Announcement of the winners of the PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTRÉAL for the 2022-2021 season

Established in 2011 by the choreographer Marie Chouinard, president of LES PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTRÉAL, the event is an opportunity to applaud the excellent work of dance artists who performed on Montreal stages and to reafirm Montreal as a major dance destination and it’s indeniable standing on an international level. 

Ethel-Bruneau Award

This year, Caroline Ohrt, Artistic Co-Director and Director of Development of Danse Danse, along with Mickael Toppings, Artistic and Executive Director of the Montreal Intercultural Arts (MAI), had the great pleasure of awarding the second Ethel-Bruneau Award in the history of the PRIX DE LA DANSE DE MONTRÉAL to Louise Lapierre. 

This award, created in 2020 and sponsored by Danse Danse and MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) and endowed with a $5,000 grant, is dedicated to highlighting dance artists and artisans whose contributions are not well known.  

Louise Lapierre is the second artist to win this award. She has carved out a prominent place for herself in the field thanks to her multiple talents. A dancer, choreographer, producer and, most importantly, the founder of the École de danse Louise Lapierre, she also teaches in CEGEPS and universities. Her career as an educator has left its mark on several generations of dancers. This woman, whose work has won many awards for excellence, expresses all her gratitude to the teams, dance lovers and enthusiasts, who have fueled the school’s history. 

2021 Awardees

Congratulations to the winners: Mélanie Demers (The 2021 GRAND PRIX de la danse de Montréal), Barbara Kanerotonni (The 2021 Prix INTERPRÈTE de la danse de Montréal), 100LUX (The 2021 Envol Award for Cultural Diversity and Inclusive Practices in Dance), Béatriz Médiavilla (The 2021 Prix DÉCOUVERTE de la danse de Montréal), Francine Gagné (P The 2021 Prix GESTIONNAIRE CULTUREL(LE) de la danse de Montréal), Annie-Claude Coutu Geoffroy (The 2021 Prix CONTRIBUTION EXCEPTIONNELLE de la danse de Montréal) et Louise Lapierre (The 2021 Prix Ethel-Bruneau).  

Learn more

Photo Louise Lapierre © Karine Lévesque.