Maguy Marin

Maguy Marin

Born in Toulouse to Spanish parents who fled the Franco regime, Maguy Marin has been creating since the 1970s socially conscious dance pieces that have made her one of the most important figures of new French dance. The many awards she has received include the prestigious Bessie Award for Umwelt (presented in Montreal in 2007). She is also one of the rare non-Americans to have received the American Dance Festival Award. She is now 62 and has some forty works to her credit, including pieces commissioned by companies such as the Ballet de l’Opéra in Lyon, the Ballet de l’Opéra in Paris and the Nerderlands Dans Theater III. Last year the Festival d’Automne de Paris featured a retrospective of her work, with select pieces from her repertoire presented in nine different sites.

Trained in classical ballet in Toulouse, Maguy Marin danced for the Ballet de Strasbourg before entering the first class of students in 1970 at the Mudra school founded by Maurice Béjart in Brussels. Her vision of dance and choreography was totally transformed. After a brief collaboration with the theatre research group Chandra, she became a soloist in Béjart’s company, the Ballet du XXe siècle. It was during that period that she began creating her own works. 

Among works from her early career, Nieblas de niño received first prize at the Bagnolet International Competition in 1978. Her style was already characterized by theatrical components that were not danced. May B, her most famous piece, reflects her radicalism and avant-gardism. Created in 1981 and presented several times in Montreal, it remains strikingly modern and relevant. The theme of “living together” found in all her work was already apparent. Since 1987 most of her pieces have been the result of close collaboration with the composer Denis Mariotte, with whom she shared the stage in the duo Ça quand même, co-written by both of them.

List of shows

Maguy Marin

Maguy Marin

Née à Toulouse de parents espagnols ayant fui le franquisme, Maguy Marin crée depuis la fin des années 1970 une danse engagée qui a fait d’elle l’une des figures les plus importantes de la nouvelle danse française. Parmi les nombreux prix qu’elle a reçus, notons un prestigieux prix Bessie pour Umwelt, œuvre présentée à Montréal en 2007. Maguy Marin est aussi l’une des rares non-Étasuniennes récipiendaire de l’American Dance Festival Award. Aujourd’hui âgée de 62 ans, elle a signé une quarantaine d’œuvres, dont quelques commandes pour des compagnies telles que le Ballet de l’Opéra de Lyon, le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris et le Nerderlands Dans Theater 3. L’an dernier, le Festival d’Automne à Paris lui a consacré une rétrospective en présentant des pièces de choix de son répertoire dans neuf lieux différents.

Formée en danse classique dans sa ville natale, Maguy Marin a dansé pour le Ballet de Strasbourg avant d’intégrer, en 1970, la première cohorte de l’école Mudra que Maurice Béjart a fondée à Bruxelles. Sa vision de la danse et de la création en est totalement transformée. Après une brève collaboration avec le groupe de recherche théâtrale Chandra, elle est engagée comme soliste par le célèbre chorégraphe alors à la tête du Ballet du XXe siècle. C’est au cours de cette période qu’elle crée ses premières pièces.

Parmi ses œuvres de jeunesse, Nieblas de niño lui vaut le premier prix du Concours chorégraphique international de Bagnolet en 1978. Déjà, son style se caractérise par la présence d’éléments théâtraux et non dansés. May B, son œuvre la plus emblématique, témoigne de son radicalisme et de son avant-gardisme. Créée en 1981, présentée à Montréal et maintes fois reprise, elle reste d’une absolue modernité et pertinence. La thématique du « vivre ensemble » qui marque toute son œuvre s’y décline déjà. Et depuis 1987, la plupart des créations de Maguy Marin sont le fruit d’une collaboration étroite avec le compositeur Denis Mariotte, avec lequel elle a partagé la scène en duo dans Ça quand même, dont ils ont cosigné les textes

Liste des spectacles