau, Luis Cabanzo, Karina Champoux, Matéo Chauchat, Félix Cossette, Dylan Crossman, Marilyne Cyr, Marie-Michelle Darveau, Janelle Hacault, Mathieu Hérard, Kyra Jean Green, Christopher LaPlante, James Phillips, Matthew Quigley, Simon Renaud, Cara Roy, Marie-Philippe Santerre, Camille Trudel-Vigeant.

Apprenties interprètes Aurélie Figaro, Nikita Perruzini.

Répétiteur Daniel Villeneuve.

Musique originale Poirier et Martin Tétreault.

Costumes Marilène Bastien.

Direction technique François Marceau.

Cette oeuvre a été rendue possible grâce au soutien spécial du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

À venir

Sébastien Provencher  Children of Chemistry

PERFORMANCE \ EN EXTÉRIEUR

Sébastien ProvencherChildren of Chemistry

Sébastien Provencher

24. 25. 26 sep 2021

Companhia de Dança Deborah Colker  Cão Sem Plumas

SPECTACLE  \ WEBDIFFUSION SUR DEMANDE

Companhia de Dança Deborah ColkerCão Sem Plumas

Deborah Colker

29. 30 sep, 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11 oct 2021

Billets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Habiter nos mémoires

PERFORMANCE \ EN EXTÉRIEUR

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageHabiter nos mémoires

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

1. 2. 3 oct 2021