Guillaume Côté – Crypto

  • Montreal
  • Côté Danse

    Crypto

    Guillaume Côté
Length – 80 min without intermission Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts
11 May 2022 - 20 h 00
12 May 2022 - 20 h 00
13 May 2022 - 20 h 00
14 May 2022 - 20 h 00

In Crypto, Guillaume Côté, Principal Dancer and Choreographic Associate of The National Ballet of Canada, joins forces with an impressive group of artistic colleagues. His new work expresses a bold artistic vision. A modern fable performed by four exceptional dancers.

Theatre, music, technology, and gestures tinged with classicism intertwine in this contemporary choreographic narrative. Inspired by a story written by the librettist Royce Vavrek, Guillaume Côté imagines a work that invites a reflection on beauty and our obstinate need to control and transform it. Fascinated by avant-garde artistic forms, the choreographer / performer Guillaume Côté teams up with three exceptional dancers. Featuring a rich musical landscape by Swedish composer Mikael Karlsson and stunning visual effects by Montreal multimedia company Hub Studio, Crypto is the result of a collaborative approach that reveals the original and surprising signature of a creator to be discovered!

Show presented without physical distancing

Place des Arts' sanitary measures

Tickets start at $48.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday May 11, 2022
    Friday May 13, 2022

  • Guillaume Côté

    Photo © Karolina Kuras.

    Guillaume Côté

    Guillaume Côté was born in Lac-Saint-Jean in 1981. He studied at Canada’s National Ballet School and joined The National Ballet of Canada in 1999. He quickly rose through the ranks and was promoted to Principal Dancer in 2004.

    Since then, Côté has danced most of the major classical roles with the National Ballet of Canada and has been the leading male figure of the company. He has created a number of lead roles in ball...

    Read more about Guillaume Côté
  • Côté Danse

    Explore, collaborate and amaze by making dance that is a different visual and emotional experience: this dream of dancer and choreographer Guillaume Côté has become the mission of his company founded in 2021. With the aim of attracting a broader dance audience, this independent company is focused on the creation of innovative multidisciplinary works of universal scope that blend both performing and digital arts.

    Open and m...

    Read more about Côté Danse

Côté Danse presents Crypto

Created by Guillaume Côté from an original story by Royce Vavrek.

Choreography and direction Guillaume Côté.
Story and text Royce Vavrek.
Music Mikael Karlsson.
Sets and video design HUB Studio / Thomas Payette and Mylène Chabrol.
Lighting design Etienne Boucher and Jean François Piché.
Costume design Chris Read.
Animation Motion Designer Joshua Ingleby.
Illustrator Lily Le.
Creative Assistant and Rehearsal Director Anisa Tejpar.
Technical Director, Stage Manager Jean-Hugues Rochette.

Cast Guillaume Côté, Greta Hodgkinson, Natasha Poon Woo, Casia Vengoechea.


An Anymotion Production, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Crypto is a co-production of the CanDance Network Creation Fund, Canadian Stage, Danse Danse, the National Arts Centre, the Banff Centre for the Arts and the Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur, supported by the Canada Council for the Arts. Crypto received additional support from the Maison de la culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce and The National Ballet of Canada.

Crypto was made possible with the generous support of La Fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso.

Crypto was made possible with additional support from the Joan and Jerry Lozinski Foundation

CanDanceConseil des arts du Canada

Upcoming

Sébastien Provencher  Children of Chemistry

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Sébastien ProvencherChildren of Chemistry

Sébastien Provencher

24. 25. 26 Sep 2021

Companhia de Dança Deborah Colker  Cão Sem Plumas

SHOW  \ WEBCAST ON DEMAND

Companhia de Dança Deborah ColkerCão Sem Plumas

Deborah Colker

29. 30 Sep, 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11 Oct 2021

Tickets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Habiter nos mémoires

PERFORMANCE \ OUTDOORS

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageHabiter nos mémoires

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

1. 2. 3 Oct 2021

Guillaume Côté – Crypto

  • Montréal
  • Côté Danse

    Crypto

    Guillaume Côté
Durée – 80 min. sans entracte Lieu – Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts
5 mai 2021 - 20 h 00
6 mai 2021 - 20 h 00
7 mai 2021 - 20 h 00
8 mai 2021 - 20 h 00

Dans Crypto, Guillaume Côté, danseur étoile et chorégraphe associé du Ballet national du Canada, s’entoure de prestigieux collaborateurs. Sa nouvelle création relève d’une vision artistique audacieuse. Un joyau singulier plein de promesses !

Théâtre, musique, technologies et gestuelles teintées de classicisme forment ce récit chorégraphique contemporain. À partir d’une histoire écrite par le librettiste canado­-américain Royce Vavrek, Guillaume Côté imagine une œuvre qui soulève une réflexion sur la beauté et sur l’entêtement de l’homme à vouloir la contrôler, la transformer. Fasciné par les formes artistiques d’avant-­garde, le chorégraphe et interprète s’allie à trois danseurs exceptionnels issus du Ballet national du Canada et du Ballet royal de Flandre (Belgique). Intégrant un riche paysage musical signé par le compositeur suédois Mikael Karlsson et des effets visuels étonnants de la compagnie multimédia montréalaise Hub Studio, Crypto est le résultat d’une approche collaborative qui confirme une signature forte et surprenante, celle d’un créateur à découvrir !

Spectacle annulé

  • Guillaume Côté

    Photo © Karolina Kuras.

    Guillaume Côté

    Guillaume Côté est né au Lac-Saint-Jean en 1981. Après des études à l’École nationale de ballet du Canada, il devient membre du Ballet national du Canada en 1999 où il est promu danseur principal en 2004. Il a depuis interprété la plupart des grands rôles classiques au sein de la compagnie. Il a aussi créé plusieurs rôles principaux dans des œuvres de James Kudelka, notamment Ferdinand dans Un chapeau de pa...

    En savoir plus sur Guillaume Côté
  • Côté Danse

    Explorer, rassembler et éblouir en faisant voir et vivre la danse autrement: ce rêve du danseur et chorégraphe Guillaume Côté est devenu la mission de sa compagnie fondée en 2021. Visant à élargir le public de la danse, cette compagnie indépendante est axée sur la création multidisciplinaire d’œuvres novatrices d'une portée universelle, à la jonction des arts vivants et des arts numériques. De nature ouvert...

    En savoir plus sur Côté Danse

Crypto

Chorégraphie, mise en scène Guillaume Côté. 
Librettiste Royce Vavrek. 
Musique Mikael Karlsson. 
Conception des décors, des vidéos HUB Studio / Thomas Payette, Mylène Chabrol. 
Conception des éclairages Etienne Boucher, Jean François Piché.
Costumes Chris Read.
Adjointe à la création et directrice des répétitions Anisa Tejpar.

Interprètes Guillaume Côté, Matt Foley, Greta Hodgkinson, Casia Vengoechea. 

Une production Anymotion en association avec le Fonds national de Création du Centre national des Arts.

Crypto est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, Danse Danse, Centre national des Arts, Canadian Stage, Centre des Arts de Banff et du Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur, soutenue par le Conseil des arts du Canada. Crypto a aussi reçu l’appui de la Maison de la culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce et du Ballet national du Canada.

Crypto est rendue possible grâce au généreux soutien de La Fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso.
CanDanceConseil des arts du Canada

À venir

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal   VANISHING MÉLODIES – Musique de Patrick Watson

SPECTACLE  \ EN SALLE

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal VANISHING MÉLODIES – Musique de Patrick Watson

Anne Plamondon + Juliano Nunes + Eric Jean

2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 6 nov 2021

Billets