• PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 Oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 Oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 Oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 Oct 2015

PPS Danse - Bagne Recréation (Jeff Hall + Pierre-Paul Savoie)

  • Quebec
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
In co-presentation with
8 pm Length – 1 H Venue – Cinquième Salle
21 October 2015 - 8 PM
22 October 2015 - 8 PM
23 October 2015 - 8 PM
24 October 2015 - 8 PM
28 October 2015 - 8 PM
29 October 2015 - 8 PM
30 October 2015 - 8 PM
31 October 2015 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $37.50

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday October 23, 2015
    Friday October 30, 2015

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

A new version of an acrobatic dance-theatre piece on the fierce yet tender relations between two convicts on a quest for love and liberty. An enclosed enclave that is pulsing and poignant, it reflects the cruelty of the world and our own rigid psychological imprisonment.

PPS Danse - Bagne Recréation

Bagne 

Released from our Prisons

In an imposing metal structure that resulted in a prestigious Bessie Award in New York for set designer Bernard Lagacé, two men oscillate between rage and despair. How does one cope with enforced proximity in a violent world? How do men create a semblance of the freedom they aspire to? Like two lions in a cage, they maintain vigilant watch on each other, confront each other. Their movement is fraught with tension; the clash of their bodies fierce. Restless and on edge, they hang from the bars of the cell, swinging from the bars in an acrobatic dance that is almost circus-like. Fortunately they are sometimes able to find small comfort in the shared tenderness and sensuality of furtive embraces.

Twenty-two years after Bagne was first presented, the choreographers Jeff Hall and Pierre-Paul Savoie have completely reworked this piece, a landmark in the history of Quebec choreography. They anchor their dance-theatre in the reality of our times by entrusting the performance to the two very intense young dancers Lael Staellick and Milan Panet-Gigon (from time to time replaced by Jonathan Fortin), and by drawing inspiration from images such as those from Abu Ghraib prison.

Performed live onstage, the new soundscape reinforces the feeling of urgency so prevalent in the original. The enclosed space is pulsing and poignant, a powerful metaphor for our own psychological imprisonment.

Two of a Kind

In 1987 Jeff Hall and Pierre-Paul Savoie created Duodénum, their first piece together, followed by Bagne and then Pôles. Jeff impressed with his physical performances and humour. Pierre-Paul made his mark as a striking dancer and vocalist. After a decade of rewarding artistic collaboration within PPS Danse, founded in 1989, each went his own way. Jeff Hall travelled through the Americas and Asia as a designer and choreographer for the circus, while Pierre-Paul Savoie stayed at the helm of his Montreal dance-theatre company, gradually opening it up to collaborations with others and also to works for young audiences. PPS is celebrating its 25th anniversary with this new version of Bagne. Created in 1993 by these two partners, a female version was presented in 1998 featuring Sarah Williams and Carole Courtois. More than 100 performances of both versions have touched thousands of spectators on both sides of the Atlantic.

 

 

Credits

Concept, Staging and Choreography Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie. Dancers Lael Stellick, Milan Panet-Gigon (substitute Jonathan Fortin). Original Soundtrack  Bernard Falaise. Sound Design Larsin Lupin. Scenography Bernard Lagacé. Lights Marc Parent. Costume Design Linda Brunelle. Makeup Design Florence Cornet. Technical Director Valérie Bourque.

 

Upcoming shows

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 Sep, 1 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 Nov 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

message goes here

close

• PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 oct 2015
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
    21. 22. 23. 24. 28. 29. 30. 31 oct 2015

PPS Danse - Bagne Recréation (Jeff Hall + Pierre-Paul Savoie)

  • Québec
  • PPS Danse

    Bagne Re-création

    Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie
En coprésentation avec
20 h Durée – 1 H Salle – Cinquième Salle
21 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
22 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
23 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
24 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
28 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
29 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
30 Octobre 2015 - 20 H
31 Octobre 2015 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 37.50 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 23 octobre 2015
    Vendredi 30 octobre 2015

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Recréation d’une œuvre de danse-théâtre acrobatique sur les relations tendres et féroces de deux bagnards en quête d’amour et de liberté. Un huis clos palpitant et poignant qui reflète la cruauté du monde et la rigidité de nos prisons intérieures.

PPS Danse - Bagne recréation

Bagne 

Sortir de nos prisons

Dans une imposante structure métallique qui a valu au scénographe Bernard Lagacé un prestigieux prix Bessie à New York, deux hommes oscillent entre la rage et le désespoir. Comment composer avec la promiscuité et la violence du monde qui les entoure? Comment créer un semblant de cette liberté à laquelle ils aspirent? Tels deux lions en cage, ils s’épient, se confrontent. Leur gestuelle est nerveuse. La rencontre des corps est féroce. Ils s’agitent, se suspendent aux barreaux, s’y balancent dans une danse acrobatique quasi circassienne. Parfois, heureusement, ils parviennent à trouver un peu de réconfort dans la tendresse et la sensualité partagées de rapprochements furtifs.

Vingt-deux ans après la création de Bagne, les chorégraphes Jeff Hall et Pierre-Paul Savoie revisitent de fond en comble cette œuvre marquante du patrimoine chorégraphique québécois. Ils enracinent leur danse-théâtre dans la réalité de notre temps en la transmettant aux très intenses jeunes interprètes Lael Stellick et Milan Panet-Gigon (ponctuellement remplacé par Jonathan Fortin) et en s’inspirant d’images comme celles de la prison d’Abou Ghraib.

Orchestré sur le vif, le nouvel environnement sonore renforce le sentiment d’urgence de l’œuvre originale. Un huis clos palpitant et poignant pour une puissante métaphore de nos prisons intérieures.

Les deux font la paire

Jeff Hall et Pierre-Paul Savoie signent une première cocréation en 1987, Duodénum, suivie de Bagne, puis de Pôles. Le premier impressionne alors par ses performances physiques et son humour. Le second s’illustre comme danseur et interprète vocal. Après 10 ans de fructueuse collaboration artistique au sein de PPS Danse, fondée en 1989, leurs chemins se séparent. Tandis que Jeff Hall voyage dans les Amériques et en Asie à titre de concepteur et chorégraphe pour le cirque, Pierre-Paul Savoie maintient la barre de la compagnie de danse-théâtre montréalaise, qu’il ouvre progressivement à d’autres collaborations et à la création pour jeune public. La recréation de Bagne vient en célébrer les 25 ans. Créée en 1993 avec ces deux artistes en scène, l’œuvre a été déclinée au féminin avec Sarah Williams et Carole Courtois en 1998. Plus de 100 représentations des deux versions ont ému des milliers de spectateurs des deux côtés de l’Atlantique.

 

Crédits

Conception, mise en scène et chorégraphie Jeff Hall, Pierre-Paul Savoie. Interprètes Lael Stellick, Milan Panet-Gigon (remplaçant Jonathan Fortin). Musique originale Bernard Falaise. Conception sonore Larsin Lupin. Scénographie Bernard Lagacé. Éclairages Marc Parent. Conception des costumes Linda Brunelle. Conception des maquillages Florence Cornet. Direction technique Valérie Bourque. 

 

Spectacles à venir

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 jan 2017

Billets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 fév 2017

Billets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 mar 2017

Billets

message goes here

close