Groupe RUBBERBANDance

Founded in 2002 by Victor Quijada and co-directed since 2005 with Anne Plamondon, the RUBBERBANDance Group (RBDG) is a unique artistic crossroads, with its fusion of ballet, contemporary dance and hip hop. From that exploratory base the choreographer Victor Quijada draws from the roots of urban and break dance, retaining the spontaneity of the form while creating a contemporary style based on a concept that combines dance and theatre, improvisation, the visual imagery of film, and the spontaneous eruption of impromptu performance as tools for transforming the reality of the day-to-day. 

Characterized by a singular, highly innovative aesthetic, RBDG dance pieces reflect a rich exploration of human relationships, with an emphasis on psychological constructs, certain types of behaviour and emotional conflicts. They harness the passionate emotions of violence, tenderness, comedy and tragedy in order to highlight a certain truth about the human condition, a truth that might make a difference to someone in the audience.

For RBDG there are many perse and even unexpected ways and means of reaching an audience. With the sensibility of a street dancer, Victor Quijada is constantly trying to integrate the immediacy of hip hop into more structured staging. He has experimented with alternative venues, given impromptu performances and broken the barrier between artists and audience in countless ways in order to shatter the presentational formant. He wants the audience to experience dance not as a passive activity, but as a participatory event.

When it first burst upon the scene, RBDG surprised audiences and critics with three works presented at Tangente and at MAI, as well as several smaller pieces created for various special events. Tender Loving Care and Hasta La Próxima were both in the Top 5 Danse listing by the newspaper La Presse in 2002. The following year, Elastic Perspective was performed 100 times after winning the Prix Coup de Pouce at the Vue sur la Relève festival. During the 2003-2004 season, the company was given an artistic residency at Usine C for the creation of Slicing Static, named best dance production of 2004 by the Montreal weekly Hour

In 2007 RBDG was granted a four-year artistic residency by Cinquième Salle in Place des Arts, a major injection of support that stimulated the company’s development. Four works resulted from that partnership: AV Input/Output, Loan Sharking, Punto Ciego, (presented to sold-out houses for three weeks in 2009) and Gravity of Center. That same year, the OQAJ-RIDEAU Award allowed the company to pursue professional development workshops in the Americas.

Now recognized internationally for its new and unique vision of dance, RBDG has so far created and presented nine works and five short films, including Hasta La Próxima, a finalist in the short film category at the American Choreography Awards. It has participated in several projects in collaboration with other artists (galas, special events, video clips, demonstrations, etc.) 

The Group has performed in Canada, the United States (including Hawaii), Europe and Japan. At the 2012 Canadian Dance Assembly gala, the company received the I Love Dance International Award for its exceptional contribution in opening up Canadian dance to international exposure.

Groupe RUBBERBANDance

Fondé en 2002 par Victor Quijada et codirigé avec Anne Plamondon depuis 2005, le Groupe RUBBERBANDance (RBDG) se positionne à une croisée artistique peu fréquentée, un terrain où se rencontrent le ballet, la danse contemporaine et le hip hop. Dans ce champ d’exploration, le chorégraphe Victor Quijada puise aux racines de la danse urbaine pour en extraire la spontanéité et créer un style actuel, basé sur une conception de la danse où le théâtre, l’improvisation, le cinéma, la présentation de spectacles spontanés, impromptus, sont autant de moyens de transformer la réalité quotidienne. 

Caractérisées par une esthétique unique, éminemment novatrice, les œuvres de RBDG témoignent d’une riche exploration des relations humaines et d’un intérêt marqué pour les structures psychologiques, certains types de comportements et les conflits émotionnels. Elles conjuguent la fougue de la violence, la tendresse, la comédie et le drame, afin de mettre en lumière une certaine vérité propre à la condition humaine; une vérité qui pourrait faire, d’une manière ou d’une autre, une différence pour quelqu’un dans le public.

Pour RBDG, les occasions et les manières de rejoindre le public doivent être multiples et parfois même, inattendues. Portant en lui la vivacité des danseurs de rue, Victor Quijada cherche sans cesse des façons d’intégrer l’instantanéité des cercles hip hop à des mises en scène plus structurées. Il s’est aventuré dans des lieux alternatifs, a donné des spectacles improvisés et a brisé le quatri&`me mur d’innombrables façons. Tout ceci, avec la volonté de sortir des cadres habituels des spectacles, pour que le public voie la danse non plus comme un événement auquel on assiste passivement, mais plutôt comme une activité à laquelle on peut participer.

Dès sa création, RBDG surprend le public et la critique avec trois œuvres présentées à Tangente et à Montréal, arts interculturels (MAI) ainsi que plusieurs courtes pièces créées pour différents événements spéciaux. Les pièces Tender Loving Care et Hasta La Próxima se retrouvent toutes les deux dans le Top 5 Danse de La Presse en 2002. L’année suivante, Elastic Perspective entame une série de 100 représentations et remporte un Prix Coup de Pouce au Festival Vue sur la Relève. Durant la saison 2003-2004, la compagnie est accueillie en résidence à l’Usine C pour la création de Slicing Static, nommée « Meilleure production de danse de 2004 » par l’hebdomadaire culturel Hour. 

En 2007, RBDG se voit offrir une résidence de quatre ans par la Cinquième Salle de la Place des Arts, soutien majeur qui l’aide ainsi à mieux se développer. Quatre œuvres sont nées de ce partenariat : AV Input/Output, Loan Sharking, Punto Ciego, (présentée pendant 3 semaines à guichets fermés en 2009) et Gravity of Center

En 2009, le prix OQAJ-RIDEAU permet à la compagnie d’effectuer un séjour de développement professionnel dans les Amériques.

Aujourd’hui reconnu internationalement pour sa vision nouvelle et unique de la danse, RBDG a créé et présenté à ce jour une dizaine de pièces et cinq courts métrages – dont Hasta La Próxima, finaliste dans la catégorie court métrage aux American Choreography Awards – et a pris part à un grand nombre d’événements en collaboration avec d’autres artistes (galas, événements spéciaux, clips vidéo, démonstrations, etc.).

Le Groupe RUBBERBANDance a été accueilli partout au Canada et a présenté son travail aux États-Unis, en Europe et au Japon. En 2012, l’Assemblée canadienne de la danse lui a remis le premier prix « J’aime la Danse – International » pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à l’établissement de passerelles pour la danse canadienne vers la scène internationale.