Shay Kuebler

shay_kuebler

Shay was born in 1984 and raised in Edmonton, Alberta. He began his artistic development at the age of 5 with dramatic arts at Stage Polaris Theatre Academy, and with martial arts in Shito-Ryu Karate. His early artistic growth would lead to dance and a versatile background in Hip Hop, Jazz, Tap, Contemporary and Ballet. He continues to develop and further his artistic practice through travel and intensive study, which has included study in music, theatre, dance and martial arts in Brazil, Japan and China.

As a performer, he has worked in the fields of Tap, Hip Hop, Contemporary Dance, Circus Arts, Film and Theatre. He most recently performed in Polaris with Crystal Pite’s company Kidd Pivot, in London and New York City, and is currently touring Monumental with The Holy Body Tattoo and God Speed You! Black Emperor. 

Shay has worked as an educator and choreographer for Simon Fraser University, L’Ecole de Danse de Quebec and The London Contemporary Dance School. 

As a choreographer, he’s worked for numerous industrials, commercials and films, and has collaborated with CitieBallet, Moment Factory and Decidedly Jazz Danceworks. In 2008, Shay participated in a competition supported by Les Grands Ballets Canadiens and was selected to create a choreography with 4 dancers of the company, Contrapasso, that was presented at Agora de la danse as part of a quadruple bill.

In 2010 he co-founded Vancouver-based 605 Collective, and in 2014 founded his own company - Shay Kuebler Radical System Art. Since then he has produced and directed two full-evening works, Karoshi and Glory, and will be premiering two new full-evening works, the solo performance Feasting on Famine at The Dancing on The Edge Festival in July 2016 and Telemetry in February 2017.

List of shows

Shay Kuebler

Shay_Kuebler

Shay Kuebler est né en 1984 à Edmonton, Alberta, où il grandit. Il a débuté son cheminement artistique à l’âge de 5 ans avec des cours d’art dramatique à la Stage Polaris Theatre Academy d’Edmonton et s’est initié aux arts martiaux via des cours de karaté Shito-Ryu. Plus tard, ces apprentissages le mèneront vers la danse, plus particulièrement le hip hop, le jazz, la danse contemporaine et le ballet. À travers des voyages et des études en musique, théâtre, danse, arts martiaux au Brésil, au Japon et en Chine, Shay pousse plus loin sa pratique artistique.

Il a travaillé comme danseur et performeur dans les disciplines du tap dance, hip hop, danse contemporaine, arts du cirque, film et théâtre. Dernièrement il a dansé dans Polaris, avec la compagnie Kidd Pivot sous la direction de Crystal Pite, en tournée à Londres et New York. Présentement, il est en tournée pour la pièce Monumental de The Holy Body Tattoo et God Speed You! Black Emperor. 

Shay a travaillé comme enseignant et chorégraphe pour la Simon Fraser University (BC), l’École de Danse de Québec et la London Contemporary Dance School.

En tant que chorégraphe, il a travaillé pour de nombreux films et publicités, il a collaboré avec CitieBallet, Moment Factory et Decidedly Jazz Danceworks. En 2008, Shay a participé au concours chorégraphique lancé par Les Grands Ballets Canadiens et a été sélectionné pour créer une chorégraphie pour 4 danseurs de la compagnie, Contrapasso, présentée ensuite à l’Agora de la danse dans un programme quadruple.

En 2010, Shay était le cofondateur du collectif vancouverois 605 Collective et en 2014 il a fondé sa propre compagnie - Shay Kuebler Radical System Art. Il a depuis créé les deux œuvres, Karoshi et Glory, et présentera en juillet 2016 le solo Feasting on Famine, au festival Dancing on The Edge de Vancouver, et en janvier 2017 la pièce Telemetry, à Danse Danse

Liste des spectacles