Resid(a)nce - Parts+Labour_Danse

  • Montreal
  • Parts+Labour_Danse

    Resid(a)nce - Parts+Labour_Danse

    David Albert-Toth , Emily Gualtieri
Length – s / o Venue – Cinquième Salle, Place des Arts
8 February 2021
9 February 2021
10 February 2021
11 February 2021
12 February 2021
13 February 2021

Efer, the new work from Parts+Labour_Danse

Each year, Danse Danse supports artists by making rehearsal spaces available, thereby allowing them to deepen several aspects of their creative work. Parts+Labor_Dance, will be in residence at Cinquième Salle at Place des Arts to work on their new creation Efer.

About the work
Efer deals with ashes as a symbol of both finality and renewal, in effect, an appropriate symbol of our times. Its symbolism of insignificance evokes disorientation and isolation. The universality of this emotional resonance, however, unites us - in loss we experience community and hope, transcendence and transformation. We are seeking, in this project and with its dancer-collaborators, for a way to speak about the liminal space created so violently by grief and loss, and to mine its transformative potential. How can we embody this state, simultaneously barren and brimming?

Not accessible to the public.

Follow the artists in residence on Facebook and Instagram and subscribe to our bulletin newsletter.

  • David Albert-Toth

    Photo © Guzzo Desforges

    David Albert-Toth

    Choreographer

    David Albert-Toth is a dancer, choreographer, composer, and co-artistic director of Parts+Labour_Danse. A disposition towards eclectic artistic encounters has led David to perform throughout North America and Europe. Notable collaborations include work with Frédérick Gravel, Human Playground, Lemieux.Pilon 4D-Art and Peter Trosztmer, Emmanuelle Calvé, and Compagnie Destins Croisés. He has contributed to int...

    Read more about David Albert-Toth
  • Emily Gualtieri

    Photo © Guzzo Desforges

    Emily Gualtieri

    Choreographer

    Emily Gualtieri is a Dora Award-nominated choreographer and dance artist working in both Montreal and Toronto. Since 2007, her keen interest in creation and craft has driven her to continually produce and tour new works every season. After several years spent choreographing independently, Emily began a creative partnership with David Albert-Toth, founding Parts+Labour_Danse in 2011. Their 2013 works In Mixed Co...

    Read more about Emily Gualtieri
  • Parts+Labour_Danse

    Established in 2011, Parts+Labour_Danse acts as a vehicle through which co-choreographers David Albert-Toth and Emily Gualtieri produce and present their work. The company explores the absurdist conflicts of the human experience with physically driven work that charms and challenges. With co-creation and shared authorship at the core of its identity, Parts+Labour_Danse approaches the creation of its works with curiosity, pe...

    Read more about Parts+Labour_Danse

Dancer-collaborators Charles Brecard, Léna Demnati, Maïka Giasson, Brianna Lombardo, Milan Panet-Gigon, Nicolas Patry, Fabien Piché, Geneviève Robitaille.

Lighting Designer Paul Chambers.

Upcoming

Sébastien Provencher  Children of Chemistry

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Sébastien ProvencherChildren of Chemistry

Sébastien Provencher

24. 25. 26 Sep 2021

Companhia de Dança Deborah Colker  Cão Sem Plumas

SHOW  \ WEBCAST ON DEMAND

Companhia de Dança Deborah ColkerCão Sem Plumas

Deborah Colker

29. 30 Sep, 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11 Oct 2021

Tickets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Habiter nos mémoires

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageHabiter nos mémoires

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

1. 2. 3 Oct 2021

Résid(a)nce - Parts+Labour_Danse

  • Montréal
  • Parts+Labour_Danse

    Résid(a)nse - Parts+Labour_Danse

    David Albert-Toth , Emily Gualtieri
Durée – s / o Lieu – Cinquième Salle, Place des Arts
8 Février 2021
9 Février 2021
10 Février 2021
11 Février 2021
12 Février 2021
13 Février 2021

Efer, la nouvelle œuvre de Parts+Labour_Danse

Chaque année, Danse Danse accompagne des créateurs en mettant des espaces de répétition à leur disposition, leur offrant ainsi l’occasion d’approfondir plusieurs aspects du travail de création. Parts+Labour_Danse est en résidence à la Cinquième Salle de la Place des Arts pour travailler sur leur nouvelle création, Efer.

À propos de l'œuvre en création

Efer traite les cendres comme symbole à la fois de finalité et de renouvellement. Son symbolisme d'insignifiance évoque la désorientation et l'isolement. L'universalité de cette résonance émotionnelle, cependant, nous unit - dans la perte, il y a espoir, persévérance, et communauté. Les créateurs s'interrogent, dans ce projet et avec ses danseurs-collaborateurs, sur la manière dont nous incarnons l'espace liminal de la perte, dichotomisé à la fois par la finalité et la possibilité, et ainsi défini par son potentiel transformateur. Comment incarner cet état, à la fois dénudé et débordant ?

Non-accessible au public

Suivez les artistes en résidence sur Facebook et Instagram et inscrivez-vous à notre bulletin électronique.

  • David Albert-Toth

    Photo © Guzzo Desforges

    David Albert-Toth

    Chorégraphe

    David Albert-Toth est danseur, chorégraphe, compositeur, et codirecteur artistique de Parts+Labour_Danse. Une disposition envers les collaborations artistiques éclectiques l'amène à performer à travers l’Amérique du Nord et l'Europe ; il collabore avec Frédérick Gravel, Human Playground, Lemieux-Pilon 4D-Art et Peter Trosztmer, Emmanuelle Calvé, et Destins Croisés. Il contribue à des projets pluridi...

    En savoir plus sur David Albert-Toth
  • Emily Gualtieri

    Photo © Guzzo Desforges

    Emily Gualtieri

    Chorégraphe

    Emily Gualtieri est chorégraphe et artiste en danse œuvrant à Montréal et à Toronto. Un intérêt marqué pour la création la pousse à présenter de nouvelles œuvres à chaque saison depuis 2007. Après plusieurs années de création indépendante, elle s'engage à un partenariat avec David Albert-Toth avec qui elle cofonde la compagnie Parts+Labour_Danse en 2011. Leurs œuvres In Mixed Company et La chu...

    En savoir plus sur Emily Gualtieri
  • Parts+Labour_Danse

    Fondée en 2011, Parts+Labour_Danse est le véhicule par lequel les chorégraphes David Albert-Toth et Emily Gualtieri se produisent et présentent leurs travaux. La compagnie explore les conflits absurdes de l’expérience humaine avec des œuvres d’une physicalité poussée qui séduisent et défient. La cocréation étant au cœur de son identité, Parts+Labour_Danse aborde la création de ses œuvres avec curiosité,...

    En savoir plus sur Parts+Labour_Danse

Danseurs et collaborateurs à la création Charles Brecard, Léna Demnati, Maïka Giasson, Brianna Lombardo, Milan Panet-Gigon, Nicolas Patry, Fabien Piché, Geneviève Robitaille.

Concepteur d'éclairages Paul Chambers.

À venir

Sébastien Provencher  Children of Chemistry

PERFORMANCE \ EN EXTÉRIEUR

Sébastien ProvencherChildren of Chemistry

Sébastien Provencher

24. 25. 26 sep 2021

Companhia de Dança Deborah Colker  Cão Sem Plumas

SPECTACLE  \ WEBDIFFUSION SUR DEMANDE

Companhia de Dança Deborah ColkerCão Sem Plumas

Deborah Colker

29. 30 sep, 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11 oct 2021

Billets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Habiter nos mémoires

PERFORMANCE \ EN EXTÉRIEUR

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageHabiter nos mémoires

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

1. 2. 3 oct 2021