O Vertigo (Ginette Laurin) - Soif

  • Quebec
  • O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
8 pm Length – 1 h 10 Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
2 October 2014 - 8 PM
3 October 2014 - 8 PM
4 October 2014 - 8 PM

Raw energy, lyricism and high speed electrify Ginette Laurin’s eight dancers, galvanized by the desire for fulfillment in encounters with the other. A moving portrait of imperfect humanity to celebrate the 30 years of the illustrious company O Vertigo.

Ginette Laurin is celebrating the 30 years of her dance company by returning to the raw physicality of her initial works. In this new dance piece, energy, lyricism and high speed electrify the bodies of eight dancers galvanized by the desire for fulfillment in encounters with the other, conveying a veritable thirst, a craving for life, for liberty, for dreams. Like the strongly contrasting lighting enveloping the stage, they paint a moving chiaroscuro portrait of imperfect humanity to Michel F. Côté’s many-hued soundtrack.

A Look Back at 30 Years of Dance Creation

A gymnast who took up dance at age 18, Ginette Laurin is a pioneer of Quebec contemporary dance. In 1984 she founded O Vertigo, a name that evokes her irresistible attraction to the void and disequilibrium. Fascinated by the beauty and expressiveness of the body, she favours the energy of movement over form, meticulously working on set design and lighting, with leeway for each spectator to freely interpret a piece. In 1989 Chagall proved to be a huge international success. In the 1990s her works became more theatrical and more emotional, with themes of finiteness, madness and disequilibrium in emblematic pieces such as Train d’enfer, Déluge and La Chambre Blanche. In 1997 En Dedans marked the beginning of a more formal period centred on identity and the double. Between 1999 and 2013 her desire to pierce the mysteries of the body and the soul took form in La Vie Qui Bat, luna, Passare, Onde de choc and KHAOS, where she used technology to reveal the hidden face of dance. The recipient of several awards during her career, Ginette Laurin also created the installation La Résonance du double in 2004, and has directed or choreographed several dance films. In 2011 she mounted a Sacre du printemps for CCN – Ballet de Lorraine. Since 2012 she has reprised excerpts from her seminal works in a choreographic collage entitled les petites formes.

“In its three decades of existence, the dance company O Vertigo has helped make Montreal one of the focal points of contemporary dance.”  (Premières en affaires, Montreal)

“Laurin’s constant courage and open-mindedness are qualities that mark O Vertigo, impelling it to take new risks with the playful fearlessness its name implies.” (Dance International, Vancouver)

Credits

Choreography Ginette Laurin

Dancers Audrey Bergeron, Sophie Breton, Charles Cardin-Bourbeau, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Louis-Élyan Martin, Robert Meilleur, James Phillips, Stéphanie Tremblay Abubo.

Music John Cage (44 Harmonies from Apartment House 1776), Michel F. Côté

Additional music (excerpts) Vladislav Delay, Random_Inc., Taylor Deupree

Remixing, sampling and collage Michel F. Côté

Rehearsal Directors Danielle Lecourtois, Ami Shulman

Costume Design and Stage Manager Marilène Bastien

Lighting Design Martin Labrecque

Production Manager André Houle

Soundman Jean-François Gagnon

Head of Lighting François Marceau

Co-production Danse Danse, Place des Arts 

O Vertigo is supported by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

message goes here

close

• O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
    2. 3. 4 oct 2014
  • O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
    2. 3. 4 oct 2014
  • O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
    2. 3. 4 oct 2014
  • O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
    2. 3. 4 oct 2014

O Vertigo (Ginette Laurin) - Soif

  • Québec
  • O Vertigo

    Soif

    Ginette Laurin
20 h Durée – 1 h 10 Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
2 Octobre 2014 - 20 H
3 Octobre 2014 - 20 H
4 Octobre 2014 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 34.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 3 octobre 2014

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Énergie brute, lyrisme et haute vitesse électrisent les huit danseurs de Ginette Laurin galvanisés par le désir de se réaliser dans la rencontre avec l’autre. Le portrait émouvant d’une humanité imparfaite pour célébrer les 30 ans de l’illustre compagnie O Vertigo.

Soif, extrait/excerpt (2014)

Danse Danse 14-15 O Vertigo FR

Les coulisses de "Soif"

Ginette Laurin fête les 30 ans de sa compagnie en renouant avec la physicalité brute de ses débuts. Dans cette toute nouvelle création, énergie, lyrisme et haute vitesse électrisent les corps de huit danseurs galvanisés par le désir de se réaliser dans la rencontre avec l’autre. Soif d’amour, de liberté. Soif de vivre, Soif de dire et de rêver… À l’instar des éclairages contrastés qui habillent le plateau, ils brossent en clair-obscur le portrait émouvant d’une humanité imparfaite sur la bande-son bigarrée de Michel F. Côté.

Retour rapide sur 30 ans de création

Gymnaste arrivée à la danse à l’âge de 18 ans, Ginette Laurin est une pionnière de la danse contemporaine québécoise. En 1984, elle fonde O Vertigo, en référence à son irrésistible attrait pour le vide et le déséquilibre. Fascinée par la beauté de l’humain et par l’expressivité du corps, elle privilégie l’énergie du mouvement sur la forme, travaille soigneusement scénographie et éclairages et laisse une grande liberté au spectateur dans la façon d’interpréter ses œuvres. En 1989, Chagall lui ouvre les portes du succès sur la scène internationale. Dans les années 1990, ses œuvres sont plus théâtrales et plus émotionnelles : les thèmes de la finitude, de la folie et du déséquilibrees sont au cœur des emblématiques Train d’enfer, Déluge et La Chambre Blanche. En 1997, En Dedans marque le début d’une période plus formelle, centrée sur le double et l’identité. Entre 1999 et 2013, sa volonté de percer les mystères du corps et de l’âme s’incarne dans La Vie Qui Bat, luna, Passare, Onde de choc et KHAOS, où elle révèle la face cachée de la danse grâce aux technologies. Maintes fois primée au cours de sa carrière, Ginette Laurin a aussi créé l’installation La Résonance du double en 2004, a réalisé ou chorégraphié plusieurs films de danse et, en 2011, a signé un Sacre du printemps pour le CCN – Ballet de Lorraine. Depuis 2012, elle a repris des extraits de ses œuvres-phares dans un collage chorégraphique intitulé les petites formes et en a recréé trois, dont une sur le célèbre Drumming  de Steve Reich, qui avait marqué avec éclat le 15e anniversaire d’O Vertigo.

« En sa trentaine d’années d’existence, la compagnie de danse O Vertigo a contribué à  faire de Montréal l’un des points de mire de la danse contemporaine. »  (Premières en affaires, Montréal)

“Laurin’s constant courage and open-mindedness are qualities that mark O Vertigo, impelling it to take new risks with the playful fearlessness its name implies.” (Dance International, Vancouver)

Crédits

Chorégraphie Ginette Laurin

Interprètes Audrey Bergeron, Sophie Breton, Charles Cardin-Bourbeau, Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Louis-Élyan Martin, Robert Meilleur, James Phillips, Stéphanie Tremblay Abubo.

Musique John Cage (44 Harmonies from Apartment House 1776), Michel F. Côté

Musique additionnelle (extraits) Vladislav Delay, Random_Inc., Taylor Deupree

Remixage, échantillonnage et collage Michel F. Côté

Répétitrices Danielle Lecourtois, Ami Shulman

Costumes et régie plateau Marilène Bastien

Lumière Martin Labrecque

Directeur de production André Houle

Sonorisateur Jean-François Gagnon

Chef éclairagiste François Marceau

Coproduction Danse Danse, Place des Arts 

O Vertigo bénéficie du soutien du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Spectacles à venir

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 sep, 1 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 nov 2016

AbonnementsBillets

message goes here

close