Rosas (Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker) - Rain

  • Brussels
  • Rosas

    Rain

    Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Length – 1 H 10 Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
4 May 2017 - 8 PM
5 May 2017 - 8 PM
6 May 2017 - 8 PM
Buy tickets

Tickets start at $36.50

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday May 5, 2017

The icon of contemporary dance Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker will be presenting in Montreal one of her masterpieces. Set to tonic music by Steve Reich and now part of the repertoire of the Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Rain is electrifying, hypnotic, exhilarating. Thrilling.


An international icon of the contemporary dance scene, Flemish choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker will be presenting one of her great masterpieces. Created in 2001, set to the driving music of Steve Reich and now part of the repertoire of the Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Rain delivers the quintessence of her choreographic genius and musical intelligence. It features infinite variations of vivid motifs repeated over and over, mathematical forms of rosettes taking shape in a space transformed into a playground. Her 10 dancers trace the incessant movement of life on a stage awash in soft light. The giant rope curtain hanging in a semicircle at the back of the stage reinforces the image of an animated landscape that their powerful yet quite natural dance conveys, an image emerging from tension and release, dizzying acceleration and sudden stops. An electrifying, hypnotic piece. Exhilarating.

“Her 2001 piece Rain, […], is not only a passionate avowal of her artform, it looks like the masterpiece towards which De Keersmaeker’s 20 year career has been heading.” − The Guardian, Newcastle

  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

    Photo © Anne Van Aerschot

    Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

    In 1980, after studying dance at Mudra School in Brussels and Tisch School of the Arts in New York, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (b. 1960) created Asch, her first choreographic work. Two years later came the premiere of Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich. De Keersmaeker established the dance company Rosas in Brussels in 1983, while creating the work Rosas danst Rosas. Since these breakthrough pieces, her...

    Read more about Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
  • Rosas

    Rosas is the company of the choreographer and dancer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. It was founded in 1983 during the creation of the piece Rosas danst Rosas. Since her debut in 1982 with Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, De Keersmaeker has been engaged in a rigorous exploration and articulation of movement, from its simplest forms to its most complex. The relationship between movement and music is essential to...

    Read more about Rosas

Choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Music Steve Reich (Music for 18 Musicians). Danced by Rosas. Set and Lighting Design Jan Versweyveld. Costume Design Dries Van Noten. Production 2001 Rosas & De Munt (Brussel). Co-production 2016 De Munt (Brussel), Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. Premiere 10.01.2001, De Munt (Brussel)

Upcoming shows

Ballet BC

Ballet BC

Emily Molnar + Crystal Pite + Sharon Eyal + Gai Behar

5. 6. 7. 8 Apr 2017

Tickets
Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler

18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 Apr 2017

Tickets
Rosas

Rosas

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

4. 5. 6 May 2017

Tickets

Rosas (Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker) - Rain

  • Bruxelles
  • Rosas

    Rain

    Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Durée – 1 H 10 Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
4 Mai 2017 - 20 H
5 Mai 2017 - 20 H
6 Mai 2017 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 36.50 $

Programme de soirée

L’icône de la scène contemporaine Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker présente l’un de ses plus grands chefs-d’œuvre. Créée sur la musique tonique de Steve Reich et désormais inscrite au répertoire du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Rain est électrisante, hypnotique, jubilatoire. Exaltant.


Icône de la scène internationale contemporaine, la Flamande Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker vient présenter l’un de ses plus grands chefs-d’œuvre à Montréal. Créée en 2001 sur la musique tonique de Steve Reich et désormais inscrite au répertoire du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Rain livre la quintessence de son génie chorégraphique et de son intelligence musicale. On y retrouve ses infinies variations de motifs vifs répétés à l’envi. Ses formes mathématiques qui déploient des rosaces dans l’espace devenu terrain de jeux. Ses 10 danseurs tracent le mouvement incessant de la vie sous de doux éclairages. L’immense rideau de cordes qui s’étire derrière eux renforce l’image de paysage animé que leur danse puissante mais néanmoins naturelle fait naître entre tensions et relâchements, accélérations vertigineuses et arrêts brusques. Une oeuvre électrisante, hypnotique, jubilatoire. Exaltant.

« Un étincelant traité d’écriture chorégraphique. La gestuelle, riche, mouvante, multi-directionnelle, d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, fait miroiter à toute allure les facettes d’un paysage imprévisible. » − Le Monde, Paris

Entretien Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker réalisé par Michaël Bellon

  • Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

    Photo © Anne Van Aerschot

    Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

    En 1980, après des études de danse à l'école Mudra de Bruxelles, puis à la Tisch School of the Arts de New York, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (née en1960) crée Asch, sa première chorégraphie. Deux ans plus tard, elle marque les esprits en présentant Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich. En 1983, De Keersmaeker chorégraphie Rosas danst Rosas et établit à Bruxelles sa compagnie de danse Rosas. A...

    En savoir plus sur Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
  • Rosas

    Rosas, compagnie de la chorégraphe et danseuse Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, a été fondée en 1983 lors de la création de la pièce Rosas danst Rosas. Depuis ses débuts en 1982 avec Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker est engagée dans une recherche rigoureuse sur le mouvement et ses articulations, en déployant un spectre qui va de la simplicité de l’épure aux organisations les...

    En savoir plus sur Rosas

Chorégraphie Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker.
Dansé par Laura Bachman, Léa Dubois, Anika Edström Kawaji, Zoi Efstathiou, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi/Lav Crnčević, Luka Švajda.
Musique Music for 18 Musicians, Steve Reich.
Scénographie et lumières Jan Versweyveld.
Costumes Dries Van Noten.
Direction des répétitions Jakub Truszkowski.
Assistants pour la reprise Jakub Truszkowski, Marta Coronado, Ursula Robb, Clinton Stringer, Fumiyo Ikeda, Taka Shamoto, Elizaveta Penkova, Igor Shyshko, Cynthia Loemij.
Coordination artistique et planning Anne Van Aerschot.
Directeur technique Joris Erven.
Chef costumiers Heide Vanderieck, Jan Vanhoof.
Couturière Charles Gysele, Christine Picqueray, Maria Eva Rodriguez.
Habillage Emma Zune.
Techniciens Joris de Bolle, Pierre Willems.
Production 2001 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Bruxelles).
Coproduction 2016 De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles), Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg.
Première 10.01.2001, De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussel/Bruxelles).
Rosas est soutenu par la Communauté Flamande.

Spectacles à venir

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa + Andonis Foniadakis + Ihsan Rustem

5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 9 déc 2017

Billets
Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 déc 2017

Billets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 jan 2018

Billets