Groupe RUBBERBANDance (Victor Quijada) - Quotient Empirique

  • Québec
  • Groupe RUBBERBANDance

    Quotient Empirique

    Victor Quijada
Place des Arts
Length – 1 h 10 Venue – Cinquième Salle
20 November 2013 - 8 PM
21 November 2013 - 8 PM
22 November 2013 - 8 PM
23 November 2013 - 8 PM
27 November 2013 - 8 PM
28 November 2013 - 8 PM
29 November 2013 - 8 PM
30 November 2013 - 8 PM
4 December 2013 - 8 PM
5 December 2013 - 8 PM
6 December 2013 - 8 PM
7 December 2013 - 8 PM

A past master in the art of creating hybrid forms that mix elements of classical, contemporary and urban street dance, the Montrealer of American and Mexican heritage Victor Quijada is back in force with a piece for six dancers about nostalgia, regret and the changing nature of our identities. An electrifying, virtuoso performance accessible to all!

Over the past 10 years with the RUBBERBANDance Group, Victor Quijada has combined to varying degrees ballet, contemporary dance, hip hop, break dance and theatre. He sees himself as not only a classical dancer but also a B-boy and contemporary dancer, and borrows and blends dance motifs from these different styles in order to express their primary essence or push them into intriguing new transformations. With an eye for innovations and new trends, he continues to build bridges between the stage and the street, incorporating new techniques from popping to the robot and tutting. He has developed a unique signature in a close and fruitful partnership with his accomplice Anne Plamondon, passing on their distinct approach to other dancers in their company.

In this new choreography he pursues the research he undertook in 2011 in Gravity of Center by working on the notion of the herd instinct and the movement of the pack. The characters in the piece are made to measure for his six dancers, with the focus on exploring human relationships, a recurring theme in his artistic approach. Another theme implicit in this abstract work is identity and the perception each person has of himself, which changes over time and with life experience, leaving in its wake a touch of nostalgia, and sometimes even a few regrets.

“There’s no one else like him in Canada that I’ve seen, experimenting and refining a personal vision with such a unique blend of movement expertise – from street to classical to post-modern – and using it all in a full artistic expression.” (The Dance Current, Canada)

“Victor Quijada stretches the boundaries of dance like a rubber band with no breaking point — just pure elastic imagination.” (Bradenton Herald, Florida, review of Loan Sharking)

Photo 1 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : Zachary Tang, Franklin Luy, Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved, Katherine Cowie.
Photo 2 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved, Zachary Tang, Franklin Luy, James Gregg.
Photo 3 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : James Gregg, Katherine Cowie.

  • Victor Quijada

    Photo © Paolo Santos

    Victor Quijada

    Victor Quijada was born in California in 1976 to Mexican parents. Over the past dozen years, he has developed a unique style of choreography that extols the various artistic influences that stimulated him as a dancer – the power and spontaneity of hip hop, the rigour and virtuosity of ballet, the evocative power of contemporary dance and its use of time and space. At times he plays with time and reality by means of video or opts for...

    Read more about Victor Quijada

Choreographer Victor Quijada

Composer Jasper Gahunia

Lighting Designer Yan Lee Chan

Costume Designer Julie Charland

Dancers Katherine Cowie, James Gregg, Franklin Luy, Zachary Tang, Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved

Technical Director and Sound Director Éric Tremblay

Production Manager Julie Brosseau Doré

This new work is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse and Place des Arts, Grand Théâtre de Québec, Guelph Dance, Le Théâtre Hector-Charland and La danse sur les routes du Québec, and by the Dance Section of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

Groupe RUBBERBANDance (Victor Quijada) - Quotient Empirique

  • Québec
  • Groupe RUBBERBANDance

    Quotient Empirique

    Victor Quijada
Place des Arts
Durée – 1 h 10 Salle – Cinquième Salle
20 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
21 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
22 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
23 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
27 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
28 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
29 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
30 Novembre 2013 - 20 H
4 Décembre 2013 - 20 H
5 Décembre 2013 - 20 H
6 Décembre 2013 - 20 H
7 Décembre 2013 - 20 H

Roi de l’hybridation des danses classique, contemporaine et urbaines, le Canadien d’origine américano-mexicaine Victor Quijada revient en force avec une œuvre pour six danseurs sur la nostalgie, le regret et le caractère changeant de nos identités. Brillant, électrisant et accessible à tous! 

Au fil des 10 années d’existence du Groupe RUBBERBANDance, Victor Quijada a métissé à des degrés variables les danses classique, contemporaine, urbaines et le théâtre. Se considérant aussi bien danseur classique que B-boy ou danseur contemporain, il reprend les motifs chorégraphiques qui l’ont inspiré dans ces différents styles pour les livrer dans leurs formes les plus primaires ou les pousser dans les transformations les plus extrêmes. Toujours au fait des innovations et des tendances, il continue de créer des ponts entre la rue et la scène en s’appropriant les nouvelles techniques du popping. Cette signature unique qu’il a développée dans une étroite et fructueuse collaboration avec sa complice Anne Plamondon, Victor Quijada l’affirme aujourd’hui pleinement par l’intermédiaire d’autres corps que les leurs.

Pour la composition de cette nouvelle chorégraphie, il creuse plus avant la recherche qu’il a menée en 2011 dans Gravity of Center en travaillant autour de l’idée d’instinct grégaire et de déplacements en meute. Et sans offrir de trame narrative, il taille des personnages sur mesure pour ses six danseurs, histoire de développer le thème des relations au cœur de sa démarche artistique. L’autre thème en filigrane de cette œuvre à dominante abstraite est celui de la perception que l’on a de soi-même et de l’identité, qui se transforme au fil du temps qui passe et des expériences vécues, traînant dans son sillage un brin de nostalgie et, parfois même, quelques regrets.

« Personne d’autre que lui au Canada, à ma connaissance, n'est parvenu à une telle vision personnelle, avec cet unique mélange de langages gestuels - de la danse urbaine au ballet en passant par le postmoderne - fondus en une expression artistique achevée. » (The Dance Current, Canada)

Photo 1 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : Zachary Tang, Franklin Luy, Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved, Katherine Cowie.
Photo 2 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved, Zachary Tang, Franklin Luy, James Gregg.
Photo 3 © Tim Forbes. Interprètes : James Gregg, Katherine Cowie.

  • Victor Quijada

    Photo © Paolo Santos

    Victor Quijada

    Californien d’origine, Victor Quijada est né en 1976 de parents mexicains. Depuis les années 2000, il développe une signature chorégraphique unique qui exalte ce qui l’a le plus stimulé dans son parcours d’interprète : la puissance et la spontanéité du hip hop, la rigueur et la virtuosité du classique, la puissance évocatrice du contemporain et son usage du temps et de l’espace. Il joue parfois avec le temps...

    En savoir plus sur Victor Quijada

Chorégraphe Victor Quijada

Musique Jasper Gahunia

Conception lumières Yan Lee Chan

Costumes Julie Charland

Danseurs Katherine Cowie, James Gregg, Franklin Luy, Zachary Tang, Lavinia Vago, Lea Ved

Directeur technique et son Éric Tremblay

Directeur de Production Julie Brosseau Doré

Quotient Empirique est une production du Groupe RUBBERBANDance et une coproduction de The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Danse Danse, Grand Theatre Kingston, Guelph Dance, Le Theatre Hector-Charland, et de la Société de la Place des Arts, avec l’aimable collaboration du Centre Segal des arts de la scène.

Spectacles à venir

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 déc 2017

Billets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 jan 2018

Billets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 fév 2018

Billets