La Veronal - Siena

  • Barcelona
  • La Veronal

    Siena

    Marcos Morau
Length – 1 h 05 Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
8 February 2018 - 8 PM
9 February 2018 - 8 PM
10 February 2018 - 8 PM
Subscribe Buy tickets

Tickets start at $39.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday February 9, 2018

30 years and under

Special rates available

Marcos Morau has restored Spanish dance to its rightful place at centre stage: each work by his company, La Veronal, is greeted with astonishment and delight, and Siena promises to be no exception.
 

La movida may be just a distant memory in Barcelona, but La Veronal (which is based in that city) continues to defy convention with works that interweave performance and ballet, modernity and history. Marcus Morau is a master of surprise, and Siena bears his unmistakable stamp. On a hyper-realistic museum gallery set, a woman is lost in contemplation of a painting. A man watches her; the audience observes them both. The piece explores issues of art and representation, the human body and its projections; on stage, the choreography alternates between tight, cohesive ensembles and miniatures in motion. Morau traces a line from Titian’s Venus of Urbino to the films of David Lynch. A labyrinth of emotions in dance that propel the viewer beyond the mirror, Siena is a painting brought to life.

 

  • Marcos Morau

    © Edu Pérez

    Marcos Morau

    Marcos Morau (Valencia, Spain, 1982) studied choreography at the Institut del Teatre de Barcelona, the Conservatorio Superior de Danza de Valencia and Movement Research in New York, obtaining the highest score on the final project and the extraordinary award of the Institut del Teatre. He made his choreographic assistantship project in the Nederlands Dans Theater II and the company IT Dansa directed by Catherine Allard. His artistic skills are...

    Read more about Marcos Morau
  • La Veronal

    Choreographer Marcos Morau created La Veronal in 2005, company formed by artists from the dance, film, photography and literature. The artistic team purpose lies directly on a constant search for new expressive media, for cultural references – cinema, literature, music and photography, mostly – to bet on a strong narrative language with the intention of forming global art spaces. La Veronal is creating a set of works where each...

    Read more about La Veronal

Direction Marcos Morau. Choreography Marcos Morau in collaboration with the dancers. Text and Dramaturgy Pablo Gisbert – El Conde de Torrefiel, with the collaboration of Roberto Fratini. Dancers Laia Duran, Cristina Facco, Cristina Goñi Adot, Anna Hierro, Ariadna Montfort, Lorena Nogal, Lautaro Reyes, Manuel Rodríguez, Marina Rodríguez, Sau-Ching Wong. Assistant Director Tanya Beyeler. Teacher Cristina Facco. Space and Lighting Design La Veronal & Enric Planas. Photography Jesús Robisco, Edu Pérez & Quevieneelcoco. Costumes Octavia Malette. Voice-off Victoria Macarte, Benjamin Nathan Serio. Translation Laura Cosme. Production Manager Juan Manuel Gil Galindo.

Siena is a coproduction of La Veronal, Mercat de les Flors (Barcelona) and Hellerau European Center for the Arts (Dresden).

In collaboration with El Graner Barcelona, La Caldera, Centro de Artes Performativas do Algarve Faro (Portugal), Duncan Dance Center Athens (Greece), Dance Ireland Dublin (Ireland).

With the support of INAEM – Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte de España and ICEC – Departament de Cultura de la Generalitat de Catalunya.

Created in the framework of the European project Modul-dance, with the support of the EU Culture Programme.

 

Upcoming shows

Hofesh Shechter Company

Hofesh Shechter Company

Hofesh Shechter

1. 2. 3. 4 Nov 2017

SubscriptionsTickets
Dancers of Damelahamid

Dancers of Damelahamid

Margaret Grenier

14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Nov 2017

SubscriptionsTickets
BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa + Andonis Foniadakis + Ihsan Rustem

5. 6. 7. 8. 9 Dec 2017

SubscriptionsTickets

La Veronal - Siena

  • Barcelone
  • La Veronal

    Siena

    Marcos Morau
Durée – 1 h 05 Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
8 Février 2018 - 20 H
9 Février 2018 - 20 H
10 Février 2018 - 20 H
Abonnez-vous Achetez des billets

Billets à partir de 39.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 9 Février 2018

30 ans et moins

Tarifs spéciaux disponibles

Marcos Morau a ramené la danse espagnole sur le devant de la scène : chacune des pièces de sa compagnie La Veronal provoque une onde de plaisir partagée par le public. La surprise est une fois de plus au rendez-vous avec Siena


La movida est peut-être passée de mode à Barcelone, mais La Veronal – qui y a ses quartiers – continue à sortir du rang avec sa danse croisant performance et ballet, modernité et histoire. Marcos Morau n’a pas son pareil pour surprendre. Siena ne devrait pas déroger à la règle. Dans un décor de salle de musée hyper réaliste, une femme se plonge dans la contemplation d’un tableau. Un homme l’observe. Le public voit les deux. S’ensuivent des questions sur l’art et sa représentation, sur le corps humain et ses projections. Sur le plateau, la gestuelle oscille entre ensembles de danseurs à l’unisson et miniatures en mouvement. Morau tire un fil qui va de La Vénus d’Urbino du Titien au cinéma de David Lynch. Un labyrinthe de sensations dansées qui emporte le spectateur au-delà du miroir. Siena est un tableau vivant. 

  • Marcos Morau

    © Edu Pérez

    Marcos Morau

    Marcos Morau a étudié la chorégraphie à l’Institut del Teatre de Barcelone, au Conservatorio Superior de Danza de Valencia et à Movement Research de New York, où il a obtenu la plus haute note pour son projet de fin d’études ainsi qu’un prix de l’Institut del Teatre. Il a été assistant au Nederlands Dans Theater II, et pour la compagnie barcelonaise IT Dansa,. Il a également étudié la photographie détient une Maîtrise en...

    En savoir plus sur Marcos Morau
  • La Veronal

    En 2005, Marcos Morau crée La Veronal, compagnie formée d’artistes issus de la danse, du cinéma, de la photographie et de la littérature. L’objectif de l’équipe artistique se situe dans une recherche constante de nouveaux moyens d’expression. Dans les années 1980, La Veronal crée un Decalogue où l’environnement de chaque pièce prend comme point de départ un pays ou une ville du monde, créant une...

    En savoir plus sur La Veronal

Direction artistique Marcos Morau. Chorégraphie Marcos Morau en collaboration avec les danseurs. Texte et Dramaturgie Pablo Gisbert – El Conde de Torrefiel, en collaboration avec Roberto Fratini. Danseurs Laia Duran, Cristina Facco, Cristina Goñi Adot, Anna Hierro, Ariadna Montfort, Lorena Nogal, Lautaro Reyes, Manuel Rodríguez, Marina Rodríguez, Sau-Ching Wong. Assistante à la direction Tanya Beyeler. Enseignante Cristina Facco. Scénographie et lumières La Veronal & Enric Planas. Photographie Jesús Robisco, Edu Pérez, Quevieneelcoco. Costumes Octavia Malette. Voix hors-champ Victoria Macarte, Benjamin Nathan Serio. Traduction Laura Cosme. Directeur de production Juan Manuel Gil Galindo. 

Siena est une coproduction de La Veronal, Mercat de les Flors (Barcelona) et Hellerau European Center for the Arts (Dresden).

En collaboration avec El Graner Barcelona, La Caldera, Centro de Artes Performativas do Algarve Faro (Portugal), Duncan Dance Center Athens (Greece), Dance Ireland Dublin (Ireland).

Avec le soutien de INAEM – Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte de España et ICEC – Departament de Cultura de la Generalitat de Catalunya.

Créé dans le cadre du projet européen Modul-dance, avec le soutien du Programme Culture de UE.

 

Spectacles à venir

Hofesh Shechter Company

Hofesh Shechter Company

Hofesh Shechter

1. 2. 3. 4 nov 2017

AbonnementsBillets
Dancers of Damelahamid

Dancers of Damelahamid

Margaret Grenier

14. 15. 16. 17. 18 nov 2017

AbonnementsBillets
BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

Annabelle Lopez Ochoa + Andonis Foniadakis + Ihsan Rustem

5. 6. 7. 8. 9 déc 2017

AbonnementsBillets