• Red Sky

    Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2019
    Tickets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2019
    Tickets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2019
    Tickets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2019
    Tickets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 Mar 2019
    Tickets

Red Sky Performance - Backbone

  • Toronto
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
Length – 60 min. Venue – Cinquième Salle
19 March 2019 - 8 PM
20 March 2019 - 8 PM
21 March 2019 - 8 PM
22 March 2019 - 8 PM
23 March 2019 - 8 PM
Hydro Québec

Tickets start at $38.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Wednesday March 20, 2019
    Friday March 22, 2019

30 years and under

school groups

A driving force in contemporary Indigenous arts in Canada and internationally, Red Sky Performance lights up the stage in a tribute to the human landscape, multiple and limitless. Backbone is a crashing wave of raw energy.


For 20 years, this Toronto-based company directed by Sandra Laronde has been the bold proponent of a living and contemporary art form steeped in the cultures and visions of Indigenous peoples from around the world. Inspired by the chain of mountain ranges stretching from the Rockies to the Andes, and known as the “spine of the Americas”, Backbone conveys an electrical and physical connection to the land. The powerful, compelling musical score enwraps the performers’ bodies; percussion, throat singing and layers of sound interweave to create a rhythmic backdrop. In highly physical, almost acrobatic solos, duets, and ensembles, the dancers—hailing from Canada, New Zealand and Mongolia—interpret nature’s spine and landscapes, and embody mapping and cartography. A veritable seismic tremor, Backbone pulsates to a visceral and universal momentum that is irresistibly hypnotic Partenaire de la série Créateurs and spellbinding.

Red Sky Performance
Director - Sandra Laronde
Choreographers - Jera Wolfe, Sandra Laronde, Ageer

  • Sandra Laronde

    Sandra Laronde

    Sandra Laronde is of the Teme-Augama Anishinaabe (People of the Deep Water) and an award-winning arts innovator and cultural leader in Canada. Her mission in life is to reveal the hope, promise, and vibrancy of Indigenous peoples through the expression and dissemination of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit artistry. As an arts leader, Sandra creates, choreographs, produces, directs, and disseminates world-renowned Canadian works of artistic...

    Read more about Sandra Laronde
  • Jera Wolfe

    Jera Wolfe

    Jera Wolfe is of Metis heritage. His love of dance emerged at the age of 13 when he began training in hip-hop, break dance and jazz at a local studio in Kelowna, B.C. He studied at the National Ballet of Canada, Arts Umbrella, and Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet School. He was a finalist on CTV’s season 3 of So You Think You Can Dance Canada. Since appearing on the show, Jera has continued to train in contemporary and Indigenous dance...

    Read more about Jera Wolfe
  • Ageer

    Courtesy: Red Sky Performance

    Ageer

    Ageer is a guest artist with Red Sky Performance from Inner Mongolia. He studied dance performance at the Art Institute of Inner Mongolia University from 2006 to 2008. Since 2009, he has been a principal dancer with the Hohhot Performing Arts Group in Inner Mongolia. In 2014, Ageer performed in Red Sky's Tono at the China Shanghai International Arts Festival. He was a lead performer at the Inner Mongolia New Year Gala and Inner...

    Read more about Ageer
  • Red Sky Performance

    Internationally renowned, Red Sky Performance is a leading company of contemporary Indigenous performance in Canada and worldwide. This multi-award winning company was founded in 2000 by  Artistic Director Sandra Laronde  of the Teme-Augama-Anishinaabe (People of the Deep Water).  Their mandate is to create inspiring experiences of contemporary Indigenous arts and culture. Red Sky creates, produces and disseminates new creations...

    Read more about Red Sky Performance

Concept/direction Sandra Laronde.
Choreography Jera Wolfe, with Ageer and Sandra Laronde.

Upcoming shows

Tentacle Tribe  Ghost

Tentacle TribeGhost

Emmanuelle Lê Phan + Elon Höglund

13. 14. 15. 16. 17 Nov 2018

Tickets
Groupe RUBBERBANDance  Vraiment doucement

Groupe RUBBERBANDanceVraiment doucement

Victor Quijada

5. 6. 7. 8 Dec 2018

Tickets
Grupo Corpo  Bach + Gira

Grupo CorpoBach + Gira

Rodrigo Pederneiras

23. 24. 25. 26 Jan 2019

Tickets

• Red Sky

    Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2019
    Billets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2019
    Billets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2019
    Billets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2019
    Billets
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
    19. 20. 21. 22. 23 mar 2019
    Billets

Red Sky Performance - Backbone

  • Toronto
  • Red Sky Performance

    Backbone

    Sandra Laronde, Jera Wolfe, Ageer
Durée – 60 min. Salle – Cinquième Salle
19 Mars 2019 - 20 H
20 Mars 2019 - 20 H
21 Mars 2019 - 20 H
22 Mars 2019 - 20 H
23 Mars 2019 - 20 H
Hydro Québec
Abonnez-vous Achetez des billets

Billets à partir de 38.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 20 mars 2019
    Vendredi 22 mars 2019

Coeur battant des arts autochtones contemporains au Canada et à l’international, Red Sky Performance embrase la scène pour rendre hommage au paysage humain, multiple et sans frontières. Backbone est une déferlante d’énergie brute.


Depuis 20 ans, la compagnie torontoise dirigée par Sandra Laronde défend avec audace un art vivant et actuel, imprégné des cultures et des visions du monde des peuples autochtones de partout sur la planète. Inspirée par la chaîne de montagnes s’étendant des Rocheuses aux Andes, connue comme « l’épine dorsale » des Amériques, Backbone évoque une connexion électrique et physique au territoire. La musique, puissante, s’impose et colle aux corps. Percussions, chants de gorge et nappes sonores rythment la traversée. En solo, en duo, en petits ensembles ou à l’unisson, les interprètes originaires de la Mongolie, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et du Canada expriment, dans une physicalité acrobatique, différentes conceptions de l’espace et du paysage. Véritable secousse sismique, Backbone est pulsée par un élan viscéral et universel qui, immanquablement, hypnotise et envoûte.

  • Sandra Laronde

    Sandra Laronde

    Sandra Laronde est issue de la communauté Teme-Augama Anishinaabe (People of the Deep Water). Elle est une novatrice primée et une personnalité culturelle influente au Canada. Sa mission est de révéler l’espoir, la promesse, et le dynamisme des peuples autochtones à travers l’expression et la diffusion des arts des Premières Nations, des métisses et des Inuits. En tant qu’autorité dans le domaine, Sandra crée,...

    En savoir plus sur Sandra Laronde
  • Jera Wolfe

    Jera Wolfe

    Jera Wolfe est d'origine métisse. Son amour pour la danse a émergé à l’âge de 13 ans lors de ses débuts en hip hop, en break dance et en jazz dans un studio local à Kelowna, en Colombie-Britannique. Il a étudié au Ballet national du Canada, à Arts Umbrella et à la Royal Winnipeg Ballet School du Canada. Il a été finaliste de la saison 3 de CTV, So You Think You Can Dance Canada. Depuis son apparition dans l’émission, Jera a...

    En savoir plus sur Jera Wolfe
  • Ageer

    Courtoisie: Red Sky Performance

    Ageer

    Ageer est un artiste invité de Red Sky Performance originaire de Mongolie-Intérieure. Il a étudié la danse à l’Institut d’Art de l’Université de Mongolie-Intérieure de 2006 à 2008. Depuis 2009, il a été danseur principal avec le Hohhot Performing Arts Group en Mongolie-Intérieure. En 2014, il a performé dans la pièce Tono de Red Sky au festival International d’Arts de Shanghai en Chine. Il a été interprète...

    En savoir plus sur Ageer
  • Red Sky Performance

    La compagnie de renommée internationale Red Sky Performance est une compagnie centrale dans la danse contemporaine autochtone au Canada et dans le monde. Cette compagnie maintes fois récompensée a été créée en 2000 par Sandra Laronde, directrice artistique issue de la communauté Teme-Augama Anishinaabe (People of the Deep Water).La mission de Red Sky Performance est de créer des expériences inspirantes à partir des arts et de la...

    En savoir plus sur Red Sky Performance

Concept / direction Sandra Laronde.
Chorégraphie Jera Wolfe, avec Ageer et Sandra Laronde.

Spectacles à venir

Sylvain Lafortune + Esther Rousseau-Morin

Sylvain Lafortune + Esther Rousseau-Morin

Sylvain Lafortune + Esther Rousseau-Morin

16. 17. 18. 19. 20 oct 2018

AbonnementsBillets
Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart  Grandes Dames

Gauthier Dance // Dance Company Theaterhaus StuttgartGrandes Dames

Virginie Brunelle + Helena Waldmann + Marco Goecke + Eric Gauthier

31 oct, 1. 2. 3 nov 2018

AbonnementsBillets