• Andrew Skeels

    Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Oct 2017
    Tickets
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Oct 2017
    Tickets
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Oct 2017
    Tickets

Skeels Danse - Rose of Jericho

  • Montreal
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
Length – 1 h Venue – Cinquième Salle
10 October 2017 - 8 PM
11 October 2017 - 8 PM
12 October 2017 - 8 PM
13 October 2017 - 8 PM
14 October 2017 - 8 PM
Hydro Québec
Subscribe Buy tickets

Tickets start at $30.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday October 11, 2017
    Friday October 13, 2017

30 years and under

Special rates available

Montreal-based American choreographer Andrew Skeels’ practice intermingles elements of contemporary, classical and street dance. His seasonal work Rose of Jericho bears his unmistakable stamp: a line like a sharp, forceful gesture.
 

Before turning to choreography, Andrew Skeels danced with Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, where he encountered the styles of Kylián, Ek, Celis and Veldman. In constant evolution, his approach draws on his classical ballet training and his explorations into contact improvisation and breakdance. His work is energetic, musical, incisive—in a word, dazzling. “The audience is the final element that gives life to a dance”, he says. In Rose of Jericho, Skeels uses the resilient Middle Eastern plant as a metaphor for a transcultural cross-fertilization between perseverance and rebirth. Joining him on the creative team are two other artistic nomads, musician Sussan Deyhim and designer Wilber Tellez. In an exotic, evocative setting, an eclectic ensemble of seven dancers from various disciplines performs a great escape. Movement as calligraphy; a paean to diversity.

  • Andrew Skeels

    © Julien Benhamou

    Andrew Skeels

    Andrew Skeels is a former dancer with Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal and has performed works by Jiri Kyliàn, Mats Ek, Ohad Naharin, Stijn Celis, Didy Veldman, Marco Goecke, Stephan Thoss, Christopher Wheeldon, George Balanchine, and numerous other choreographers.His choreographic language reflects his ever-expanding curiosity and love for the art of dance. He draws influence from his training as a film editor and applies a...

    Read more about Andrew Skeels
  • Skeels Danse

    Andrew Skeels is the artistic director of Skeels Danse Montréal. His work has been presented at the Paris Opera, Grand Théâtre de Genève, TanzTheater International Festival Hannover, Palais des Festivals Cannes, Théâtre de Suresnes Jean-Villar, Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, Kansas City Ballet, Festival Quartiers Danses Montréal, Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur, WestWave Dance Festival San Francisco, Colorado Ballet, and Festival...

    Read more about Skeels Danse

Choreography Andrew Skeels.
Music Sussan Deyhim, Richard Horowitz.
Dancers Alisia Pobega, Brett Andrew Taylor, Jossua Collin Dufour, Odile-Amelie Peters, Lila-Mae Talbot, Jessie Lhôte, Alexandre Carlos.
Lighting Rasmus Sylvest.
Costumes Wilber Tellez.
Set Design Sunny Doyle.

Upcoming shows

• Andrew Skeels

    Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 oct 2017
    Billets
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 oct 2017
    Billets
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
    10. 11. 12. 13. 14 oct 2017
    Billets

Skeels Danse - Rose of Jericho

  • Montréal
  • Skeels Danse

    Rose of Jericho

    Andrew Skeels
Durée – 1 h Salle – Cinquième Salle
10 Octobre 2017 - 20 H
11 Octobre 2017 - 20 H
12 Octobre 2017 - 20 H
13 Octobre 2017 - 20 H
14 Octobre 2017 - 20 H
Hydro Québec
Abonnez-vous Achetez des billets

Billets à partir de 30.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 11 octobre 2017
    Vendredi 13 octobre 2017

30 ans et moins

Tarifs spéciaux disponibles

Américain basé à Montréal, Andrew Skeels brasse dans un même élan danse contemporaine, danse classique et danses urbaines. Rose of Jericho, opus de saison, impose sa signature : un trait comme un geste vif et incisif.


Ancien danseur des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal où il a pu croiser les styles de Kylián, Ek, Celis et Veldman, Andrew Skeels impose aujourd’hui la marque d’un chorégraphe. Son approche en constante évolution s’est nourrie de son bagage classique, du contact improvisation ou du breakdance. Dynamique, musicale, tranchante, sa danse épate. « Le public est l’élément final qui donne vie au mouvement », résume-t-il. Dans Rose of Jericho, Skeels utilise la plante du Moyen-Orient comme métaphore d’une pollinisation transculturelle, entre persévérance et renaissance. Il invite la musicienne Sussan Deyhim et le designer Wilber Tellez, deux autres migrants des arts, à le rejoindre. Dans un décor évocateur de ce lointain en mouvement, cette distribution éclectique de sept danseurs aux formations différentes offre une échappée belle. Une gestuelle comme une calligraphie, un hymne à la diversité.

  • Andrew Skeels

    © Julien Benhamou

    Andrew Skeels

    Andrew Skeels est né à Boston et a été formé à l’École du Boston Ballet. Ancien danseur des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, il a interprété des rôles de soliste dans des oeuvres de Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin, Stijn Celis, Didy Veldman, Marco Goecke, Stephan Thoss, Christopher Wheeldon et George Balanchine, entre autres. Son langage chorégraphique reflète son insatiable curiosité et son amour de l’art de la...

    En savoir plus sur Andrew Skeels
  • Skeels Danse

    Andrew Skeels est directeur artistique de Skeels Danse Montréal. Ses œuvres ont été présentées à l’Opéra de Paris, au Grand Théâtre de Genève, au Tanztheater International Festival de Hanovre, au Palais des Festivals à Cannes, au Théâtre de Suresnes Jean-Vilar, au Festival Quartiers Danse à Montréal, au Festival des arts de Saint-Sauveur, au West Wave Dance Festival de San Francisco et au Festival Ballet Providence ainsi que...

    En savoir plus sur Skeels Danse

Chorégraphie Andrew Skeels.
Musique Sussan Deyhim, Richard Horowitz. 
Interprètes Alisia Pobega, Brett Andrew Taylor, Jossua Collin Dufour, Odile-Amelie Peters, Lila-Mae Talbot, Jessie Lhôte, Alexandre Carlos.
Lumières Rasmus Sylvest. 
Costumes Wilber Tellez. 
Scénographie Sunny Doyle.

Spectacles à venir