• ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 Mar 2015

ICKamsterdam (Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten) - ROCCO

  • Netherlands
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
In co-presentation with
Place des Arts
8 pm Length – 1 h 10 Venue – Cinquième Salle
3 March 2015 - 8 PM
4 March 2015 - 8 PM
5 March 2015 - 8 PM
6 March 2015 - 8 PM
7 March 2015 - 8 PM
10 March 2015 - 8 PM
11 March 2015 - 8 PM
12 March 2015 - 8 PM
13 March 2015 - 8 PM
14 March 2015 - 8 PM

Warning: smoke

Tickets start at $33.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday March 6, 2015
    Friday March 13, 2015

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

In a ring surrounded by spectators, dancers as supple, committed and vigorous as boxers engage in close quarter combat in a choreography that is both visceral and elegant. A captivating portrayal of the spectrum of viable relations between men.

Danse Danse 14-15 ICKamsterdam EN

“Their gritty, bare-chested corporeality and menacing glares across the space, established from the start the interplay of rivalry and eroticism permeating this work about violent sport and masculinity... This is accomplished dance theatre, and Emio Greco | PC are a company working toward virtuosity in the genre.” (londondance.com)

Emio Greco studied classical ballet in Cannes before dancing with Ballet Antibes Côte d’Azur, and also for the Belgian iconoclast Jan Fabre and the Japanese choreographer Saburo Teshigawara. He then made his début as a choreographer in a duo with the Dutch director Pieter C. Scholten, a pioneer of documentary theatre with whom he founded the company Emio Greco | PC in 1996. They enjoyed immediate, striking success, which has endured. It is based on a taste for extremes and innovation, incarnated in a powerful theatricality of the body and movement that is mutant, visceral and elegant, imbued with classicism.

After their first incursion into Canada with the explosive Rimasto Orfano, presented in 2005 by Dance Danse, they are back in Montreal with ROCCO, which received the 2012 Golden Swan award for the most impressive dance production from the Dutch Association of Theatre Venues. Inspired by Luchino Visconti’s 1960 film classic Rocco and his Brothers, they place the audience on all sides of a boxing ring for a combat of several rounds. The leg work, the quick stops, hooks and strategies of attack and defence used by boxers are apparent in a dance rich in theme and nuance, delivered in a series of captivating duets. The set design, the lighting and the patchwork soundtrack with its recurring moments of silence, plus the sound of drums and cymbals, all contribute to creating the dramatic tension of a real boxing match that ends only when one of the two combatants collapses on the canvas.

Brotherly love, the struggle for a better life and the quest for identity are portrayed in various forms: the good and the bad, angel and devil, androgynous and masculine. The dancers are not only Rocco and his brothers, but also Cain and Abel, Romulus and Remus, Laurel and Hardy.

“The balletic bouts of speedy steps, jabbed limbs and torqued torsos are choreographed in strict rotational symmetry and tied to the arrhythmic jitters of a percussive score. ROCCO is strong on mood and atmosphere…” (The Guardian, London)

“A theatrical knockout.” (Trouw Amsterdam)

Choreographer

  • Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten

    Photo © Alwin Poiana

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten

Company

Credits

Choreography & Artistic Direction by Emio Greco and Pieter C. Scholten – International Choreographic Arts Centre (ICKamsterdam). Costume Design Clifford Portier. Performed by Dereck Cayla, Quentin Dehaye, Edward Lloyd, Arnaud Macquet. Lighting Designer & Technical Director Paul Beumer. Technical Crew Maarten Heijdra, Hugo Van der Veldt.

North American tour MAPP International Productions. The tour is supported in part by FPK, Fonds Podiumkunsten, Performing Arts Fund NL, The Netherland-America Foundation, and by public funds from the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York. World Premiere: 2011, ImpulsTanz, Vienna, Austria.Emio Greco | Pieter C. Scholten forms the artistic core of the International Choreographic Arts Centre (ICKamsterdam). ICKamsterdam is supported by the Performing Arts Fund NL and the municipality of Amsterdam.  

 

Upcoming shows

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 Jan 2017

Tickets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 Feb 2017

Tickets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 Mar 2017

Tickets

message goes here

close

• ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 mar 2015
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
    3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14 mar 2015

ICKamsterdam (Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten) - ROCCO

  • Pays Bas
  • ICKamsterdam

    ROCCO

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten
En coprésentation avec
Place des Arts
20 h Durée – 1 h 10 Salle – Cinquième Salle
3 Mars 2015 - 20 H
4 Mars 2015 - 20 H
5 Mars 2015 - 20 H
6 Mars 2015 - 20 H
7 Mars 2015 - 20 H
10 Mars 2015 - 20 H
11 Mars 2015 - 20 H
12 Mars 2015 - 20 H
13 Mars 2015 - 20 H
14 Mars 2015 - 20 H

Avertissement : fumée

Billets à partir de 33.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 6 mars 2015
    Vendredi 13 mars 2015

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Sur un ring entouré du public, des danseurs aussi engagés, souples et nerveux que des boxeurs se livrent à des combats rapprochés dans une chorégraphie à la fois viscérale et élégante. Une déclinaison captivante de la gamme des possibles relations entre hommes.

Danse Danse 14-15 ICKamsterdam FR

« Dès le début, leur corporalité naturaliste, avec leurs poitrines dénudées, et leurs regards menaçants qui transpercent l’espace installent l’interaction entre rivalité et érotisme dont est empreinte cette œuvre sur le sport violent et la masculinité […] On assiste ici à du théâtre dansé très achevé. Emio Greco | PC est une compagnie qui vise la virtuosité dans le genre. » (londondance.com)

Formé en ballet classique à Cannes, Emio Greco a dansé avec le Ballet Antibes Côte d’Azur, pour l’iconoclaste belge Jan Fabre et pour le raffiné japonais Saburo Teshigawara avant de s’affirmer comme chorégraphe en duo avec le dramaturge néerlandais Pieter C. Scholten, pionnier du théâtre-documentaire avec lequel il a fondé la compagnie Emio Greco | PC en 1996. Immédiat et fulgurant, leur succès ne s’est pas démenti. Il est fondé sur le goût de l’extrême et de l’innovation qui s’incarne dans une puissante théâtralité des corps et dans une gestuelle mutante, viscérale et élégante, pétrie de classicisme.

Après leur première incursion en territoire canadien avec le détonant Rimasto Orfano, présenté par Danse Danse en 2005, ils reviennent à Montréal avec ROCCO, qui a reçu en 2012 le prix Golden Swan de la plus impressionnante production de danse, décerné par l’Association néerlandaise des directeurs de théâtres et de salles de concert. S’inspirant du grand classique du cinéma Rocco et ses frères, réalisé en 1960 par Luchino Visconti, ils installent le public autour d’un ring pour un combat en plusieurs rounds. Les jeux de jambes, arrêts brusques, crochets et stratégies d’attaque et de défense propres aux boxeurs trouvent écho dans une danse riche en motifs et en nuances, livrée en une suite de duos captivants. La scénographie, les jeux d’éclairage et la bande-son métissée où silence, batterie et cymbales reviennent régulièrement  contribuent à recréer la tension dramatique d’un vrai combat de boxe qui ne s’arrête que lorsque l’un des deux combattants s’écroule sur le sol.

L'amour fraternel, la lutte pour une vie meilleure et la quête identitaire y sont déclinés sous différentes formes : le bon et le mauvais, l'ange et le diable, l'androgyne et le masculin. Et les danseurs ne sont plus seulement Rocco et ses frères. Ils sont Caïn et Abel, Romulus et Remus, Laurel et Hardy.

« Les assauts dansés faits de pas accélérés, de membres brandis et de torses ployés sont chorégraphiés dans un mouvement rotatif strictement symétrique et reliés aux soubresauts arythmiques des percussions de la bande sonore. ROCCO imprime une ambiance et une atmosphère denses. » (The Guardian, Londres)

« Un K.O. théâtral. » (Trouw Amsterdam)

Chorégraphe

  • Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten

    Photo © Alwin Poiana

    Emio Greco, Pieter C. Scholten

Compagnie

Crédits

Chorégraphie et direction artistique Emio Greco et Pieter C. Scholten – International Choreographic Arts Centre (ICKamsterdam). Costumes Clifford Portier. Danseurs Dereck Cayla, Quentin Dehaye, Edward Lloyd, Arnaud Macquet. Lumières et direction technique Paul Beumer Équipe technique Maarten Heijdra, Hugo Van der Veldt.

Tournée Nord-Américaine Mapp International Productions. La tournée est soutenue en partie par  FPK,  Fonds Podiumkunsten, Performing Arts Fund NL, The Netherland-America Foundation, et par des fonds publics du Consulat général des Pays-Bas de  New York. Première mondiale: 2011, ImpulsTanz, Viennes, Autriche. Emio Greco | Pieter C. Scholten forment le noyau artistique du International Choreographic Arts Centre (ICKamsterdam). ICKamsterdam bénéficie du soutien du fonds néerlandais pour les arts de la scène et du soutien de la ville d’Amsterdam.

 

 

Spectacles à venir

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 jan 2017

Billets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 fév 2017

Billets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 mar 2017

Billets

message goes here

close