Crystal Pite

Crystal Pite

Choreographer

Canadian choreographer and performer Crystal Pite is a former company member of Ballet British Columbia and William Forsythe’s Ballett Frankfurt. Pite’s professional choreographic debut was in 1990, at Ballet British Columbia. Since then, she has created over 40 works for companies such as Nederlands Dans Theater I, Cullberg Ballet, Ballett Frankfurt, The National Ballet of Canada, BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal (Resident Choreographer, 2001-2004), Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet, Ballet British Columbia, and Louise Lecavalier/Fou Glorieux. She has also collaborated with Electric Company Theatre and Robert Lepage. Crystal is Associate Choreographer of Nederlands Dans Theater I and Associate Dance Artist of Canada’s National Arts Centre. In 2013, Crystal was appointed Associate Artist at Sadler’s Wells, London.

In 2002, she formed Kidd Pivot in Vancouver. Integrating movement, original music, text, and rich visual design, Kidd Pivot’s performance work is assembled with recklessness and rigour, balancing sharp exactitude with irreverence and risk. Kidd Pivot tours nationally and internationally, performing such highly demanded and critically acclaimed works as Dark Matters, Lost Action, The You Show, The Tempest Replica and Betroffenheit, a co-creation with playwright and actor Jonathon Young of Electric Company Theatre.

Crystal Pite is the recipient of several awards, including three Sir Laurence Olivier Awards and the Benois de la Danse 2017 for her piece The Season’s Canon for the Opéra de Paris’ Ballet. She also received the GRAND PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTREAL 2018.

Danse Danse audiences could see her work numerous times, with Emergence, by The National Ballet of Canada (2010), In the Event, by Nederlands Dans Theater (2016), Solo Echo, danced by Ballet BC (2017), Revisor, by her own company Kidd Pivot (2019), The Statement by Nederlands Dans Theater (March 2020) and the webcast Body and Soul by the Paris Opera Ballet, presented in 2021.

List of shows

Crystal Pite

Crystal Pite

Chorégraphe de Vancouver, Crystal Pite a fait partie de la compagnie du Ballet British Columbia et de la compagnie de William Forsythe, le Ballett Frankfurt. Elle fait ses débuts de chorégraphe en 1990 au Ballet British Columbia. Depuis, elle a créé plus de 40 œuvres pour des compagnies telles que le Nederlands Dans Theater I, le Cullberg Ballet, le Ballett Frankfurt, le Ballet national du Canada, BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal (chorégraphe résidente de 2001-2004), le Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet, le Ballet British Columbia et Louise Lecavalier/Fou Glorieux. Elle a également collaboré avec l'Electric Company Theatre et Robert Lepage. Elle est chorégraphe associée du Nederlands Dans Theater 1 et artiste associée de la danse du Centre national des Arts du Canada. En 2013, Crystal a été nommée artiste associée au Sadler's Wells, à Londres.

En 2002, elle a fondé sa compagnie Kidd Pivot à Vancouver. Intégrant le mouvement, la musique originale, le texte et une riche conception visuelle, le travail de performance de Kidd Pivot est assemblé avec insouciance et rigueur, équilibrant l'exactitude pointue avec l'irrévérence et le risque. Kidd Pivot effectue des tournées nationales et internationales et présente des œuvres acclamés par la critique telles que Dark Matters et Lost ActionThe You Show, The Tempest Replica et Betroffenheit, une cocréation avec le dramaturge et acteur Jonathon Young du Electric Company Theatre.

Crystal Pite a reçu de nombreux prix, parmi lesquels trois Sir Laurence Olivier Awards et le Benois de la Danse 2017 pour sa création The Season’s Canon pour le Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris. Elle fut également la lauréate du GRAND PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTREAL 2018.

Accueillie de multiples fois à Danse Danse, Crystal Pite y a présenté Emergence, par le Ballet national du Canada (2010), In the Event, par le Nederlands Dans Theater (2016), Solo Echo, dansé par Ballet BC (2017), Revisor, de sa compagnie Kidd Pivot (2019), The Statement du Nederlands Dans Theater (mars 2020) et la webdiffusion Body and Soul du Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris, présentée en 2021.

Liste des spectacles