• Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui & Damien Jalet - Babel 7.16

    Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Dec 2021
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Dec 2021
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Dec 2021
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Dec 2021
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 Dec 2021

Babel 7.16 - Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

  • Antwerp, Belgium
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
Digidanse
Length – To confirm Venue – Online
8 December 2021
9 December 2021
10 December 2021
11 December 2021
12 December 2021
13 December 2021
14 December 2021
15 December 2021
16 December 2021
17 December 2021
18 December 2021
19 December 2021

At the crossroads of dance, theatre and music, 22 dancers of diverse backgrounds come together with fantastic energy in Babel 7.16, a show by Belgian choreographers Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet. An exhilarating and exotic journey where all languages meet and mingle.

Created especially for the 2016 Avignon Festival and filmed in the Court of Honour of the Papal Palace, Babel 7.16 is an update/recreation of Babel(words), the emblematic piece created by Cherkaoui and Jalet in 2010. Babel 7.16 borrows its title and its tone from the book of Genesis, which seeks to explain why people are scattered over the earth and why they speak different languages. The two choreographers have brought together 22 dancers from 15 different countries, each defending their culture, their nationality, and their spoken and physical language. Among them is Francis Ducharme, a dancer and actor from Quebec. On stage, singers and musicians take us on a journey of hybrid sounds. They transport us to India with Mahabub Khan and Sattar Khan, to Japan with the Taiko (Shogo Yoshii’s enormous Japanese drums), and to medieval Italy with Gabriele Miracle’s percussion and the voice of soprano Patrizia Bovi. English sculptor Antony Gormley designed the set, which features imposing three-dimensional metal structures that the artists manipulate in full view. From private to public, from intimacy to extroversion, from the individual to the collective: Babel 7.16.

IN ADDITION TO THE FILM

After Babel
In the documentary After Babel, choreographers Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet, performer Francis Ducharme and artist Antony Gormley share their recollections and reflections on the creation of Babel. These testimonies reveal the inspirations at the heart of this ode to coexistence, addressing the major themes of communication, identity, borders, language and creation.

Duration: 20 min.
Produced by Filigrane Archives

This DIGIDANCE webcast is an initiative of Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montréal) and Harbourfront Centre (Toronto).

WEBCAST PERFORMANCE
ON DEMAND

By buying an access you obtain a link giving you access to streaming between December 8 and December 19, 2021 at the time of your choosing.

Tickets start at $16.00

  • Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

    Photo © Tristam Kenton.

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

    Born in 1976 to a Belgian mother and Moroccan father, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui makes good use of this mixed identity and dual cultural background. Inquisitive and open-minded, the choreographer melds approaches and traditions, refusing all hierarchies in his modes of expression. What interests him above all are “contact points.” A beloved star of the European stage, he charms spectators the world over with mosaic pieces tha...

    Read more about Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui
  • Damien Jalet

    Photo © Mats Bäcker.

    Damien Jalet

    Damien Jalet is an independent Belgian and French choreographer and dancer whose work has been presented all over the world. Interested in the capacity of dance constantly reinventing itself by conversing with other media such as visual art, music, cinema, theatre and fashion; his works are often collaborative. He worked as a choreographer and dancer for companies such as Ballet C. de la B., Sasha Waltz and Guests, Chunky M...

    Read more about Damien Jalet
  • Eastman

    Founded in 2010, Eastman was set up to produce and promote the work of its artistic director Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Cherkaoui’s non-hierarchical thinking on movement, body language and culture is the basis of his artistic approach. His work offers the audience a vast array of projects and collaborations across many 6 forms of performance including contemporary dance, theatre, ballet, opera and music. His non-hierarchical t...

    Read more about Eastman

Upcoming

Pina Bausch Foundation + Ecole des Sables + Sadler’s Wells  The Rite of Spring | common ground[s]

SHOW \ LIVE IN THE THEATRE

 

Pina Bausch Foundation + Ecole des Sables + Sadler’s WellsThe Rite of Spring | common ground[s]

Pina Bausch + Germaine Acogny + Malou Airaudo

5. 6. 7. 8 Oct 2022

SubscriptionsTickets
Silvia Gribaudi Performing Arts  Graces

SHOW \ LIVE IN THE THEATRE

 

Silvia Gribaudi Performing ArtsGraces

Silvia Gribaudi

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Oct 2022

Subscriptions
Hofesh Shechter Company

SHOW \ LIVE IN THE THEATRE

 

Hofesh Shechter Company

Hofesh Shechter

2. 3. 4. 5 Nov 2022

Subscriptions

• Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui & Damien Jalet - Babel 7.16

    Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021
    Billets
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021
    Billets
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021
    Billets
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021
    Billets
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
    8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021
    Billets

Babel 7.16 - Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

  • Anvers, Belgique
  • Eastman

    Babel 7.16

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Damien Jalet
Digidanse
Durée – à confirmer Lieu – En ligne
8 décembre 2021
9 décembre 2021
10 décembre 2021
11 décembre 2021
12 décembre 2021
13 décembre 2021
14 décembre 2021
15 décembre 2021
16 décembre 2021
17 décembre 2021
18 décembre 2021
19 décembre 2021

Au croisement de la danse, du théâtre et de la musique, 22 danseurs de toutes origines s’entrechoquent avec une énergie fabuleuse dans Babel 7.16, un spectacle signé par les chorégraphes belges Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet. Un voyage exaltant et dépaysant où toutes les langues se bousculent.

Créé spécialement pour le Festival d’Avignon 2016 et capté dans la Cour d’honneur du Palais des Papes, Babel 7.16 est une réactualisation/recréation de Babel(words), la pièce emblématique de Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet créée en 2010. Babel 7.16 emprunte son titre et son ton au récit de la Genèse qui cherche à expliquer pourquoi les hommes se sont dispersés sur la terre et pourquoi ils parlent des langues différentes. Les deux chorégraphes ont rassemblé 22 danseurs de 15 nations différentes qui défendent chacun leur culture, leur nationalité et aussi leur langue parlée et corporelle. Parmi eux : Francis Ducharme, danseur et comédien québécois. Sur scène, des chanteurs et des musiciens nous convient à un véritable voyage aux sonorités hybrides. Ils nous transportent en Inde avec Mahabub Khan et Sattar Khan, au Japon avec les Taiko – énormes tambours japonais de Shogo Yoshii –, en Italie médiévale avec les percussions de Gabriele Miracle et la voix de la soprano Patrizia Bovi. Le plasticien anglais Antony Gormley signe la scénographie composée d’imposantes structures métalliques tridimensionnelles que manipulent à vue les artistes. Du privé au public, de l’intimité à l’extraversion, de l’individu au collectif : Babel 7.16.

EN COMPLÉMENT AU FILM

Revoir Babel
Dans le documentaire Revoir Babel, les chorégraphes Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet, l’interprète Francis Ducharme et l’artiste Antony Gormley partagent leurs souvenirs et leurs réflexions autour de la création de Babel. Ces témoignages révèlent les inspirations au cœur de cette ode à la coexistence, abordant les grands thèmes de la communication, de l’identité, des frontières et du langage.

Durée: 20 min.
Une réalisation de Filigrane Archives

Cette webdifusion DIGIDANSE est une initiative de Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montréal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto).

SPECTACLE EN WEBDIFFUSION
SUR DEMANDE

En achetant un billet vous obtiendrez un lien unique donnant accès à la webdiffusion entre le 8 et le 19 décembre 2021 à l'heure de votre choix.

Billets à partir de 16.00 $

  • Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

    Photo © Tristam Kenton.

    Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

    Né en 1976 de mère belge et de père marocain, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui est le fruit de deux cultures; cette identité mixte marque toute sa démarche artistique. Curieux et ouvert, le chorégraphe privilégie la coexistence des approches et des traditions et refuse toute hiérarchie quant au mode d’expression. Ce qui l’intéresse, ce sont les « points de contact ». Enfant chéri de la scène européenne, il séduit par...

    En savoir plus sur Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui
  • Damien Jalet

    Photo © Mats Bäcker.

    Damien Jalet

    Damien Jalet est un chorégraphe et danseur indépendant belge et français dont le travail a été présenté dans le monde entier. Intéressé par la capacité de la danse à se réinventer constamment en dialoguant avec d'autres médias tels que les arts visuels, la musique, le cinéma, le théâtre et la mode, ses œuvres sont souvent réalisées en collaboration. Il a travaillé comme chorégraphe et danseur pour des c...

    En savoir plus sur Damien Jalet
  • Eastman

    Fondée en 2010, Eastman a pour mission de produire et de diffuser les œuvres du directeur artistique et chorégraphe Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Ses créations offrent au public un large éventail de projets et de collaborations, allant de la danse contemporaine, du théâtre, du ballet, de l’opéra et de la comédie musicale à d’autres formes de spectacle vivant et de performance. Sa pensée non hiérarchique sur le mouve...

    En savoir plus sur Eastman

À venir

Eastman  Babel 7.16

SPECTACLE  \ WEBDIFFUSION SUR DEMANDE

EastmanBabel 7.16

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui + Damien Jalet

8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15. 16. 17. 18. 19 déc 2021

Billets
winter guests  Story, story, die.

SPECTACLE \ EN SALLE

winter guestsStory, story, die.

Alan Lucien Øyen

26. 27. 28. 29 jan 2022

Billets
L-E-V  Chapter 3: The Brutal Journey of the Heart

SPECTACLE \ EN SALLE

L-E-VChapter 3: The Brutal Journey of the Heart

Sharon Eyal + Gai Behar

9. 10. 11. 12 fév 2022

Billets