• Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 Dec 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 Dec 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 Dec 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 Dec 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 Dec 2014

Montréal Danse (Benoît Lachambre) - Prismes

  • Quebec
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
In co-presentation with
8 pm Length – 1 h 10 Venue – Cinquième Salle
2 December 2014 - 8 PM
3 December 2014 - 8 PM
4 December 2014 - 8 PM
5 December 2014 - 8 PM
6 December 2014 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $33.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday December 5, 2014

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

The mischievous iconoclast Benoît Lachambre plays with light, colours and the bodies of the dancers of Montréal Danse to stimulate our senses. A gust of fresh air and pleasure offered as an invigorating follow-up to his impressive success last season.

Danse Danse 14-15 Montréal Danse EN

Acid-coloured draperies and hardhats, mysterious bodies that appear and are revealed under fabulous lighting, a dance at times highly structured and at others totally free, supported by the electro soundtrack, with scenes that are touching, comic, intriguing. The mischievous iconoclast Benoît Lachambre uses any and all means to multiply the Prismes portrayed onstage, stimulating our senses and casting doubt on our perceptions. The recipient of multiple awards, this avant-garde artist returns to some of his initial loves by incorporating the vocabulary of classical, jazz and modern dance, giving a new form of expression to his research on awakening the senses by directly soliciting those of the audience. In collaboration with lighting designer Lucie Bazzo, he plays with interactions between the body and light, showing how light transforms bodies by leaving traces in the retina of the spectator’s eye. He also rattles conceptions by playing with sex symbols and images of gender, adopting a more visual and playful approach than in his previous works. Created in October 2013 at the Agora de la danse and acclaimed by critics, Prismes offers an experience almost at the complete opposite of the disturbing and memorable solo “Iˮ is Memory that he created for Louise Lecavalier, which was presented by Danse Danse in 2007. A blast of fresh air and pleasure that highlights the talent and versatility of the six dancers of Montréal Danse.

Founded in 1986, Montréal Danse has been under the artistic direction of Kathy Casey since 1996. Inviting both seasoned and emerging choreographers to create works for the company’s troupe of strong dancers, it has promoted the work of numerous choreographers, including Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton and Jean-Sébastien Lourdais. The company also presents several creative workshops and seminars and has been an active force over the past several years in the Danse contre la violence program.

“Benoît Lachambre is known to be never conventional, repetitive or overcautious. (…) The dancers of the longstanding and magnificent company Montréal Danse are known to be audacious chameleons, physically perfect as well as mentally alert and receptive.” (La Presse, Montreal)

Prismes, with its playful spirit, its orgy of colour, its outrageous soundtrack and its exuberant dancers is a magnificent work.(dfdanse.com)

The incredible dancers present the body in all its states and in perilous situations, with a cheeky sense of humour.” (La Presse, Montreal)

Choreographer

  • Benoît Lachambre

    Photo © Luc Senécal

    Benoît Lachambre

Company

In the media

Credits

Choreographer Benoît Lachambre

Artistic Advisor : Kathy Casey

Performers Rachel Harris, Elinor Fueter, Annik Hamel, Sylvain Lafortune, Manuel Roque, Peter Trosztmer

Light Lucie Bazzo

Music Laurent Maslé, Tomas Furey

Technical Director Karine Gauthier

Sound Technician Guillaume Cavaliere Beranek

Prismes benefited from the support of L’Agora de la danse in Montreal and of Théâtre Hector-Charland in L’Assomption.

Upcoming shows

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 Sep, 1 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 Nov 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

message goes here

close

• Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 déc 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 déc 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 déc 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 déc 2014
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
    2. 3. 4. 5. 6 déc 2014

Montréal Danse (Benoît Lachambre) - Prismes

  • Québec
  • Montréal Danse

    Prismes

    Benoît Lachambre
En coprésentation avec
20 h Durée – 1 h 10 Salle – Cinquième Salle
2 Décembre 2014 - 20 H
3 Décembre 2014 - 20 H
4 Décembre 2014 - 20 H
5 Décembre 2014 - 20 H
6 Décembre 2014 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 33.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 5 décembre 2014

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

L’espiègle iconoclaste Benoît Lachambre joue avec les lumières, les couleurs et les corps des interprètes de Montréal Danse pour stimuler nos sens. Une bouffée de fraîcheur et de plaisir offerte en reprise après son grand succès de la saison dernière.

Danse Danse 14-15 Montréal Danse FR

« On sait Benoît Lachambre jamais convenu, jamais répétitif, jamais frileux non plus. […] On sait aussi les interprètes de Montréal Danse, pérenne et magnifique compagnie de danse montréalaise, caméléons, audacieux, physiquement parfaits et mentalement disponibles. » (La Presse, Montréal)

Des draperies aux couleurs acidulées avec des casques de construction, des corps mystérieux qui se dessinent et se révèlent sous de fabuleux jeux de lumière, une danse tantôt très écrite, tantôt totalement libre, imbriqué dans la bande-son électro, des séquences touchantes, drôles, intrigantes… L’espiègle iconoclaste Benoît Lachambre use de tous les moyens pour multiplier les Prismes sur la présence scénique, stimuler nos sens et mettre en doute nos perceptions. Récompensé par de multiples prix, cet artiste d’avant-garde revient à certaines de ses premières amours en intégrant à sa chorégraphie du vocabulaire des danses classique, jazz et moderne et donne une nouvelle voie d’expression à sa recherche sur l’éveil des sens en sollicitant directement ceux du public. En collaboration avec l’éclairagiste Lucie Bazzo, il joue sur les interactions entre corps et lumière, montre comment cette dernière les transforme en laissant des traces dans la rétine de l’œil du spectateur. Il bouscule également les certitudes en s’amusant avec les images sur le genre et les sexe-symboles, assumant une approche beaucoup plus plastique et ludique que dans ses précédentes œuvres. Créée en octobre 2013 à l’Agora de la danse et saluée par la critique, Prismes offre en effet une expérience aux quasi-antipodes du troublant et mémorable solo “I” Is Memory signé pour Louise Lecavalier et présenté par Danse Danse en 2007. Une bouffée de fraîcheur et de plaisir qui met bien en valeur le talent et la polyvalence des six danseurs de la compagnie Montréal Danse.

Fondée en 1986, Montréal Danse est sous la direction artistique de Kathy Casey depuis 1996. Invitant des chorégraphes aguerris ou émergents à créer pour son groupe de solides danseurs, elle a fait rayonner les œuvres de nombreux chorégraphes parmi lesquels Sarah Chase, Estelle Clareton et Jean-Sébastien Lourdais. La compagnie offre aussi de nombreux laboratoires de création et séminaires de réflexion et est engagée depuis plusieurs années dans le programme Danse contre la violence.

« Prismes, avec son ludisme, son orgie de couleur, sa trame sonore délirante, ses interprètes exubérants est une œuvre magnifique » (dfdanse.com)

« Les interprètes, époustouflants, livrent leur corps dans tous les états, dans des situations périlleuses, avec humour et dérision. » (La Presse, Montréal)

Crédits

Chorégraphe Benoît Lachambre

Conseillère Artistique Kathy Casey

Interprètes Rachel Harris, Elinor Fueter, Annik Hamel, Sylvain Lafortune, Manuel Roque, Peter Trosztmer

Lumière Lucie Bazzo

Musique Laurent Maslé, Tomas Furey

Directrice Technique Karine Gauthier

Sonorisateur Guillaume Cavaliere Beranek

Prismes a bénéficié du soutien de l’Agora de la danse de Montréal et du théâtre Hector-Charland de L’Assomption.

Spectacles à venir

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 sep, 1 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 nov 2016

AbonnementsBillets

message goes here

close