Victor Quijada

Victor Quijada

Victor Quijada was born in California in 1976 to Mexican parents. Over the past dozen years, he has developed a unique style of choreography that extols the various artistic influences that stimulated him as a dancer – the power and spontaneity of hip hop, the rigour and virtuosity of ballet, the evocative power of contemporary dance and its use of time and space. At times he plays with time and reality by means of video or opts for heightened dramatization, creating more abstract works with an emphasis on interaction with the spectators.

His remarkable dance career began at age 8 with hip hop culture on the streets of Los Angeles. His introduction to formal dance and theatre at Los Angeles County High School for the Arts expanded his view of the potential of street dance as an art form. He was later influenced by his mentor the dance pioneer Rudy Perez of the Judson Church Dance Theatre, and began combining hip hop with postmodernist dance. He perfected his classical movement at the request of dance icon Twyla Tharp, for whom he danced for three years. He then worked with Eliot Feld’s company Ballet Tech before performing as a demi-soloist with the Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal from 2000 to 2002. It was in their dance workshops that he developed his hybrid style, which he had initially started working on prior to leaving the U.S.

In 2002 he founded the RUBBERBANDance Group. Its theatricality and mingling of styles led to immediate success. In 2003 he received the Peter Darrell Choreographic Award (UK) and the Bonnie Bird North American Award. In 2010 he was awarded the prestigious Choreography Fellowship granted by the Princess Grace Foundation-USA. 

He has received commissions from companies such as the Pacific Northwest Ballet, BalletMet, Peter Boal & Company and the Chamber Dance Project in the U.S., Transitions Dance Company in the U.K. and the Jeune Ballet du Québec. He also collaborated with the Scottish Dance Theatre with Self Observation Without Judgement, which won the 2004 National Dance Award for best modern repertory, awarded by the Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards. 

Victor Quijada was a finalist for the 2004 American Choreography Awards for the short film adaptation of Hasta La Próxima. He staged the dance sequence in the K-OS music video Man I Used to Be, which won a MuchMusic Video Award for best rap video. 

He has also directed the short films Small Explosions That Are Yours to Keep in 2006, under the mentorship of the director Micah Meisner, Secret Service in 2007 and Gravity of Center in 2011, among others. He collaborated with the director René-Pierre Bélanger on the films La Symphonie éclatée, featuring Kent Nagano and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, and the Canada Day 2004 broadcast for the CBC, which was nominated for a Gemini award.

List of shows

Victor Quijada

Victor Quijada

Californien d’origine, Victor Quijada est né en 1976 de parents mexicains. Depuis les années 2000, il développe une signature chorégraphique unique qui exalte ce qui l’a le plus stimulé dans son parcours d’interprète : la puissance et la spontanéité du hip hop, la rigueur et la virtuosité du classique, la puissance évocatrice du contemporain et son usage du temps et de l’espace. Il joue parfois avec le temps et le réel par l’intermédiaire de la vidéo, il lui arrive de pousser la théâtralisation, il crée également des œuvres plus abstraites et aime interagir avec les spectateurs.

Sa remarquable trajectoire commence à l’âge de huit ans avec la culture hip hop, dont il s’imprègne dans les rues de Los Angeles. Plus tard, son initiation à la danse classique et au théâtre à la County High School for the Arts de Los Angeles lui laisse entrevoir tout le potentiel de la danse urbaine comme forme d’art. Il y subit l’influence de son mentor Rudy Perez, l’un des pionniers de la Judson Dance Theater, qui lui permet déjà de conjuguer hip hop et postmodernisme. Il parfait sa technique classique à la demande de l’icône de la danse Twyla Tharp, pour laquelle il dansera pendant trois ans avant de collaborer avec Eliot Feld et d’entrer comme demi-soliste aux Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, où il demeurera de 2000 à 2002. C’est d’ailleurs dans les ateliers chorégraphiques de la compagnie montréalaise qu’il développe le style métissé qu’il a commencé à travailler juste avant son départ des États-Unis.

En 2002, il fonde le Groupe RUBBERBANDance. L’hybridation des styles et la théâtralité qui caractérisent d’emblée sa signature lui valent un succès immédiat. Dès 2003, il remporte les prix de chorégraphie Peter Darrell et Bonnie Bird pour l’Amérique du Nord, puis reçoit, en 2010, la prestigieuse bourse de recherche en chorégraphie de la Princess Grace Foundation-USA.  

Très vite, il est invité à créer des œuvres pour plusieurs compagnies, dont le Pacific Northwest Ballet, le BalletMet, Peter Boal & Company et le Chamber Dance Project aux États-Unis, la Transitions Dance Company au Royaume-Uni et le Jeune Ballet du Québec. Il collabore également avec le Scottish Dance Theatre, en Écosse, qui intègre sa pièce Self Observation Without Judgement à son programme, pièce qui lui vaut le prix de la meilleure chorégraphie en danse moderne, remis dans le cadre des Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards au Royaume-Uni, en 2003. 

Victor Quijada a également été en nomination aux American Choreography Awards de 2004 pour le prix de la meilleure chorégraphie portée à l’écran avec Hasta La Próxima. Il a par ailleurs créé la chorégraphie du vidéoclip Man I Used to Be de K-OS, gagnant du prix du meilleur vidéoclip rap aux MuchMusic Video Awards. 

Enfin, il a réalisé le court métrage Small Explosions That Are Yours to Keep en 2006, sous le mentorat du réalisateur Micah Meisner, ainsi que les courts métrages Secret Service et Gravity of Center, en 2007 et en 2011, respectivement, entre autres. Il a aussi collaboré avec le réalisateur René-Pierre Bélanger pour les films La symphonie éclatée, mettant en vedette le chef Kent Nagano et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, et Merci Montréal, Canada Day 2004, réalisé pour la CBC et mis en nomination aux prix Gémeaux.

Liste des spectacles