• Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
    11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Feb 2014
  • Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
    11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Feb 2014
  • Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
    11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Feb 2014

Helena Waldmann - Get a Revolver

  • Germany
  • Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
Length – 1 h Venue – Cinquième Salle
11 February 2014 - 8 PM
12 February 2014 - 8 PM
13 February 2014 - 8 PM
14 February 2014 - 8 PM
15 February 2014 - 8 PM

In this brilliant solo on the theme of dementia, the German choreographer Helena Waldmann takes the audience on an emotional journey, subtly playing with theatricality and diverse styles of dance. A bittersweet piece performed by the astounding dancer Brit Rodemund.

“Helena Waldmann manages to render moments of mental absence tangible by means of movement, with the dancer fluctuating between an aesthetic staging of herself and the loss of dignity. No surprise then that the protean Brit Rodemund was named Dancer of the Year in 2011 by the magazine Tanz.” (Westfälische Nachrichten, Munster, Germany)

“Helena Waldmann’s work is a godsend for the theatre. This Berlin-based choreographer is a magician of the stage who knows that a work is only successful when it is able to conjure up illusion. However, her critical intelligence also goes beyond the mechanisms of the theatre to question social and political conventions. In Waldmann’s work, thought and sensuality go hand in hand. In Get a Revolver, Waldmann explores forgetting as a positive, liberating function of the human brain, sensing that the secret to happiness might lie there. With the superb dancer Brit Rodemund, she has created a grotesque yet humorous work, a reflection on restraints and the efforts to overcome them, using ballet as a symbol for the rigours that life demands of us. During the 60 minutes of the performance Brit Rodemund becomes her own twin – a classical ballerina with dazzling presence, and then a searcher for whom everything, even her own body or a plastic bag, is a source of wonder. She is very much aware of the balancing act between a thirst for discovery and the depths of madness. Even in difficult moments, she gives her character the dignity a person needs to remain human.” (Stuttgarter Nachrichten, Stuttgart, Germany)

Despite the knowledge that a revolver might entail a departure from a world she no longer understands, she is still able to laugh about the possible liberation contained in forgetting. Is one then really lost to the world when memory is freed from the demands of this world?

Photo 1 © Sebastian Bolesch. Interprète Brit Rodemund.
Photo 2 © Oskar Henn. Interprète Brit Rodemund.

 

  • Helena Waldmann

    Photo © Tina Ruisinger

    Helena Waldmann

    The independent German choreographer, set designer and director Helena Waldmann was born in 1962.After theatre studies at the University of Giessen, she focused on social problems in total works of art that burst the boundaries of dance theatre. She presented her first pieces in the 1990s in German state theatres under masters such as Heiner Müller, George Tabori and Gerhard Bohner, followed by several years at the Mousonturm in...

    Read more about Helena Waldmann

Concept, Direction, Choreography Helena Waldmann.

Dance Brit Rodemund.

Dramaturgy Dunja Funke.

Music Gustav Mahler, Johann Strauss, Zeitkratzer, Nat King Cole.

Lighting Herbert Cybulska.

Costume Mari Krautschick.

Choreographic collaboration Tim Plegge.

Get a Revolver is a production by Helena Waldmann and Ecotopia Danse Productions.

In coproduction with Dance 2010, Festspiele Ludwigshafen im Theater im Pfalzbau, Forum Freieis Theater Düsseldorf, Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg, Hellerau- Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden, O Espaço do Tempo Montemor-O-Novo.

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

• Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
    11. 12. 13. 14. 15 fév 2014
  • Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
    11. 12. 13. 14. 15 fév 2014

Helena Waldmann - Get a Revolver

  • Allemagne
  • Helena Waldmann

    Get a Revolver

    Helena Waldmann
Durée – 1 h Salle – Cinquième Salle
11 Février 2014 - 20 H
12 Février 2014 - 20 H
13 Février 2014 - 20 H
14 Février 2014 - 20 H
15 Février 2014 - 20 H

Dans ce brillant solo sur le thème de la démence, l’Allemande Helena Waldmann nous fait traverser toute une gamme d’émotions en jouant subtilement avec la théâtralité et divers styles de danse. Une œuvre douce-amère portée par la stupéfiante danseuse Brit Rodemund.

« Helena Waldmann parvient à rendre les moments d’absence mentale tangibles à travers le mouvement, la danseuse oscillant entre une mise en scène esthétique d’elle-même et la perte de dignité. Pas étonnant que la protéiforme Brit Rodemund ait été proclamée “Danseuse de l’année” en 2011 par le magazine Tanz. » (Westfälische Nachrichten, Allemagne)

« Le travail d’Helena Waldmann est un don du ciel pour le théâtre. Cette chorégraphe établie à Berlin est une magicienne de la scène qui sait qu’une œuvre n’est réussie que lorsqu’elle est capable d’évoquer le monde des illusions. Cependant, son intelligence et son sens critique lui permettent de remettre en question les conventions sociales et politiques, d’aller au-delà de la mécanique théâtrale. Son œuvre se distingue par cet entrelacement entre la sensualité et la réflexion. Dans Get a Revolver, Waldmann explore l’oubli comme une faculté positive et libératrice du cerveau humain, devinant toute la capacité de bonheur qu’elle recèle. Avec la superbe danseuse Brit Rodemund, elle a créé une œuvre à la fois grotesque et drôle, une réflexion sur les limites et les efforts pour les surmonter, utilisant le ballet comme métaphore de l’entraînement rigoureux que la vie exige de nous. Au cours des 60 minutes que dure le spectacle, Brit Rodemund devient sa jumelle : une danseuse classique à la présence éblouissante, puis une chercheuse pour qui tout, de son propre corps à un simple sac de plastique, devient un objet d’émerveillement. Elle montre avec brio le périlleux équilibre entre la soif de découvertes et les méandres de la folie. Même dans les moments difficiles de son personnage, elle en préserve la dignité nécessaire à son humanité. » (Stuttgarter Nachrichten, Allemagne) 

Malgré le fait qu’un revolver lui permette de signifier ses adieux à un monde qu’elle ne comprend plus, elle est encore capable de s’amuser de la possible libération que recèle l’oubli. Un être est-il vraiment perdu pour le monde lorsque sa mémoire est libérée des exigences de ce monde?

Photo 1 © Sebastian Bolesch. Interprète Brit Rodemund.
Photo 2 © Oskar Henn. Interprète Brit Rodemund.
 

  • Helena Waldmann

    Photo © Tina Ruisinger

    Helena Waldmann

    Chorégraphe, scénographe et metteure en scène indépendante allemande, Helena Waldmann est née à Burghausen en 1962.Dès ses études théâtrales appliquées à Giessen, elle n’hésite pas à mettre le doigt sur des problèmes sociaux dans des spectacles d’art total qui débordent le cadre de la danse-théâtre, et elle ne cessera jamais de le faire tout au long de sa carrière, que ce soit dans ses premières œuvres...

    En savoir plus sur Helena Waldmann

Concept, direction et chorégraphie Helena Waldmann.

Interprétation Brit Rodemund.

Dramaturgie Dunja Funke.

Musique Gustav Mahler, Johann Strauss, Zeitkratzer, Nat King Cole.

Lumières Herbert Cybulska.

Costumes Mari Krautschick.

Assistant chorégraphique Tim Plegge.

Get a Revolver est une production d’Helena Waldmann et de Ecotopia Danse Productions en coproduction avec Dance 2010, Festspiele Ludwigshafen im Theater im Pfalzbau, Forum Freieis Theater Düsseldorf, Théâtre de la Ville de Luxembourg, Hellerau- Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden, O Espaço do Tempo Montemor-O-Novo.

Spectacles à venir

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 déc 2017

Billets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 jan 2018

Billets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 fév 2018

Billets