Bangarra Dance Theatre

Bangarra Dance Theatre is one of Australia’s leading performing arts companies, fusing Aboriginal culture with contemporary dance. Since the foundation in 1989, the relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities are the heart of Bangarra, with a repertoire created on country and stories gathered from respected community Elders. ‘Bangarra’ is the Wiradjuri word meaning “to make fire”.

The company’s dance technique is forged from over 65,000 years of culture, embodied with contemporary movement. The 17 company dancers are professionally trained, dynamic artists who all have a proud Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander background, from various locations across the country.

Bangarra’s annual program includes a national tour of a world premiere work, performed in Australia’s most iconic venues; a regional tour allowing audiences outside of capital cities the opportunity to experience Bangarra, and an international tour to maintain their global reputation for excellence.

Beside performance and touring, Bangarra Dance Theatre is also dedicated to its education programs, workshops and special performances and projects, planting the seeds for the next generation of performers and storytellers.

Authentic storytelling, outstanding technique and deeply moving performances are Bangarra’s unique signature.
 


Origin 
Barangaroo, Australia

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Bangarra Dance Theatre est l’une des compagnies d’art de la scène les plus prospères d’Australie, mêlant culture autochtone et danse contemporaine. Depuis ses débuts en 1989, les relations avec les communautés aborigènes et insulaires du détroit de Torres sont au cœur de Bangarra, avec un répertoire ancré dans le pays et les récits recueillis par des aînés respectés de la communauté. « Bangarra » est un mot wiradjuri qui signifie « faire du feu ».

La technique de danse de la compagnie s’est forgée à partir de plus de 65 000 ans de culture, incarnée par le mouvement contemporain. Les 17 danseurs de la compagnie sont des artistes dynamiques, avec une formation professionnelle, qui ont tous une fière origine autochtone et / ou insulaire du détroit de Torres, originaires de divers endroits du pays.

Le programme annuel de Bangarra comprend une tournée nationale d’une première mondiale, présentée dans les lieux les plus emblématiques de l’Australie; une tournée régionale permettant à des publics situés en dehors des capitales de découvrir Bangarra et une tournée internationale pour maintenir la réputation mondiale d'excellence de la compagnie.

Outre les spectacles et tournées, Bangarra Dance Theatre se consacre également à des programmes éducatifs, à des ateliers et à des performances et projets spéciaux, semant les graines de la prochaine génération d'interprètes et de conteurs.
La narration authentique, la technique exceptionnelle et les performances profondément émouvantes sont la signature unique de Bangarra.


Origine 
Barangaroo, Australie