Emmanuelle Lê Phan + Elon Höglund

Emmanuelle Lê Phan, Elon Höglund

Emmanuelle Lê Phan 
Québeco-vietnamese and raised in Ottawa, B-girl known as Cleopatra and co-founder of dance company Tentacle Tribe, Emmanuelle Lê Phan has forged for herself a singular career path intermingling breaking, contemporary dance and circus performances.  Although not a classical circus artist, her dance's virtuosity brought her to Cirque Du Soleil stages (Love the Beatles in Las Vegas), Cirque Éloize stages (ID) and other international special events. 
But in essence, what draws her in is movement invention and choreographic finesse.   In her body, a varied array of forms: breaking, popping, capoeira, parcours, house, modern, and a desire to bond them into her own freestyle language.   This versatility is the result of a varied training spectrum: from completing a BFA in contemporary dance at Concordia University in 2003, to battling in breaking and all-style categories since 1999. Her past collaborations include co-founding Solid State Breakdance Collective and dancing for MMHOP, RUBBERBANDance, Bboyizm and Out Innerspace Dance Theatre.   
In 2012, the decision to co-create with Swedish choreographer Elon Höglund, steers them into their new Tentacle Tribe universe.  Since then, the company has created many works, notably Nobody Likes a Pixelated Squid, Fractals of You and Threesixnine.   In the last five years, their work has been shown in over 80 cities worldwide along with workshop outreach and the dissemination of their 3 short films: Elon & Emmanuelle, Vanishing Points and Crack the Cypher. She created a women’s trio Origami Mami in 2017 and toured in hip-hop european festivals. Both choreographers have been artists in residence at the York University and at the Arizona State University to teach and choreograph with the students. Emmanuelle Lê Phan is now entirely dedicated to Tentacle Tribe as artistic director and administrative manager.
 

Elon Höglund
From a young age, he trained in various forms of martial arts (Kung Fu, Capoeira, Taekwondo) and dance styles (B–boying, Popping), which evoked in him a realization of purpose.  He went on to find further inspiration in other street styles, theatre and contemporary dance, which lead to the creation of his own movement philosophy.  Since 2001, Elon has performed and choreographed fusion–style contemporary works for Theatre, Dance and Contemporary Circus productions. In 2005, he was hired by Cirque Du Soleil to be part of the creation of The Beatles LOVE Show in Las Vegas, in which he performed and choreographed his own solo that seamlessly fused contemporary dance and hip-hop. Since then, Elon has performed all over North America, Europe and Asia with Cirque du Soleil, Cirque Eloize, Bboyizm Dance Company, Rubberbandance Group, and the Norwegian State Theatre. He has performed live on television in Sweden, Norway, South Korea and in the United States. Notably, he has worked with choreographers such as Dave St–Pierre, Daniel Ezralow, Mourad Merzouki, Victor Quijada and Koen Agustinien.  Elon is also a member of Montreal’s Fresh Format B–boy crew and Stockholm’s Concrete Kingz. In 2012, he co–founded Tentacle Tribe with choreographer Emmanuelle Lê Phan. He’s now dedicated to Tentacle Tribe, except when he works with the multidisciplinary artist, DandyPunk.

 

List of shows

Emmanuelle Lê Phan + Elon Höglund

Emmanuelle Lê Phan & Elon Höglund

Emmanuelle Lê Phan 

Québeco-vietnamienne et élevée à Ottawa, sous son alias b-girl Cleopatra et en tant que cofondatrice de la compagnie de danse Tentacle Tribe, Emmanuelle Lê Phan s’est forgée une carrière singulière composée de danse contemporaine et de performances de cirque. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas une artiste de cirque traditionnel, la virtuosité de sa danse l’a mené sur les scènes du Cirque du Soleil (Love the Beatles à Las Vegas), sur les scènes du Cirque Éloize (ID) et à d’autres événements internationaux.
Ce qui la caractérise est l’invention du mouvement et la finesse chorégraphique. Dans son corps, une gamme variée de formes : le Break, le popping, capoeira, parcours, house, moderne, et un désir de les rassembler pour en faire son propre langage. Cette polyvalence est le résultat d’un spectre de formations variées : elle a complété un BFA en danse contemporaine à l’Université Concordia en 2003, elle a fait de la compétition et a jugé les catégories breakdance et all-style depuis 1999. Ses collaborations passées incluent la cofondation de Solid State Breakdance Collective et son travail d’interprète pour MMHOP, RUBBERBANDance, Bboyizm et Out Innerspace Dance Theatre.
En 2012, la décision de co créer avec le chorégraphe suédois Elon Höglund, les oriente vers leur nouvel univers Tentacle Tribe. Depuis, la compagnie a créé de nombreuses œuvres, notamment Nobody Likes a Pixelated Squid, Fractals of You et Threesixnine. Pendant les cinq dernières années, leurs œuvres ont été présentées dans plus de 80 pays en parallèle d’ateliers à succès et de la diffusion de leurs trois courts métrages : Elon & Emmanuelle, Vanishing Points et Crack the Cypher. En 2017, Lê Phan crée un trio féminin Origami Mami qui fait fureur. Cette même année, elle part en tournée dans les festivals hip-hop européens. Les deux chorégraphes ont été artistes en résidence à l’Université York et à l’Arizona State University pour enseigner et chorégraphier. Aujourd'hui Emmanuelle se consacre entièrement à Tentacle Tribe en tant que directrice artistique et gérante administrative.

Elon Höglund

Né à Stockholm, Elon Höglund grandit en écoutant et en dansant sur la musique hip-hop. Dès son plus jeune âge, sa formation en arts martiaux (kung fu, capoeira, taekwondo), en breaking et en popping le prépare déjà à sa pleine réalisation professionnelle. Il puise très vite son inspiration dans les danses urbaines, le théâtre et la danse contemporaine et il développe sa propre philosophie du mouvement. Depuis 2001, Elon chorégraphie et danse des pièces aux styles fusion contemporaine au sein de plusieurs productions. En 2005, il est recruté par le Cirque du Soleil pour la création The Beatles LOVE à Las Vegas, où il chorégraphie son propre solo. Par la suite, il danse en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie avec les compagnies Bboyizm, le Groupe RUBBERBANDance, le Cirque du Soleil, Cirque Éloize et le Norwegian State Theatre, collaborant avec les chorégraphes Dave St-Pierre, Daniel Ezralow, Mourad Merzouki et Victor Quijada. En 2012, il cofonde Tentacle Tribe avec la chorégraphe canadienne Emmanuelle Lê Phan, avec qui il crée plusieurs duos magnétiques. Entre autres : Fractals of You, When they Fall et Nobody Likes a Pixelated Squid présentés dans plus de 50 villes internationales. Aujourd'hui, Elon se consacre pleinement à sa compagnie, excepté quand il collabore avec l'artiste multi-disciplinaire DandyPunk.

Liste des spectacles