Ohad Naharin \ Batsheva Dance Company - Hora - The Movie

  • Tel-Aviv
  • Batsheva Dance Company

    Hora - The Movie (webcast)

    Ohad Naharin
Digidanse
Length – 1 h 00 Venue – Online
9 January 2023
29 January 2023

3 weeks of webcast - January 9 to 29 at the time of your choice.

Originally created for the stage, Hora was adapted for the screen by choreographer Ohad Naharin, marking his second dance film. Hora – The Movie depicts an intimate, tender and disturbing parallel universe where the dancers of the prestigious Batsheva Dance Company explore the intimate limits of movement. An astonishing human-dance calligraphy.

This encounter between dance and film sheds new light on the work of Ohad Naharin, a leading figure in international contemporary dance. It amplifies the intensity of the movements and emotions of Gaga, the widely known technique developed by the choreographer.

Working closely with director Roee Shalti, Naharin uses video effects to add a new choreographic layer to his stage work. Like another performer, the camera moves, accelerates and decelerates, magnifying bodies and gestures, revealing an obscure world in which a code seems to be constantly written and erased. Set to the timeless music of Isao Tomita, this fusion of disciplines and creative expressions naturally transports us into a futuristic and enigmatic universe.

Hora – The Movie is another opportunity to delve into the fascinating evolution of Ohad Naharin’s work in search of new ways to create and experience dance.
 

This Digidance webcast is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), with Danse Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), National Arts Centre (Ottawa).

WEBCAST PERFORMANCE ON DEMAND

By buying an access you obtain a link giving you access to streaming between January 9 and November 29, 2023 at the time of your choosing.

Available in Canada only.

Tickets start at $16.00

  • Ohad Naharin

    Photo © Gadi Dagon.

    Ohad Naharin

    An Israeli choreographer known for his incisive style, Ohad Naharin has transformed the landscape of contemporary dance in Israel, turning preconceived ideas about dance upside down. His characteristic approach is to push the limits of dance, for he is open to everything that is human, to all cultures and art forms, to all manner of movement. Whimsical and rebellious, he is a much sought-after choreographer.

    Born in 1952 on ...

    Read more about Ohad Naharin

Dedicated to Sofia Naharin.

Batsheva Dance Company thanks its American friends for their generous support in the production of this film The Chleck Family Foundation; The Zita and Mark Bernstein Family Foundation; The Jerome L. Stern Family Foundation; Nurit and Rick Amdur; American Friends of Batsheva New Works Fund.

Director Ohad Naharin.
Cinematographer Roee Shalti.
Editors Roee Shalti and Ohad Naharin.
Costume design Eri Nakamura.
Music Isao Tomita, Modest Moussorgsky, Claude Debussy, Charles Ives, Yehonatan Oppenheim, Ikeda Ryoji, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner, Joaquin Rodrigo, Edvard Grieg, Jean Sibelius.

Performed by dancers of the Batsheva Dance Company, 2021-2022 season Chen Agron, Billy Barry, Matan Cohen, Yael Ben Ezer, Ben Green, Sean Howe, Chiaki Horita, Londiwe Khoza, Chun Woong Kim, Shir Levi, Ohad Mazor, Yoni (Yonatan) Simon, Hani Sirkis, Amalia Smith, and Igor Ptashenchuk.

An Online World Premiere March 11-13, 2022.
Co-produced by Factory 54.

Upcoming

Batsheva Dance Company  Hora- The Movie

SPECTACLE \ WEBCAST

Batsheva Dance CompanyHora- The Movie

Ohad Naharin

9. 29 Jan 2023

Tickets
COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD  «M»

SHOW \ LIVE IN THE THEATRE

COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD«M»

Marie Chouinard

31 Jan, 1. 2. 3. 4 Feb 2023

SubscriptionsTickets
Red Sky Performance  Miigis: Underwater Panther

SHOW \ LIVE IN THE THEATRE

Red Sky PerformanceMiigis: Underwater Panther

Sandra Laronde

14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Feb 2023

SubscriptionsTickets

Ohad Naharin \ Batsheva Dance Company - Hora - The Movie

  • Tel-Aviv
  • Batsheva Dance Company

    Hora - The Movie (webdiffusion)

    Ohad Naharin
Digidanse
Durée – 1 h 00 Lieu – En ligne
9 janvier 2023
29 janvier 2023

3 semaines de webdiffusion - du 9 au 29 janvier 2023 à l'heure de votre choix.

D’abord créée pour la scène, l’œuvre Hora est adaptée à l’écran par Ohad Naharin qui signe alors son deuxième film de danse Hora -The Movie. Un univers parallèle intime, tendre et troublant dans lequel les danseur·euse·s de la prestigieuse Batsheva Dance Company explorent les limites intimes du mouvement. Une étonnante calligraphie de danse humaine.   

Cette rencontre entre la danse et le cinéma réinvente singulièrement l’œuvre d’Ohad Naharin, figure de proue de la danse contemporaine internationale. Elle amplifie l’intensité des mouvements et des émotions que génèrent le Gaga, célèbre technique développée par le chorégraphe.  

En étroite collaboration avec le réalisateur Roee Shalti, Ohad Naharin travaille les effets vidéo comme une nouvelle couche chorégraphique à son travail scénique. Tel un autre interprète, la caméra se déplace, accélère et décélère magnifiant les corps et le geste, révélant un monde obscur dans lequel un code semble s'écrire et s'effacer constamment. Porté par la musique intemporelle d'Isao Tomita, cette fusion de disciplines et d'expressions créatives nous transportent naturellement dans un univers futuriste et énigmatique. 

Hora - The Movie est une nouvelle occasion de se plonger dans l'évolution fascinante de l'œuvre d'Ohad Naharin, à la recherche de nouvelles façons de créer et de vivre la danse.  
 

Cette webdifusion Digidanse est une initiative de DanceHouse (Vancouver), avec Danse Danse (Montréal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa).

SPECTACLE EN WEBDIFFUSION
SUR DEMANDE

En achetant un accès vous obtiendrez un lien unique donnant accès à la webdiffusion entre le 9 et le 29 janvier 2023 à l'heure de votre choix.

Disponible au Canada seulement.

Billets à partir de 16.00 $

  • Ohad Naharin

    Photo © Gadi Dagon.

    Ohad Naharin

    Chorégraphe israélien au style incisif, Ohad Naharin a modifié le paysage chorégraphique contemporain dans son pays et bousculé les idées préconçues sur la danse. « Repousser les limites » est la caractéristique essentielle de son travail, ouvert à tout ce qui est humain, à l’influence de toute culture, de tout art, de toutes les manières de bouger. Personnage rebelle et fantasque, il compte parmi les créat...

    En savoir plus sur Ohad Naharin

Dédié à Sofia Naharin.  
  
Pour leur généreux soutien à la production de ce film, la Batsheva Dance Company remercie  The Chleck Family Foundation ; The Zita and Mark Bernstein Family Foundation ; The Jerome L. Stern Family Foundation ; Nurit and Rick Amdur ; American Friends of Batsheva New Works Fund.  

Réalisation Ohad Naharin .
Direction de la photographie Roee Shalti .
Montage Roee Shalti et Ohad Naharin .
Conception des costumes Eri Nakamura .
Musique Isao Tomita, Modest Moussorgsky, Claude Debussy, Charles Ives, Yehonatan Oppenheim, Ikeda Ryoji, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner, Joaquin Rodrigo, Edvard Grieg, Jean Sibelius .

Interprété par les danseurs de la Batsheva Dance Company, saison 2021-2022 Chen Agron, Billy Barry, Matan Cohen, Yael Ben Ezer, Ben Green, Sean Howe, Chiaki Horita, Londiwe Khoza, Chun Woong Kim, Shir Levi, Ohad Mazor, Yoni (Yonatan) Simon, Hani Sirkis, Amalia Smith et Igor Ptashenchuk.

Une première mondiale en ligne - 11-13 mars 2022 .
Coproduit par Factory 54.

À venir

Batsheva Dance Company  Hora- The Movie

SPECTACLE \ WEBDIFFUSION

Batsheva Dance CompanyHora- The Movie

Ohad Naharin

9. 29 jan 2023

Billets
COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD  «M»

SPECTACLE \ EN SALLE

COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD«M»

Marie Chouinard

31 jan, 1. 2. 3. 4 fév 2023

AbonnementsBillets
Red Sky Performance  Miigis: La Panthère d’eau

SPECTACLE \ EN SALLE

Red Sky PerformanceMiigis: La Panthère d’eau

Sandra Laronde

14. 15. 16. 17. 18 fév 2023

AbonnementsBillets