• José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 Nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 Nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 Nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 Nov 2015

José Navas / Compagnie Flak - Rites

  • Quebec
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
In co-presentation with
8 pm Length – 1 H Venue – Cinquième Salle
11 November 2015 - 8 PM
12 November 2015 - 8 PM
13 November 2015 - 8 PM
14 November 2015 - 8 PM
18 November 2015 - 8 PM
19 November 2015 - 8 PM
20 November 2015 - 8 PM
21 November 2015 - 8 PM
25 November 2015 - 8 PM
26 November 2015 - 8 PM
27 November 2015 - 8 PM
28 November 2015 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $37.50

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday November 13, 2015
    Friday November 20, 2015
    Friday November 27, 2015

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

The magnetic José Navas orchestrates a powerful and moving ritual about the passage of time. A series of solos set to classical and jazz music, the piece also includes a magnificent performance of the renowned Rite of Spring. A must-see.

José Navas / Compagnie Flak - Rites

Rites

Dancing life… until death

The charismatic José Navas celebrates turning fifty with a rite of passage. Once again he is an open, unpretentious presence onstage, revealing the fragility of a man aware of his finite existence. In a series of solos performed to the music of Schubert, Dvořák, Nina Simone, and finishing with a flourish to the music of Stravinsky, he reflects on the road travelled thus far as he reaps the fruits of maturity. 

An Amazing Rite of spring 

In this solo, which premiered in 2013 at the Concertgebouw Brugge with the musicians of the Brussels Philharmonic, José Navas proclaims his abiding passion for dance in a brilliant performance where he offers his three visions of the figure of the Chosen One. His dance is minimalist, yet ready to explode. It vibrates with the forces of nature before dissolving the feminine and the masculine in a conflagration of the soul, an unveiling of the body and exhaustion. A powerful, troubling and captivating ceremony that probes the fascination of the performing arts for sacrifice. 
 
“I happened to be creating this solo at the same time that I was finishing my version of Giselle for the dancers of Ballet BC in Vancouver. Both these works feature characters, Hilarion and the Chosen One, who dance to death” notes the choreographer. “I find it so much more interesting to concentrate on the notion of sacrifice in the Rite of Spring that I sometimes go beyond my limits in the name of art. Changing costumes in front of the audience is also a sort of comment on this personal sacrifice, as I shift many times from the character to the performer who appears as a simple citizen.”

 

Biographical Notes

Three ways of living a passion. 

A native of Caracas, Venezuela, José Navas moved to New York before settling in Montreal, where he created his first choreography in 1991. Four years later he founded Compagnie Flak. An exceptional dancer, he pursued his career by creating moving solos, the basis of his success. In his group pieces, he has progressed from theatricality to pure movement and total abstraction. Over the past five years he has also made headway in the world of contemporary ballet, receiving commissions from companies such as Ballet BC in Vancouver (where he was choreographer in residence for three years), the National Ballet of Canada and the Staatstheater Mainz in Germany.

 

Choreographer

Company

Credits

Choreographer, Dancer José Navas. Lighting Design Marc Parent. Technical Director Pierre Lavoie. Costumes Sonya Bayer. Fabrication L'Atelier de Couture Sonya B. Music  A. Dvořák, F. Schubert, N. Simone, I. Stravinski.

 

Upcoming shows

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 Jan 2017

Tickets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 Feb 2017

Tickets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 Mar 2017

Tickets

message goes here

close

• José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 nov 2015
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
    11. 12. 13. 14. 18. 19. 20. 21. 25. 26. 27. 28 nov 2015

José Navas / Compagnie Flak - Rites

  • Québec
  • José Navas / Compagnie Flak

    Rites

    José Navas
En coprésentation avec
Place des Arts
20 h Durée – 1 H Salle – Cinquième Salle
11 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
12 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
13 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
14 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
18 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
19 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
20 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
21 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
25 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
26 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
27 Novembre 2015 - 20 H
28 Novembre 2015 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 37.50 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 13 novembre 2015
    Vendredi 20 novembre 2015
    Vendredi 27 novembre 2015

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Le magnétique José Navas orchestre un rituel puissant et émouvant sur le passage du temps. Une série de solos sur des musiques classiques et jazz avec, entre autres, une interprétation magistrale du célèbre Sacre du printemps. Un must.

José Navas / Compagnie Flak - Rites

Rites

Danser sa vie… jusqu’à la mort

Le charismatique José Navas s’offre un rite de passage vers la cinquantaine. Il se montre sans fard et dévoile toute la fragilité de l’homme conscient de sa finitude dans une suite de solos sur des musiques de Schubert, de Dvořák, de Nina Simone et termine en beauté avec Stravinski. Une nouvelle descente au cœur de l’être qui lui permet de saluer le chemin parcouru et de cueillir les fruits de la maturité. 

Un Sacre du printemps époustouflant

Dans ce solo créé en 2013 au Concertgebouw de Bruges avec les musiciens du Brussels Philharmonic, José Navas clame son inépuisable passion pour la danse. Il livre une interprétation magistrale du fameux rôle de l’élue dont il incarne trois visions. Sa danse est minimaliste, chargée comme une bombe. Elle vibre des forces de la nature avant de dissoudre le féminin et le masculin dans l’embrasement de l’âme, le dévoilement du corps et l’épuisement. Une cérémonie puissante, troublante et captivante qui sonde la fascination des arts de la scène pour le sacrifice. 
 
« Le hasard a voulu que je crée ce solo en même temps que je terminais la création de ma version de Giselle pour les danseurs du Ballet BC, à Vancouver, et que ces deux œuvres mettent en scène des personnages, Hilarion et l’élue, qui dansent à en mourir, précise le chorégraphe. Je trouvais d’autant plus intéressant de me concentrer sur la notion de sacrifice dans Le Sacre du printemps qu’il m’arrive parfois de dépasser mes limites au nom de l’art. Le fait de changer de costume à vue est aussi une forme de commentaire sur ce sacrifice personnel car je passe plusieurs fois du personnage à l’interprète qui apparaît alors comme simple citoyen. »
 

Notes biographiques

Trois façons de vivre une passion.  

Originaire de Caracas, au Venezuela, José Navas est passé par New York avant de s’installer à Montréal. Il y signe sa première chorégraphie en 1991 et y fonde Compagnie Flak quatre ans plus tard. Danseur d’exception, il poursuit sa carrière en créant d’émouvants solos, qui ont bâti son succès. Dans ses œuvres de groupe, il est passé de la théâtralité au mouvement pur et à l’abstraction totale. Parallèlement, au cours des cinq dernières années, il a opéré une percée dans l’univers du ballet contemporain en répondant aux commandes de compagnies telles que le Ballet BC de Vancouver – où il a été trois ans en résidence –, le Ballet national du Canada et le Staatstheater Mainz de Mayence, en Allemagne.

 

Chorégraphe

Compagnie

Crédits

Chorégraphe, danseur José Navas. Éclairages Marc Parent. Directeur technique Pierre Lavoie. Costumes Sonya Bayer. Fabrication des costumes L'Atelier de Couture Sonya B. Musique  A. Dvořák, F. Schubert, N. Simone, I. Stravinski.

 

Spectacles à venir

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 jan 2017

Billets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 fév 2017

Billets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 mar 2017

Billets

message goes here

close