Medhi Walerski

Medhi Walerski

Artistic Director, Choreographer

Medhi Walerski became Artistic Director of Ballet BC in July 2020. Raised in France, he initially trained in Normandy with Laurie Bokobza and Christine Caroly before joining the Conservatoire Superieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris.

Walerski danced at the Paris Opera Ballet and the Ballet du Rhin before joining the Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) in 2001. For more than a decade at NDT, he was an integral part of the company, contributing to the creative, innovative style that NDT is famed for. He participated in the creation of numerous new works and danced in the company’s existing repertoire. He was awarded the most important Dutch dance prize, VSCD Zwaan in 2013 for the most impressive dance performance.

He has worked closely alongside the creative forces of internationally established choreographers, creating and performing works by Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, George Balanchine, Rudolf Nureyev, Paul Lightfoot and Sol León, Hans Van Manen, Crystal Pite, Emio Greco, Angelin Preljocaj, Jacopo Godani, Maurice Béjart, Johan Inger, Wayne Mc Gregor.

Walerski’s professional choreographic debut was in 2008 for NDT 2, he has since then developed a close relation with NDT and Ballet BC for which he has created several works as well as Bern Ballet, Göteborg Ballet, the Ballet State of Georgia, Staatballet Hannover, Staattheater Wiesbaden and Charlotte Ballet.

As an educator, he is regularly invited to lecture and give workshops at Dance Conservatories and Dance Festivals in the Netherlands, The United States, China and Italy.

Choreographic works

Moume - Up and Coming Choreographers, Nederlands Dans Theater (2006)
Mammatus - Netherlands Dance Theatre 2 (2008) Underneath - Nederlands Dans Theater 1 (2009)
Words Failed Me - Bern Ballet, Switzerland (2009)
LaLaLand - Goteborg Ballet, Sweden (2009)
Petit Ceremonie - Ballet BC, Canada (2011)
Blink of an Eye - Nederlands Dans Theater 1 (2011)
Chamber - Nederlands Dans Theater 1 (2012)
Prelude - Ballet BC (2014)
Aureum - Nederlands Dans Theater 2 (2015)
GARDEN - Nederlands Dans Theater 1 (2016)
SOON - Nederlands Dans Theater 1 (2017)
Romeo + Juliet - Ballet BC, Canada (2018)
ORAWA - Ballet State of Georgia (2018)
SWAY - Nederlands Dans Theater 2 (2019)

List of shows

Medhi Walerski

Medhi Walerski

Directeur artistique, chorégraphe

Medhi Walerski est directeur artistique du Ballet BC depuis juillet 2020. Élevé en France, il s'est d'abord formé en Normandie auprès de Laurie Bokobza et de Christine Caroly avant de rejoindre le Conservatoire supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris.

Walerski a dansé au Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris et au Ballet du Rhin avant de rejoindre le Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) en 2001. Pendant plus de 10 ans, il a fait partie intégrante de la compagnie, contribuant au style créatif et novateur qui fait la réputation du NDT. Il a participé à la création de nombreuses nouvelles œuvres et a dansé dans le répertoire existant de la compagnie. Il a reçu le plus important prix de danse néerlandais, le VSCD Zwaan en 2013, pour la performance de danse la plus impressionnante.

Il a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les forces créatives de chorégraphes de renommée internationale, créant et interprétant des œuvres de Jiří Kylián, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, George Balanchine, Rudolf Nureyev, Paul Lightfoot et Sol León, Hans Van Manen, Crystal Pite, Emio Greco, Angelin Preljocaj, Jacopo Godani, Maurice Béjart, Johan Inger, Wayne Mc Gregor.

Walerski a fait ses débuts de chorégraphe professionnel en 2008 pour NDT 2, il a depuis développé une relation étroite avec NDT et Ballet BC pour lequel il a créé plusieurs œuvres ainsi qu'avec Bern Ballet, Göteborg Ballet, le Ballet State of Georgia, Staatballet Hannover, Staattheater Wiesbaden et Charlotte Ballet.

En tant que pédagogue, il est régulièrement invité à donner des conférences et des ateliers dans des conservatoires et des festivals de danse aux Pays-Bas, aux États-Unis, en Chine et en Italie.

Liste des spectacles