Sharon Eyal

Sharon_Eyal

Born in Israel in 1971, Sharon has danced with Batsheva Dance Company for 17 years and served as Associate Artistic Director of Batsheva in 2003-2004, and as House Choreographer from 2005 to 2012. Now she is a talented choreographer with a unique and a personal language, and the Batsheva Dance Company and the Batsheva Ensemble have performed pieces by Eyal, including You Got to Live, Pan (2001), Ink (2002), Static (2002), Love (2003), After Love (2003), Quiet Village (2004), Part II (2005), Bertolina (2006), Makarova Kabisa (2008), One Leg Barbie (2008) and Killer Pig (2009). For the Batsheva Dance Company she created Bill (2010) and Too Beaucoup (2011). The première of the latter, by Hubbard Street Dance in Chicago in March 2011, was acclaimed by critics.

With her own company, L-E-V (heart in Hebrew) found in 2013, she and collaborator Gai Behar make work that could be equally at home at a techno club or an opera house. L-E-V is the culmination of years of momentum, choreographed by Sharon Eyal and Gai Behar, accompanied by the endlessly original music of Ori Lichtik, delivered by fiercely talented dancers that move with expressive precision.

Eyal is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 2004 Ministry of Culture Award for young dance creators and the 2009 Landau Prize for the Performing Arts in the dance category. In 2008, she was named a Chosen Artist of the Israel Cultural Excellence Foundation.

List of shows

Sharon Eyal

Sharon_Eyal

Née en 1971 en Israël, Sharon Eyal danse avec la Batsheva Dance Company pendant plus de 17 ans. Elle a été directrice artistique adjointe de cette compagnie de 2003 à 2004 et chorégraphe en résidence de la compagnie de 2005 à 2012. C’est sa pièce poétique Love, créée en 2003 en Israël, qui lui a permis de percer comme chorégraphe. Devenue chorégraphe de talent au langage unique et très personnel, la Batsheva Dance Company et le Batsheva Ensemble ont monté plusieurs chorégraphies de ses chorégraphies : You Got to Live, Pan (2001), Ink (2002), Static (2002), Love (2003), After Love (2003), Quiet Village (2004), Part II (2005), Bertolina (2006), Makarova Kabisa (2008), One Leg Barbie (2008) et Killer Pig (2009). Elle créait Bill (2010) pour la Batsheva Dance Company et Too Beaucoup (2011) dont la première, donnée par la compagnie Hubbard Street Dance à Chicago en mars 2011, a été saluée par la critique.

Avec sa propre compagnie, L - E - V (coeur en hébreu), fondé en 2013, Sharon et son collaborateur Gai Behar créent des œuvres qui pourrait être autant présenté dans un club de musique techno ou à l’Opéra. L - E - V est l'aboutissement des chorégraphies Sharon Eyal et Gai Behar, accompagné par la musique sans cesse original de Ori Lichtik, livré par des danseurs talentueux qui se déplacent avec une précision expressive.

Sharon Eyal est récipiendaire de nombreux prix, dont le prix pour les jeunes créateurs en danse du Ministère de la Culture en 2004 et le prix Landau pour les arts de la scène dans la catégorie danse en 2009. En 2008, elle a été sélectionné comme Artiste au sein de la Fondation culturelle d’excellence d’Israël.

Liste des spectacles