Crystal Pite \ Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris - Body and Soul

  • Paris
  • Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

    Body and Soul (webcast)

    Crystal Pite
Length – 1 h 40 Venue – Online
17 February 2021
18 February 2021
19 February 2021
20 February 2021
21 February 2021
22 February 2021
23 February 2021

With fluidity, generosity and a rare intensity, Crystal Pite’s Body and Soul explores the theme of duality. A truly dazzling show.

Drawing on the languages of William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián and Mats Ek, the Vancouver-based choreographer has invited the dancers of the Paris Opera Ballet to push their limits. By examining the collective and the place of the individual in the human group, she has infused Body and Soul with a powerful and communicative emotional charge.

The rise and fall of waves, the crash of surf on shore ... The 41 performers draw their energy from opposing elements and transfigure, on stage, the many relationships woven into our lives. In dreamlike settings, this organic dance gloriously retraces the history of humanity thanks to solid dramaturgy and a refined aesthetic. A show that amazes, touches, energizes. Body and Soul.

Source: lestroiscoups.fr (transl.)

DETAILED PROGRAM

PRE-SHOW CHAT (13 minutes)
With Crystal Pite (Choreography, Script) and her Kidd Pivot creative team: Owen Belton (Composer), Eric Beauchesne (Assistant Choreographer), Nancy Bryant (Costume Designer), Jay Gower Taylor (Set Designer), Jermaine Spivey (Assistant Choreographer) and Tom Visser (Lighting Designer)

FILM (80 minutes)
Body and Soul (2019)
Produced by the Paris Opera Ballet, directed by Tommy Pascal

This webcast is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), in collaboration with Danse Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), National Arts Centre (Ottawa), Springboard Performance (Calgary).

Get your webcast event access

By buying an access you obtain a link giving you access to streaming between February 17 and 23, 2021 at the time of your choosing.

  • Crystal Pite

    © Michael Slobodian.

    Crystal Pite

    Canadian choreographer and performer Crystal Pite is a former company member of Ballet British Columbia and William Forsythe’s Ballett Frankfurt. Pite’s professional choreographic debut was in 1990, at Ballet British Columbia. Since then, she has created over 40 works for companies such as Nederlands Dans Theater I, Cullberg Ballet, Ballett Frankfurt, The National Ballet of Canada, BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal (R...

    Read more about Crystal Pite
  • Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

    The Paris Opera Ballet is one of the most prestigious and oldest classical dance companies in the world. Originally, in 1669 and at the instigation of Jean-Baptiste Colbert, the corps de ballet was integrated into the Royal Academy of Music. Today it is part of the Opéra national de Paris. The 154 dancers give about 180 performances per season. The dancers of the ballet have mostly been trained in its own dance school, con...

    Read more about Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

Upcoming

Parts+Labour_Danse   Artist's residence

Resid(a)nce

Parts+Labour_Danse Artist's residence

David Albert-Toth + Emily Gualtieri

8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13 Feb 2021

Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris  Body and Soul

Show \ webcast

Ballet de l’Opéra national de ParisBody and Soul

Crystal Pite

17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Feb 2021

São Paulo Companhia de Dança  Dance workshop open for all

Dance workshop \ Online

São Paulo Companhia de DançaDance workshop open for all

Milton Coatti

10 Apr 2021

Crystal Pite \ Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris - Body and Soul

  • Paris
  • Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

    Body and Soul (webdiffusion)

    Crystal Pite
Durée – 1 h 40 Lieu – En ligne
17 Février 2021
18 Février 2021
19 Février 2021
20 Février 2021
21 Février 2021
22 Février 2021
23 Février 2021

De façon fluide et généreuse, Crystal Pite explore dans Body and Soul le thème de la dualité avec une rare intensité.
Un spectacle éblouissant à voir.

Nourrie des langages de William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián ou encore Mats Ek, la chorégraphe de Vancouver a invité les danseurs.euses du Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris à dépasser leurs limites. Interrogeant le collectif et la place de chacun dans le groupe humain, elle a su insuffler à Body and Soul une charge émotionnelle débordante et communicative.

Va-et-vient de vagues, ressac se brisant sur la grève… les 36 d’interprètes puisent leur énergie dans des éléments opposés et transfigurent, sur scène, l’ensemble des relations qui se trament dans nos vies. Dans des atmosphères oniriques, cette danse organique retrace magnifiquement l’histoire de l’humanité grâce à une dramaturgie solide et une esthétique soignée. Un spectacle qui épate, touche, galvanise. Corps et âme.

Source : lestroiscoups.fr

PROGRAMME DÉTAILLÉ

INTRODUCTION (13 minutes)
Entretien avec Crystal Pite (Chorégraphie, Script) et l'équipe créative de Kidd Pivot: Owen Belton (Musique Originale), Eric Beauchesne (Assistant de la Chorégraphie), Nancy Bryant (Costumes), Jay Gower Taylor (Scénographie), Jermaine Spivey (Assistant de la Chorégraphie) et Tom Visser (Lumières).

FILM (80 minutes)
Body and Soul (2019)
Produit par l’Opéra National de Paris, réalisé par Tommy Pascal.

Cet spectacle en webdifusion est une initiative de DanceHouse (Vancouver), en collaboration avec Danse Danse (Montréal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), Springboard Performance (Calgary).

Achetez ce spectacle en webdiffusion

En achetant un accès vous obtiendrez un lien unique donnant accès à la webdiffusion entre le 17 et le 23 février 2021 à l'heure de votre choix.

  • Crystal Pite

    © Michael Slobodian.

    Crystal Pite

    Chorégraphe de Vancouver, Crystal Pite a fait partie de la compagnie du Ballet British Columbia et de la compagnie de William Forsythe, le Ballett Frankfurt. Elle fait ses débuts de chorégraphe en 1990 au Ballet British Columbia. Depuis, elle a créé plus de 40 œuvres pour des compagnies telles que le Nederlands Dans Theater I, le Cullberg Ballet, le Ballett Frankfurt, le Ballet national du Canada, BJM - Les Ballets Ja...

    En savoir plus sur Crystal Pite
  • Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

    Le ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris est l'une des plus prestigieuses et la plus ancienne des compagnies de danse classique du monde. À l'origine, en 1669 et à l'instigation de Jean-Baptiste Colbert, le corps de ballet est intégré à l’Académie royale de musique. Il fait aujourd'hui partie de l’Opéra national de Paris. Le ballet est composé aujourd'hui de 154 danseurs. Il donne dans les 180 représentations ...

    En savoir plus sur Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris

À venir

Parts+Labour_Danse   Résidence de création

Résid(a)nse

Parts+Labour_Danse Résidence de création

David Albert-Toth + Emily Gualtieri

8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13 fév 2021

Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris  Body and Soul

Spectacle \ webdiffusion

Ballet de l’Opéra national de ParisBody and Soul

Crystal Pite

17. 18. 19. 20. 21. 22. 23 fév 2021

São Paulo Companhia de Dança  Atelier de danse tout public

Atelier de danse \ en ligne

São Paulo Companhia de DançaAtelier de danse tout public

Milton Coatti

10 avr 2021