• Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webcast

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2021
    Tickets
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webcast

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2021
    Tickets
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webcast

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2021
    Tickets

Joe - Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

  • Montréal
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webcast

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
Length – 1 h 20 Venue – Online
17 March 2021
18 March 2021
19 March 2021
20 March 2021
21 March 2021
22 March 2021
23 March 2021

An iconic contemporary dance piece  

A pivotal work by the late Jean-Pierre Perreault, Joe presents an image of the human condition that is so accurate and so moving that it remains forever imprinted in the memories of those who have seen it.  

To the sound of 32 pairs of work boots obsessively pounding the floor, 32 dancers, dressed in long coats and hats, move in a compact mass from which individuals occasionally attempt to free themselves to escape a foreordained destiny.  

 “Joe  is Perreault’s masterpiece and a prime example of the  dimension of this  talented choreographer-cumsculptor/designer/acoustics expert.”  
 The Gazette, Montreal  

“A work that has become a hallmark of contemporary Canadian dance and a masterpiece for all time.”  
Pittsburg Tribute-Review, 1996  

 Reviving the choreographic repertoire  

One of the most influential and respected contemporary dance artists in Canada, choreographer, painter and set designer Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947–2002) created works whose significant influence both at home and abroad has contributed to the growth of dance audiences.  In 1983, he wrote Joe for students in the dance department at Université du Québec à Montréal, where it was performed by 24 non-professional dancers. Starting in 1984, professional productions with as many as 32 dancers revived the piece and toured the world. The last performance was in 2004.

This webcast of a video recording of the piece  Joe , produced in 1995 by Bernard Picard  for Radio-Canada, not only pays tribute to one of Canada's greatest choreographers, but also allows the public to discover or rediscover an absolutely  breathtaking  performance that has had a profound impact on contemporary dance.  

You may enjoy this archival video in its vintage resolution, which is already 26 years old. The technology may have aged a little, but Joe hasn't!

DETAILED PROGRAM

PRE-SHOW (2 minutes) 
Presentation of the work Joe. Produced by Filigrane Archives. 

FILM JOE (54 minutes) 

POST-SHOW (25 minutes) 
Joe: together, yesterday and now
An incursion into the heart of a masterpiece by choreographer Jean-Pierre Perreault. Ten artists from different generations tell their experience with this dance icon, its original creation at the UQAM in 1983 and its various revivals until 2004. Produced by Filigrane Archives. 


This  Digidance  webcast is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse  Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront  Centre  (Toronto),  National Arts Centre  (Ottawa) in collaboration with the  Fondation  Jean-Pierre Perreault. Thank you to  Radio-Canada Archives. 

Partner's logos

By buying an access you obtain a streaming link valid between March 17 and 23, 2021 at the time of your choosing.

Tickets start at $15.00

  • Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Photo © Michael Slobodian.

    Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947-2002), one of the most important Canadian choreographers and winner of several prestigious national awards, is recognized for his global conception of his works. Perreault is known for works such as Rodolphe (1983), Joe (1984), Stella (1985), Nuit (1986), Flykt (1991), created for the Ballet Cullberg, Adieux (1993), La vita (1993), Les années de pèlerinage (1995), Eironos (1996), L’exil, l’...

    Read more about Jean-Pierre Perreault
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    The Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault (FJPP) is an internationally renowned dance creation company founded by the late Jean-Pierre Perreault. In the early 2000s, it became the first dance organization in Quebec to own its own creative space: Espace chorégraphique.

    Today the FJPP is devoted to documenting and transmitting Quebec’s contemporary dance heritage while encouraging reflection on the creation and promotion of chore...

    Read more about Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

A choreography by Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Produced by the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Choreography, set design, costumes Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Dancers Michel Boisclair, Christine Charles, Carmen Chevalier, Michael English, Claude Godbout, Brigitte Gonthier, Marie-Andrée Gougeon, Sylviane Martineau, Jean-Pierre Mondor, Maya Ostrofofsky, Luc Ouellette, David Rose, Mark Shaub, Daniel Soulières, Yves St-Pierre, Suzanne Trépanier, Gaétan Verret. 

With the participation of the Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers Tom Casey, Christopher Gower, Bonnie Kim, Carol Prieur, Alana Shewchuk, Tom Stroud, Olivia Thorvaldson, Dans Wild; and the dancers from Dancemakers Julia Aplin, Marie-Josée Chartier, Ken Cunningham, Julia Sasso, Gary Tai, Gerry Trentham, Carolyn Woods. 

Rehearsals Ginelle Chagnon. 

Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault Production Director Richard Mayrand. 

Film directed by Bernard Picard. 

Production Société Radio-Canada © 1995. 

Upcoming

DLD – Daniel Léveillé Danse  Creative residence

Resid(a)nce

DLD – Daniel Léveillé DanseCreative residence

Frédérick Gravel

3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8 Mar 2021

Anne Plamondon  Artist's residence

Resid(a)nse

Anne PlamondonArtist's residence

Anne Plamondon

15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Mar 2021

Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault  Joe

Show \ webcast

Fondation Jean-Pierre PerreaultJoe

Jean-Pierre Perreault

17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2021

Tickets

• JOE \ Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webdiffusion

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2021
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webdiffusion

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2021
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webdiffusion

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2021
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webdiffusion

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
    17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2021

Joe - Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

  • Montréal
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Joe - webdiffusion

    Jean-Pierre Perreault
Durée – 1 h 20 Lieu – En ligne
17 mars 2021
18 mars 2021
19 mars 2021
20 mars 2021
21 mars 2021
22 mars 2021
23 mars 2021

Une œuvre-culte de la danse contemporaine   

Œuvre-phare du regretté Jean-Pierre Perreault, Joe  propose une image si juste et si bouleversante de la condition humaine qu’elle demeure à jamais inscrite dans la mémoire de ceux qui l’ont vue.   

Au son de 32 paires de bottes de travail martelant le sol avec obsession, 32 danseurs, vêtus de longs manteaux et de chapeaux, se déplacent en une masse compacte, dont parfois des individus tentent de se libérer pour échapper à un destin tracé d’avance.  

  « L’une des œuvres les plus marquantes de la danse canadienne. [...] Une œuvre qui va droit au cœur [...] qui bouillonne d’une énergie fébrile, sans borne ni frontière. »  
Le Devoir, Montréal  

« L’œuvre est riche et profonde, et le plaisir ne s’épuise pas du spectacle de ces trente corps qui figurent à eux seuls l’humanité. [...] Et c’est d’une extraordinaire beauté. »  
Voir, Montréal  

Redonner vie au répertoire chorégraphique  

L'un des créateurs les plus influents et les plus respectés de la danse contemporaine au Canada, le chorégraphe, peintre et scénographe Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947-2002) a conçu des œuvres dont l’important rayonnement ici et à l’international a contribué à l’élargissement du public de la danse.  En 1983, à l’intention des étudiants du département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, il signe Joe. Cette œuvre, sera reprise par des professionnels dès 1984, allant jusqu’à réunir 32 interprètes lors des nombreuses reprises et tournées internationales dont la dernière a eu lieu en 2004.

Cette webdiffusion d’une captation de la pièce  Joe, réalisée en 1995  par  Bernard Picard  pour  Radio-Canada,  non seulement rend hommage à l’un des plus grands chorégraphes d’ici, mais permet au public de voir ou de revoir un spectacle absolument époustouflant qui a profondément marqué la danse contemporaine.  

Vous pourrez apprécier cette archive vidéo dans sa résolution vintage qui date de 26 ans déjà. Si la technologie a quelque peu vieilli, Joe, lui, ne vieillit pas. 

PROGRAMME DÉTAILLÉ

PRÉ-SPECTACLE (2 minutes) 
Présentation de l'œuvre Joe. Produit par Filigrane Archives. 

FILM JOE (54 minutes) 

POST-SPECTACLE (25 minutes) 
Joe : ensemble, hier et maintenant
Une incursion au cœur de ce chef-d'œuvre du chorégraphe Jean-Pierre Perreault. Dix artistes de différentes générations témoignent de leur expérience autour cette icône de la danse, de sa création originale à l'UQAM en 1983 et de ses différentes reprises jusqu'en 2004. Produit par Filigrane Archives.

Cette webdiffusion  Digidanse  est une initiative de DanceHouse  (Vancouver), Danse  Danse  (Montréal), Centre national des Arts  (Ottawa) et  Harbourfront  Centre  (Toronto). En collaboration avec la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault. Merci à  Radio-Canada Archives. 

Logos Joe

 

En achetant un accès vous obtiendrez un lien unique pour la webdiffusion entre le 17 et le 23 mars 2021 à l'heure de votre choix.

Billets à partir de 15.00 $

  • Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Photo © Michael Slobodian.

    Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Jean-Pierre Perreault

    L’un des plus importants chorégraphes canadiens, lauréats de plusieurs prix nationaux prestigieux, Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947-2002) est reconnu pour sa conception globale du spectacle, à travers des œuvres telles que Rodolphe (1983), Joe (1984), Stella (1985), Nuit (1986), Flykt (1991), créée pour le Ballet Cullberg, Adieux (1993), La Vita (1993), Les Années de Pèlerinage (1995), Eironos (1996), L’Exil-L’Oubl...

    En savoir plus sur Jean-Pierre Perreault
  • Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

    Compagnie de création de réputation internationale fondée par le chorégraphe Jean-Pierre Perreault, la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault (FJPP) devient au début des années 2000 la première organisation de danse propriétaire d’un lieu de création au Québec : l’Espace chorégraphique.

    La FJPP se voue aujourd’hui à la documentation et à la transmission de la danse contemporaine et actuelle québécoise, tout en ...

    En savoir plus sur Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

Une œuvre chorégraphique de Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Une production de la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Chorégraphie, scénographie, costumes Jean-Pierre Perreault. 

Interprètes Michel Boisclair, Christine Charles, Carmen Chevalier, Michael English, Claude Godbout, Brigitte Gonthier, Marie-Andrée Gougeon, Sylviane Martineau, Jean-Pierre Mondor, Maya Ostrofofsky, Luc Ouellette, David Rose, Mark Shaub, Daniel Soulières, Yves St-Pierre, Suzanne Trépanier, Gaétan Verret. 

Avec la participation des interprètes de Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers Tom Casey, Christopher Gower, Bonnie Kim, Carol Prieur, Alana Shewchuk, Tom Stroud, Olivia Thorvaldson, Dans Wild; et les interprètes de Dancemakers Julia Aplin, Marie-Josée Chartier, Ken Cunningham, Julia Sasso, Gary Tai, Gerry Trentham, Carolyn Woods. 

Répétitrice Ginelle Chagnon. 

Directeur de la production pour la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault Richard Mayrand. 

Réalisation du film Bernard Picard. 

Production Société Radio-Canada © 1995. 

À venir