Shay Kuebler Radical System Art - Telemetry

  • Vancouver
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
Length – 1 H Venue – Cinquième Salle
18 April 2017 - 8 PM
19 April 2017 - 8 PM
20 April 2017 - 8 PM
21 April 2017 - 2 PM
21 April 2017 - 8 PM
22 April 2017 - 8 PM
Buy tickets

Tickets start at $38.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday April 21, 2017

A compelling and remarkably inventive performer, Shay Kuebler creates works tinged with hybrid dance, martial arts and theatricality. His raw, acrobatic language animates an energetic dance pollinated by jazz, swing, tap dance and house music. Terrifically intense.


A compelling and remarkably inventive stage performer, Shay Kuebler creates hybrid works that combine dance, martial arts and theatricality. In Telemetry he has imagined the body as an antenna and satellite for sound, energy and memory, a body that translates and transmits that information into visceral physicality and precise movement. His raw, acrobatic language animates an energetic dance pollinated by jazz, swing, tap dance and house music. Technique is driven by instinct; order and chaos are in harmony. In a dynamic dialogue with the lighting, the choreographer and his 6 dancers, transforming the stage into a playground where dance is reinvented. Terrifically intense.

“Kuebler uses his powerful physicality to pass as a body builder and shines with exuberant stage personality.” − Dance Current, Toronto

  • Shay Kuebler

    Shay Kuebler

    Shay was born in 1984 and raised in Edmonton, Alberta. He began his artistic development at the age of 5 with dramatic arts at Stage Polaris Theatre Academy, and with martial arts in Shito-Ryu Karate. His early artistic growth would lead to dance and a versatile background in Hip Hop, Jazz, Tap, Contemporary and Ballet. He continues to develop and further his artistic practice through travel and intensive study, which has included study in...

    Read more about Shay Kuebler
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Shay Kuebler Radical System Art was formed in Vancouver, Canada, in February 2014 to support and develop the work of Artistic Director Shay Kuebler. The company is building upon the creations, productions and relationships that have been created through Shay Kuebler’s years as an independent artist and collaborator in Canada. The company aims to expand the art of physical performance and a versatile amorphous language of dance, martial arts,...

    Read more about Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

To come

Upcoming shows

Ballet BC

Ballet BC

Emily Molnar + Crystal Pite + Sharon Eyal + Gai Behar

5. 6. 7. 8 Apr 2017

Tickets
Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler

18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 Apr 2017

Tickets
Rosas

Rosas

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

4. 5. 6 May 2017

Tickets

• Shay Kuebler / Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
    18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 avr 2017
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
    18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 avr 2017
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
    18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 avr 2017
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
    18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 avr 2017

Shay Kuebler Radical System Art - Telemetry

  • Vancouver
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Telemetry

    Shay Kuebler
Durée – 1 H Salle – Cinquième Salle
18 Avril 2017 - 20 H
19 Avril 2017 - 20 H
20 Avril 2017 - 20 H
21 Avril 2017 - 14 H
21 Avril 2017 - 20 H
22 Avril 2017 - 20 H
Hydro Québec

Billets à partir de 38.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 21 avril 2017

Programme de soirée

Bête de scène dotée d’une remarquable inventivité, Shay Kuebler signe des œuvres empreintes de danse hybride, d’arts martiaux et de théâtralité. Son langage brut et acrobatique engendre une danse énergique, pollinisée par le jazz, le swing, le tap dance et la house. D’une grande intensité.


Bête de scène dotée d’une remarquable inventivité, Shay Kuebler signe des oeuvres empreintes de danse hybride, d’arts martiaux et de théâtralité. Il imagine dans Telemetry un corps capteur de son, d’énergie et de mémoire. Un corps qui métabolise et transmute ce qu’il reçoit en physicalité viscérale et en gestes précis. Le langage brut et acrobatique de Kuebler engendre une danse énergique, pollinisée par le jazz, le swing, le tap dance et la house. L’instinct anime la technique, l’ordre et le chaos s’harmonisent. En dialogue dynamique avec des sources d’éclairage qui deviennent partenaires à part entière, le chorégraphe et ses 6 interprètes transforment la scène en espace ludique où se réinvente la danse. D’une grande intensité.

« …un vocabulaire qui allie la fluidité de la danse contemporaine, la physicalité du hip-hop et la tension/relâchement des arts martiaux… » − Straight, Vancouver

  • Shay Kuebler

    Shay Kuebler

    Shay Kuebler est né en 1984 à Edmonton, Alberta, où il grandit. Il a débuté son cheminement artistique à l’âge de 5 ans avec des cours d’art dramatique à la Stage Polaris Theatre Academy d’Edmonton et s’est initié aux arts martiaux via des cours de karaté Shito-Ryu. Plus tard, ces apprentissages le mèneront vers la danse, plus particulièrement le hip hop, le jazz, la danse contemporaine et le ballet. À travers des voyages...

    En savoir plus sur Shay Kuebler
  • Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

    Shay Kuebler Radical System Art a été formé en février 2014 à Vancouver pour soutenir et développer le travail du directeur artistique Shay Kuebler. La compagnie se développe avec les créations, productions et les relations que Shay Kuebler a établi aux fils des années en tant qu’artiste indépendant et collaborateur au Canada. Shay Kuebler Radical System Art vise à développer l'art de la performance physique dans une écriture...

    En savoir plus sur Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Interprètes Maxine Chadburn, Hayden Fong, Shay Kuebler, Tyler Layton Olson, Nicholas Lydiate, Lexi Vajda, Danny Nielsen.

Apprentis et stagiaires Kaitey DeSante, Katie Lowen, Katherine Vincent, Kayla Devos.

Direction artistique, chorégraphie, conception sonore Shay Kuebler.

Directeur technique Craig Alfredson.

Conception lumières Craig Alfredson, Shay Kuebler.

Conception vidéo Eric Chad.

Opérateur et assistant concepteur vidéo Joel Adria.

Gérant de la companie Brent Belsher – belsherartsmanagement.com.

Conseil d’administration
Président Heidi Hudson Viceprésident Robert McDowell Administrateurs Martha Carter, Denis Walz, Tara Fong.

Extraits et sources musicales BadBadNotGood, Floating Points

Coproducteurs et collaborateurs The International Chutzpah! Festival; The Dance Centre and Dance Foundation; Artspring Theatre; Vernon and District Performing Arts Centre; The American Dance Festival.

Résidence Danse Danse / Place des Arts.

Spectacles à venir