Compagnie Virginie Brunelle – Les corps avalés

  • Montreal
  • Compagnie Virginie Brunelle

    Les corps avalés

    Virginie Brunelle
Length – 70 min. without intermission Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
26 February 2020 - 8 PM
27 February 2020 - 8 PM
28 February 2020 - 8 PM
29 February 2020 - 8 PM
Subscribe

Tickets start at $30.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday February 26, 2020
    Friday February 28, 2020

Springing from an extraordinary union between classical music, performed live by the Molinari Quartet, and contemporary dance, Les corps avalés is a moving human odyssey that reveals Virginie Brunelle’s sensitive intelligence and great musicality in all their luminous power.

After the highly acclaimed presentation of Beating, her first international production, created with Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, Virginie Brunelle tackles her most ambitious work to date. Against a backdrop of resilience and hope, Les corps avalés explores power relations, inequalities and social upheaval. Mastering the delicate balance between expressiveness and the vigorous physicality of her choreographic language, Brunelle directs eight dancers in a portrayal of a vulnerable humanity in search of gentleness and community. On stage, the Molinari Quartet delivers a radiant performance of selected pieces from the classical repertoire. The notes perfuse the smallest parts of the performers’ bodies; they animate, amplify, inspire the movement. Disarray, chaos and torment are thus sublimated. Elegant and intoxicating, Brunelle’s dance is ultimately salutary.

  • Virginie Brunelle

    © Anne-Marie Baribeau.

    Virginie Brunelle

    Choreographer Virginie Brunelle came to dance through music. Born in 1982 in Quebec’s Montérégie region, she studied violin as a child. Impelled by her musical ability, the power of rhythm and the joy of performance, she fell in love with contemporary dance during her studies at UQAM.In 2008, shortly after graduating, she created Les cuisses à l’écart du cœur, a work for seven dancers that won, among others, the 2009...

    Read more about Virginie Brunelle

Les corps avalés

Choreography Virginie Brunelle. 
Dancers Isabelle Arcand, Sophie Breton, Bradley Eng, Claudine Hébert, Chi Long, Milan Panet-Gigon, Peter Trosztmer and another dancer to be confirmed. 
Musicians Quatuor Molinari. 
Lighting Design Alexandre Pilon-Guay. 
Costume Design Elen Ewing. 
Scenography Marilène Bastien. 
Dramaturgic Advisor Gabriel Plante. 
Production Manager Dominique Bouchard. 
Technical Director François Marceau. 

Les corps avalés is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse, National Arts Centre, Banff Centre and Canadian Stage and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

CanDanceConseil des arts du Canada

Upcoming shows

Bangarra Dance Theatre  Spirit

Bangarra Dance TheatreSpirit

Steven Page

30. 31 Oct, 1. 2 Nov 2019

SubscriptionsTickets
La Otra Orilla  MAGNETIKAE

La Otra OrillaMAGNETIKAE

Myriam Allard + Hedi Graja

19. 20. 21. 22. 23. 23 Nov 2019

SubscriptionsTickets

Compagnie Virginie Brunelle – Les corps avalés

  • Montréal
  • Compagnie Virginie Brunelle

    Les corps avalés

    Virginie Brunelle
Durée – 70 min. sans entracte Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
26 Février 2020 - 20 H
27 Février 2020 - 20 H
28 Février 2020 - 20 H
29 Février 2020 - 20 H
Abonnez-vous

Billets à partir de 30.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 26 Février 2020
    Vendredi 28 Février 2020

Fondée sur la puissante union de la danse contemporaine et de la musique classique, interprétée sur scène par le Quatuor Molinari, Les corps avalés est une émouvante odyssée humaine où l’intelligence sensible et la grande musicalité de Virginie Brunelle révèlent toute leur lumière.

Après la remarquée présentation de Beating, sa première production internationale, réalisée au sein de Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, Virginie Brunelle ose sa plus ambitieuse création à ce jour. Sur fond de résilience et d’espoir, Les corps avalés explore les relations de pouvoir, les inégalités et le désordre social. Maîtrisant le délicat équilibre entre l’expressivité et la physicalité vigoureuse du langage gestuel, la chorégraphe y dirige huit danseurs pour dépeindre une humanité à fleur de peau, en quête de douceur et de solidarité. Sur scène, le Quatuor Molinari livre des œuvres choisies du répertoire classique. Les notes s’immiscent dans les moindres parcelles des corps des interprètes; elles animent, amplifient, insufflent le mouvement. Le désarroi, le chaos et les tourments sont ainsi sublimés. Élégante et enivrante, la danse de Brunelle est alors salutaire.

  • Virginie Brunelle

    © Anne-Marie Baribeau.

    Virginie Brunelle

    C’est par la musique que Virginie Brunelle atterrit dans le monde de la danse. Née en 1982 en Montérégie, la chorégraphe consacre son enfance au violon. Elle découvre l’importance du travail collectif quand elle rejoint l’Orchestre des jeunes de la Montérégie ainsi qu’un quatuor à cordes. C’est portée par ce savoir musical, par la puissance du rythme et le plaisir de l’interprétation qu’elle se risque, en 2002, à...

    En savoir plus sur Virginie Brunelle

Les corps avalés

Chorégraphie Virginie Brunelle. 
Interprètes Isabelle Arcand, Sophie Breton, Bradley Eng, Claudine Hébert, Chi Long, Milan Panet-Gigon, Peter Trosztmer et un autre interprète à confirmer. 
Musiciens Quatuor Molinari. 
Éclairagiste Alexandre Pilon-Guay. 
Costumes Elen Ewing. 
Scénographie Marilène Bastien. 
Conseiller à la dramaturgie Gabriel Plante. 
Directrice de production Dominique Bouchard. 
Directeur technique François Marceau. 

Les corps avalés est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, Danse Danse, Centre National Des Arts, DanceHouse et Dance Victoria et soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada.

CanDanceConseil des arts du Canada

Spectacles à venir