Compagnie Maguy Marin - Salves

  • France
  • Compagnie Maguy Marin

    Salves

    Maguy Marin
Length – 1 h 10 Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
26 September 2013 - 8 PM
27 September 2013 - 8 PM
28 September 2013 - 8 PM

Major figure of new French dance, Maguy Marin bombards the audience with the salvo attack of Salves, its striking images evoking a world in crisis. With dancers of explosive energy and meticulously choreographed staging, this powerful work is tinged with both the serious and the farcical.

More than ever there is a sense of urgency, a pressing need to open our eyes in a world slipping away from us, an urge to face the broken dreams of humanity seemingly programmed to polish the weapons of its own destruction, visibly incapable of learning from its mistakes. A resolutely lucid and committed artist, Maguy Marin once again sounds the alarm with Salves which, since its inception in 2010, has been acclaimed by critics and performed to often sold-out houses. She has choreographed our personal and collective chaos with fragmented staging distinctly her own.

Into rays of light piercing the semi-darkness within, she slips a pulsating slide show of stories big and small. One tableau quickly follows another, replete with dynamic characters and symbols: a helicopter-borne figure of Christ, a Marianne guiding the French revolution, the Statue of Liberty broken into a thousand pieces, a vase smashed beyond repair, all with a nod and a wink to many renowned painters from Goya to Picasso, Delacroix and Warhol, plus the films of Fellini and iconic figures like Elvis Presley, as images both somber and ludicrous rush past in an ambience suggesting a curfew reinforced by a piercing soundtrack. In this mad rush to save what remains from destruction, we discover the power and hope of a united and combative humanity.

A somber and luminous piece, an act of resistance.

“Like a burst of machine gun fire where the flash from every bullet lights up the night for a. fraction of a second, Salves is an explosive experience for both the spectators and the seven dancers summoned to move forward dangerously in the middle of the night.” (La Dépêche, Toulouse, France)

“Political in the fullest sense of the term, this piece sounds the alarm about a sick world where rage still transcends despair.” (Le Monde, Paris, France)

Photo 1 © Didier Grappe. Dancers Ennio Sammarco, Ulises, Alvarez, Vania Vaneau, Agustina Sario, Jeanne Vallauri, Teresa Cunha.
Photo 2 © Didier Grappe. Dancer Vania Vaneau.
Photo 3 © Jean-Pierre Maurin. Dancer Vania Vaneau.

  • Maguy Marin

    Photo © Michel Cavalca

    Maguy Marin

    Born in Toulouse to Spanish parents who fled the Franco regime, Maguy Marin has been creating since the 1970s socially conscious dance pieces that have made her one of the most important figures of new French dance. The many awards she has received include the prestigious Bessie Award for Umwelt (presented in Montreal in 2007). She is also one of the rare non-Americans to have received the American Dance Festival Award. She is now 62...

    Read more about Maguy Marin

Conception Maguy Marin in collaboration with Denis Mariotte.

Dancers Ulises Alvarez, Romain Bertet, Kaïs Chouibi, Laura Frigato, Daphné Koutsafti, Mayalen Otondo, Jeanne Vallauri.

Assistant Ennio Sammarco.

Technical Direction and Lighting Design Alexandre Béneteaud.

Set Design Michel Rousseau.

Props Louise Gros and Pierre Treille.

Costume Design Nelly Geyres.

Sound Design Antoine Garry.

Realized with the Service de Coopération et d'Action Culturelle du Consulat Général de France à Québec

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

Compagnie Maguy Marin - Salves

  • France
  • Compagnie Maguy Marin

    Salves

    Maguy Marin
Durée – 1 h 10 Lieu – Théâtre Maisonneuve, Place des Arts
26 septembre 2013 - 20 h 00
27 septembre 2013 - 20 h 00
28 septembre 2013 - 20 h 00

Plus que jamais, il y a urgence. Urgence d’ouvrir les yeux face à ce monde qui se dérobe sous nos pieds, face aux rêves brisés d’une humanité qui semble programmée pour fourbir les armes de sa propre perte, visiblement incapable d’apprendre de ses erreurs. Artiste résolument lucide et engagée, Maguy Marin tire une nouvelle fois la sonnette d’alarme avec Salves qui, depuis sa création en 2010, a récolté de nombreux éloges des critiques et a souvent été livrée à guichets fermés. La Toulousaine y chorégraphie nos chaos personnels et collectifs dans une de ces mises en scène fragmentées dont elle a le secret.

Dans les interstices lumineux qui déchirent la semi-obscurité d’un intérieur, elle glisse le diaporama trépidant de la petite et de la grande histoire. Les tableaux se succèdent à vive allure, servis par des personnages et des symboles forts : un Christ héliporté, une Marianne guidant la Révolution, une Miss Liberty brisée en mille morceaux, un vase impossible à recoller… Les clins d’œil se multiplient aux grands peintres, Goya, Picasso ou Delacroix, au cinéma de Fellini, à des figures mythiques comme Elvis Presley. Les images se succèdent, graves et burlesques à la fois. Et, dans une ambiance de couvre-feu renforcée par une bande-son saisissante, dans cette course folle pour sauver de la destruction ce qui peut l’être encore, on découvre la puissance et l’espoir d’une humanité solidaire et combative.

Une œuvre sombre et lumineuse. Un acte de résistance.

« Conçu comme une rafale de mitraillette, dont l’éclat de chaque projectile éclaire la nuit une fraction de seconde, Salves […] est une expérience autant pour le spectateur que pour les 7 danseurs sommés de se déplacer dangereusement, en pleine nuit. » (La Dépêche, Toulouse, France)

« Politique au sens fort, cette pièce tire la sonnette d’alarme d’un monde malade où la rage l’emporte encore sur le désespoir. » (Le Monde, Paris, France)

Photo 1 © Didier Grappe. Dancers Ennio Sammarco, Ulises, Alvarez, Vania Vaneau, Agustina Sario, Jeanne Vallauri, Teresa Cunha.
Photo 2 © Didier Grappe. Dancer Vania Vaneau.
Photo 3 © Jean-Pierre Maurin. Dancer Vania Vaneau.

Figure majeure de la nouvelle danse française, Maguy Marin nous bombarde de Salves d’images fortes pour évoquer le monde en crise. Des danseurs à l’énergie explosive, un théâtre chorégraphié au millimètre, une œuvre puissante, grave et burlesque à la fois.

  • Maguy Marin

    Photo © Michel Cavalca

    Maguy Marin

    Née à Toulouse de parents espagnols ayant fui le franquisme, Maguy Marin crée depuis la fin des années 1970 une danse engagée qui a fait d’elle l’une des figures les plus importantes de la nouvelle danse française. Parmi les nombreux prix qu’elle a reçus, notons un prestigieux prix Bessie pour Umwelt, œuvre présentée à Montréal en 2007. Maguy Marin est aussi l’une des rares non-Étasuniennes récipiendaire de l’...

    En savoir plus sur Maguy Marin

Conception Maguy Marin en collaboration avec Denis Mariotte.

Interprètes Ulises Alvarez, Romain Bertet, Kaïs Chouibi, Laura Frigato, Daphné Koutsafti, Mayalen Otondo, Jeanne Vallauri.

Assistant Ennio Sammarco.

Direction technique et lumières Alexandre Béneteaud.

Conception et réalisation du dispositif scénique Michel Rousseau.

Éléments d'accessoires Louise Gros et Pierre Treille.

Réalisation des costumes Nelly Geyres. Son Antoine Garry.

Réalisé avec le Service de Coopération et d'Action Culturelle du Consulat Général de France à Québec

À venir

Red Sky Performance  Miigis + Trace

Spectacle \ webdiffusion

Red Sky PerformanceMiigis + Trace

Sandra Laronde + Jera Wolfe

14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19. 20 avr 2021

Billets
José Navas / Compagnie Flak  Résidence de création

Résid(a)nse

José Navas / Compagnie FlakRésidence de création

José Navas / Compagnie Flak

12. 13. 14. 15. 16 avr 2021

Red Sky Performance  Atelier de danse tout public

Atelier de danse \ en ligne

Red Sky PerformanceAtelier de danse tout public

Jock Soto

17 avr 2021

Billets