Anne Plamondon

Choreographer

A choreographer and performer, Anne Plamondon graduates from l'École Supérieure de danse du Québec in 1994. She immediately joins Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, before moving to dance with the Nederlands Dans Theater II in the Netherlands (1995-1998), then with the Gulbenkian Ballet in Portugal (1998-2000). During this period, Anne performs in works by over 30 choreographers including Jirí Kylian, Hans Van Manen, Ohad Naharin, Johan Inger, Gideon Obarzanek, Angelin Preljocaj and Itzik Galili. She creates lead roles for Rui Horta, Patrick Delcroix, and Pieter de Ruiter, as well as Paul Lightfoot and Sol Leon.

Between 2002 and 2015, she becomes the emblem of the RUBBERBANDance group, first as a dancer, then as its co-artistic director. Alongside choreographer Victor Quijada, she participates in the creation of ten works for the stage and is instrumental in the formulation of the RUBBERBAND method, which she now teaches throughout the world.

Anne also works with contemporary choreographers such as Jean Grand-Maître and James Kuldelka. From 2007 to 2011, Anne collaborates with renowned choreographer Crystal Pite and her company Kidd Pivot, creating Lost Action, Fault, The You Show, and A Picture of You Falling. In 2014, she participates in the choreographic creation and performs in Triptyque by Les 7 doigts de la main, a meeting of dance and circus arts with pieces by Marie Chouinard, Victor Quijada, and Marcos Morau. In 2016, she collaborates in the creation of Corps Amour Anarchie, a PPS Danse work celebrating French poet Léo Ferré. Anne also stars in the short films Small Explosions That Are Yours to Keep, Secret Service and Gravity of Center, directed by Victor Quijada and Thibaut Duverneix. In collaboration with director Micah Meisner, Anne choreographs and performs solo in Red Shoes, winning a Golden Sheaf Award at the Yorkton Film Festival in 2010.

Anne Plamondon makes her debut as a choreographer with the solos The Same Eyes as Yours (2012) and Night Mechanics (2017), both undertaken in collaboration with theatre director Marie Brassard. Artist in residence at the Fall for Dance North festival in Toronto in 2018-19, Anne creates Fiddle Embrace, a piece for 18 students of the Ryerson School of Performance, as well as Counter Cantor, in collaboration with Emma Portner. In 2020, Alberta Ballet commissions Yearn to Make a Difference, a piece for 12 dancers, while the tour of her duet Only You, performed by herself and James Gregg and originally premiered with Danse Danse, is postponed to 2022 in the wake of the pandemic.

Since 2019, Anne acts as associate curator for dance at the Domaine Forget International Music and Dance Academy.

Anne Plamondon

Chorégraphe et interprète, Anne Plamondon obtient son diplôme de l’École supérieure de ballet du Québec en 1994. Elle intègre les Grands Ballets Canadiens avant de poursuivre son parcours avec le Nederlands Dans Theater 2 aux Pays-Bas (1995-1998), puis avec le Gulbenkian Ballet au Portugal (1998-2000), interprétant les œuvres de plus de 30 chorégraphes dont Jiří Kylián, Hans Van Manen, Ohad Naharin, Johan Inger, Gideon Obarzanek, Angelin Preljocaj et Itzik Galili, et créant également des premiers rôles dans les œuvres de Rui Horta, Patrick Delcroix, ainsi que Paul Lightfoot et Sol Leon.

Entre 2002 et 2015, elle devient l’emblème du Groupe RUBBERBANDance en tant qu’interprète, puis codirectrice artistique de 2006 à 2015. Auprès du chorégraphe Victor Quijada, elle participe à la création de plus de 10 œuvres pour la scène et contribue à l’élaboration de la Méthode RUBBERBAND qu’elle enseigne à travers le monde. 

Elle travaille également avec plusieurs chorégraphes contemporains, notamment Jean Grand-Maître et James Kudelka. Entre 2007 et 2011, elle collabore avec Crystal Pite et sa compagnie Kidd Pivot aux pièces Lost Action, Fault, The You Show et le duo A Picture of You Falling. En 2014, elle danse dans le spectacle Triptyque des 7 doigts de la main, dans les créations de Marie Chouinard et Marcos Morau, puis participe en 2016 à la création du spectacle Corps Amour Anarchie de la compagnie PPSDanse, célébrant le poète français Léo Ferré. Anne Plamondon est en vedette dans les courts métrages Small Explosions That Are Yours to Keep, Secret Service et Gravity of Center, réalisés par Victor Quijada et Thibaut Duverneix, et dans Red Shoes du réalisateur Micah Meisner. 

Elle fait ses débuts comme chorégraphe avec les solos Les mêmes yeux que toi (2012) et Mécaniques nocturnes (2017), conçus en collaboration avec la metteure en scène Marie Brassard. En 2018, elle crée, dans le cadre d’une résidence de deux ans au festival torontois Fall for Dance North, le duo Counter Cantor avec Emma Portner ainsi que Fiddle Embrace, une pièce pour 18 étudiants de la Ryerson School of Dance. La compagnie Alberta Ballet l’approche en 2020 pour créer Yearn to Make a Difference, une œuvre pour 12 danseurs. La tournée de son duo Seulement toi, qu’elle interprète en compagnie de James Gregg, prévu au programme de Danse Danse cette même année, est reporté au printemps 2022.

Depuis 2019, Anne est commissaire déléguée à la danse auprès du Festival international et de l’académie du Domaine Forget.

Liste des spectacles