Animals of Distinction – FRONTERA

  • Montreal
  • Animals of Distinction

    FRONTERA

    Dana Gingras
Length – 75 min. without intermission Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
4 December 2019 - 8 PM
5 December 2019 - 8 PM
6 December 2019 - 8 PM
7 December 2019 - 8 PM

Loud music, strobe effects and laser

Subscribe

Tickets start at $30.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday December 4, 2019
    Friday December 6, 2019

Evening program

Backed by musicians from Fly Pan Am and members of the UK-based collective United Visual Artists (UVA), choreographer Dana Gingras imagines FRONTERA, a new ambitious work that stretches the boundaries of the performing arts. A dazzling, subversive blast of energy!

After remounting monumental with the Holy Body Tattoo and Godspeed You! Black Emperor, choreographer Dana Gingras returns to the large-scale format with FRONTERA. A socially engaged artist, she investigates the notion of borders—political, economic and liminal—and operations of power by exploring their impact on the body. The musical score is by cult Montreal post-rock band Fly Pan Am, with scenography by United Visual Artists. With fearless physicality, the supercharged dancers perform daring, high-voltage moves. On stage, the lights, music and movement are inextricably linked, equal participants in the powerful singularity of the work. FRONTERA is a relentlessly coherent choreographic and theatrical experience that challenges and reinvents codes. A total work of art.

  • Dana Gingras

    Photo © Gilles Berquet.

    Dana Gingras

    Dana Gingras is a choreographer, film-maker, performer and teacher. Her 25-year career using different mediums and artistic practices has established her has a game-changing, boundary-pushing artist.  In 1993, she co-founded The Holy Body Tattoo. The company changed the landscape of Canadian dance, earning numerous awards and honours for its stage and film work.  She went on to form Animals of Distinction (AoD) in...

    Read more about Dana Gingras
  • Animals of Distinction

    Animals of Distinction (AOD) is the multimedia dance company of renowned choreographer and dancer Dana Gingras. Through AOD, Gingras has fostered the creation of numerous cutting-edge works that have involved innovative collaborations across diverse mediums and artistic practices, all shaped by the possibilities of new technologies and cultural shifts.

    Read more about Animals of Distinction

World première 20 novembre 2019, Grand Théâtre de Québec.

Choreography and direction Dana Gingras.

Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV.

Coproduced by Animals of Distinction.

Created and performed by Robert Abubo, Léna Demnati, Stacey Désilier, Caroline Gravel, Louise Michel Jackson, Justin de Luna, Mark Medrano, Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep, Koliane Rochon-Prom Tep, Lexi Vajda.

A special thank you to the dancers who were an integral part of the creation process Ellen Furey, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Paige Culley.

Visual concept and set design United Visual Artists.

Live music Fly Pan Am.

Field recording Dave Bryant.

Dramaturgy Ruth Little.

Choreographer’s Assistant and Rehearsal Director Sarah Williams.

Costumes Sandra Richefort.

Producer and Agent Sarah Rogers.

Stage Manager Mylène Caya.

Touring Director Dominique Sarrazin.

Technical Director Jean-François Piché.

Sound Technician Radwan Ghazi Moumneh.

Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

Coproduction Danse Danse (Montréal), Sydney Festival, CTM Festival (Berlin) & PuSh International Performing Arts Festival (Vancouver).

Creative residencies Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV, Place des Arts.

Upcoming shows

Animals of Distinction – FRONTERA

  • Montréal
  • Animals of Distinction

    FRONTERA

    Dana Gingras
Durée – 70 min. sans entracte Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
4 Décembre 2019 - 20 H
5 Décembre 2019 - 20 H
6 Décembre 2019 - 20 H
7 Décembre 2019 - 20 H
Abonnez-vous

Billets à partir de 30.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 4 décembre 2019
    Vendredi 6 décembre 2019

Entourée des musiciens de Fly Pan Am et du collectif britannique UVA (United Visual Artists), la chorégraphe Dana Gingras imagine FRONTERA, un nouvel opus extra-large qui repousse les limites des arts de la scène. Une impulsion d’énergie fracassante, magnifiquement subversive !

Après la recréation de monumental avec Holy Body Tattoo et Godspeed You! Black Emperor, FRONTERA marque pour la chorégraphe Dana Gingras le retour à une œuvre de grande envergure. Artiste socialement engagée, elle y interroge la notion de frontières — politiques, économiques, métaphoriques — et les jeux de pouvoir en explorant leur impact sur les corps. Fly Pan Am, groupe post­rock culte de la scène montréalaise, en signe la trame musicale, et le réputé collectif britannique United Visual Artists, la scénographie. Dans une physicalité exacerbée, les danseurs gonflés à bloc exaltent une gestuelle intrépide et survoltée. Sur scène, lumières, musique et mouvement sont inextricablement liés, participant à parts égales à la puissante singularité de l’œuvre. FRONTERA est une expérience chorégraphique et scénique d’une implacable cohérence qui bouscule et réinvente les codes. Une œuvre d’art totale.

  • Dana Gingras

    Photo © Gilles Berquet.

    Dana Gingras

    Dana Gingras est chorégraphe, vidéaste, interprète et enseignante. Son travail des 20 dernières années avec divers médiums lui a valu la réputation d’une artiste qui change les règles du jeu et qui repousse sans cesse les limites. En 1993, elle cofonde The Holy Body Tattoo, une compagnie qui a changé le paysage de la danse canadienne et qui a remporté de nombreux prix et distinctions pour ses œuvres chorégraphiques et...

    En savoir plus sur Dana Gingras

Chorégraphie  Dana Gingras / Animals of Distinction 

Première mondiale 20 novembre 2019, Ville de Québec 

Production Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV 

Coproduction Animals of Distinction 

Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

Artistes sur scène 
Robert Abubo,  Justin de Luna,  Léna Demnati,  Stacey Désilier,  Caroline Gravel,  Louise Michel Jackson, Koliane Rochon Prom Tep,  Sovann Rochon Prom Tep,  Mark Sawh Medrano, Lexi Vajda & Fly Pan Am. 

Danseurs à la creation 
Robert Abubo, Paige Culley, Justin de Luna, Léna Demnati, Stacey Desilier, Caroline Gravel, Louise Michel Jackson, Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep, Koliane Rochon-Prom Tep, Mark Sawh Medrano, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Lexi Vajda. 

Concept visuel et scénographie United Visual Artists. 

Musique Fly Pan Am. 

Enregistrement de terrain Dave Bryant. 

Dramaturgie Ruth Little. 

Répétitrice Sarah Williams. 

Agente Sarah Rogers - sarahrogersaod@gmail.com. 

Résidences de création Centre de Création O Vertigo - CCOV, Place des Arts. 

Spectacles à venir

La Otra Orilla  MAGNETIKAE

La Otra OrillaMAGNETIKAE

Myriam Allard + Hedi Graja

19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 23 nov 2019

AbonnementsBillets
Caroline Laurin-Beaucage  Intérieurs

Caroline Laurin-BeaucageIntérieurs

Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

10. 11. 12. 13. 14 déc 2019

AbonnementsBillets