• Grupo Corpo

    Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019
    Tickets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019
    Tickets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019
    Tickets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019
    Tickets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019
    Tickets

Grupo Corpo - Bach + Gira

  • Belo Horizonte / Brésil
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
Length – 100 min. Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
23 January 2019 - 8 PM
24 January 2019 - 8 PM
25 January 2019 - 8 PM
26 January 2019 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $36.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday January 23, 2019
    Friday January 25, 2019

30 years and under

school groups

Latin American ambassadors of dance, hailed throughout the world, the 22 dancers of the Brazilian ensemble Grupo Corpo ignite Danse Danse with their spectacular choreography. This program featuring their pieces Bach and Gira is a real feast for the senses.


Founded in 1975 in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, by Paulo Pederneiras, Grupo Corpo is acclaimed for its original signature: exuberant, musical, generous dance. From the success of the debut work Maria Maria to 21, from Parabelo to O Corpo, the Brazilians have conquered the world with their style, a joyous expression of the many aspects of their native land. Bach, with a score by Marco Antonio Guimarães inspired by the works of Baroque composer Johann Sebastian Bach, was an instant hit. The movement unfolds onstage in a seemingly uninterrupted stream, drawing dancers and audience into a subtle intoxication. Gira, the company’s latest work, combines elements of Afro-Brazilian rituals with music by Brazilian fusion group Méta Méta. Gira is an homage to belief, an offering to dance. Once again, Grupo Corpo delivers a dazzling celebration of Brazil in all its diversity. Great art.

  • Rodrigo Pederneiras

    Photo © Juan Luiz Pederneiras

    Rodrigo Pederneiras

    Rodrigo Pederneiras has been the choreographer for Grupo Corpo since 1978, and together they explore in diverse ways the “inner dance of the body” so characteristic of his work. Focusing on xaxado, samba, capoeira and ballroom dance, they transform those dance figures into a language that is essentially modern, transposing them into an intimate world where equilibrium and dynamics bring more meaning to the movement. He imbues the figures...

    Read more about Rodrigo Pederneiras
  • Grupo Corpo

    The contemporary Brazilian dance company Grupo Corpo, founded by Paulo Pederneiras in 1975, in Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais, Brazil, debuted its first work, Maria Maria, the very next year. Featuring original music by Milton Nascimento, a script by Fernando Brandt and choreography by the Argentine Oscar Araiz, the ballet would go on to spend six years on stage and tour fourteen countries. But even though the piece was an...

    Read more about Grupo Corpo

Bach (1996)

Choreography Rodrigo Pederneiras.
Music Marco Antônio Guimarães (about J. S. Bach’s work).
Set Design Fernando Velloso and Paulo Pederneiras.
Costume Design Freusa Zechmeister.
Lighting Paulo Pederneiras.


Gira

Choreography Rodrigo Pederneiras.
Music Metá Metá.
Set Design Paulo Pederneiras.
Costume Design Freusa Zechmeister.
Lighting Paulo Pederneiras, Gabriel Pederneiras.

Upcoming shows

Tentacle Tribe  Ghost

Tentacle TribeGhost

Emmanuelle Lê Phan + Elon Höglund

13. 14. 15. 16. 17 Nov 2018

Tickets
Groupe RUBBERBANDance  Vraiment doucement

Groupe RUBBERBANDanceVraiment doucement

Victor Quijada

5. 6. 7. 8 Dec 2018

Tickets
Grupo Corpo  Bach + Gira

Grupo CorpoBach + Gira

Rodrigo Pederneiras

23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019

Tickets

• Grupo Corpo

    Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019
    Billets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019
    Billets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019
    Billets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019
    Billets
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
    23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019
    Billets

Grupo Corpo - Bach + Gira

  • Belo Horizonte / Brésil
  • Grupo Corpo

    Bach + Gira

    Rodrigo Pederneiras
Durée – 100 min. Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
23 Janvier 2019 - 20 H
24 Janvier 2019 - 20 H
25 Janvier 2019 - 20 H
26 Janvier 2019 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 36.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 23 janvier 2019
    Vendredi 25 janvier 2019

30 ans et moins

groupes scolaires

Ambassadeurs de la danse en Amérique latine, célébrés dans le monde entier, les 22 danseurs brésiliens de Grupo Corpo viennent embraser Danse Danse avec un feu d’artifice chorégraphique. Les pièces Bach et Gira font de ce programme une fête pour les sens.


Depuis ses débuts en 1975 à Belo Horizonte, Grupo Corpo, la compagnie créée par Paulo Pederneiras, a affirmé son originalité : une danse exubérante, musicale et généreuse. De Maria Maria, premier succès, à 21, de Parabelo à O Corpo, les Brésiliens ont imposé leur style au monde entier tout en montrant diverses facettes de leur terre natale. Bach, dont la partition de Marco Antonio Guimarães s’inspire de l’oeuvre baroque de Jean-Sébastien Bach, est un triomphe à sa création. Sur scène, le flot de mouvements paraît ininterrompu, provoquant une douce ivresse partagée par le spectateur. Gira, dernière création de la compagnie, s’inspire de rituels afro-brésiliens tout autant que de la musique du groupe fusion Méta Méta. Gira est un hommage aux croyances et une offrande à la danse. Grupo Corpo trouve une fois de plus son inspiration dans le Brésil et sa diversité. Du grand art.

  • Rodrigo Pederneiras

    Photo © Juan Luiz Pederneiras.

    Rodrigo Pederneiras

    « Ce n'est qu'en 1988, alors que je travaillais avec l'ensemble Uakti, que j'ai commencé à entrevoir ce que pourrait être la danse plus intérieur du corps. » Ces mots de Rodrigo Pederneiras, chorégraphe pour Grupo Corpo depuis 1978, évoquent ce moment qui fut crucial tant pour lui que pour cette fameuse compagnie brésilienne. Depuis, ils explorent ensemble avec diversité cette « danse intérieure au corps »...

    En savoir plus sur Rodrigo Pederneiras
  • Grupo Corpo

    Fondé en 1975 à Belo Horizonte, Grupo Corpo a débuté l’année suivante sa première création, Maria Maria. Avec la musique originale signée Milton Nascimento, le script de Fernando Brant et la chorégraphie de l’argentin Oscar Araiz, le ballet a été 6 ans sur scène et a performé dans 14 pays. Bien que la pièce ait été un succès critique, populaire et commercial immédiat, l’identité artistique distinctive du...

    En savoir plus sur Grupo Corpo

Bach (1996)

Chorégraphie Rodrigo Pederneiras.
Musique Marco Antônio Guimarães (à partir de l’œuvre de J. S. Bach).
Scénographie Fernando Velloso, Paulo Pederneiras.
Costumes Freusa Zechmeister.
Éclairages Paulo Pederneiras.

Gira

Chorégraphie Rodrigo Pederneiras.
Musique Metá Metá.
Scénographie Paulo Pederneiras.
Costumes Freusa Zechmeister.
Éclairages Paulo Pederneiras, Gabriel Pederneiras.
 

Spectacles à venir

Tentacle Tribe  Ghost

Tentacle TribeGhost

Emmanuelle Lê Phan + Elon Höglund

13. 14. 15. 16. 17 nov 2018

Billets
Groupe RUBBERBANDance  Vraiment doucement

Groupe RUBBERBANDanceVraiment doucement

Victor Quijada

5. 6. 7. 8 déc 2018

Billets
Grupo Corpo  Bach + Gira

Grupo CorpoBach + Gira

Rodrigo Pederneiras

23. 24. 25. 26 jan 2019

Billets