William Forsythe

William Forsythe

William Forsythe is recognized as one of the world’s foremost choreographers. His work is celebrated for reorienting the practice of ballet from its identification with classical repertoire into a dynamic 21st century art form.

Raised and principally trained in New York, he arrived on the European dance scene in his early 20s as a dancer and eventually as Resident Choreographer of Stuttgart Ballet. In 1984, he began a 20-year tenure as Director of Ballett Frankfurt and in 2004, he established his own company, The Forsythe Company. 

Forsythe has won several awards including a Bessie, Laurence Olivier Award, the German Distinguished Service Cross and Wexner Prize. In 1999, William Forsythe was named Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters by the Government of France. He has been chosen as Choreographer of the Year several times by the international critics’ survey.

William Forsythe has also been awarded an honorary fellowship from the Laban Centre for Movement and Dance in London and holds an honorary doctorate from the Juilliard School in New York.

List of shows

William Forsythe

William Forsythe

William Forsythe est considéré comme l’un des chorégraphes les plus éminents au monde. Son travail est reconnu pour sa façon de repenser le ballet, faisant passer celui-ci du répertoire classique auquel il est souvent associé à une forme d’art dynamique ancrée dans le 21e siècle.

Principalement formé à New York, où il a grandi, Forsythe fait son entrée sur la scène de la danse européenne alors qu’il est dans la jeune vingtaine, d’abord en tant que danseur, puis comme chorégraphe résident du Ballet de Stuttgart. En 1984, il entreprend un mandat de 20 ans comme directeur du Ballett Frankfurt et, en 2004, il crée sa propre compagnie, The Forsythe Company.

Au cours de sa carrière, William Forsythe a remporté plusieurs prix importants dont le Bessie, le Laurence Olivier Award, la German Distinguished Service Cross et le prix Wexner. En 1999, il est nommé Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres par le gouvernement français. Il est aussi choisi à plusieurs reprises comme chorégraphe de l’année lors de sondages auprès de critiques internationaux.

William Forsythe a également reçu une bourse honorifique du Laban Centre for Movement and Dance de Londres et est titulaire d’un doctorat honorifique de la Juilliard School de New York.

Liste des spectacles