• Dancers of Damelahamid

    Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Nov 2017

Dancers of Damelahamid - Flicker

  • Vancouver
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
MAI - Montréal arts interculturels
Length – 1 h 15 Venue – Cinquième Salle
14 November 2017 - 8 PM
15 November 2017 - 8 PM
16 November 2017 - 8 PM
17 November 2017 - 8 PM
18 November 2017 - 8 PM
Hydro Québec
Subscribe

Tickets start at $39.00

Flicker invites the audience to discover the Indigenous dance of Dancers of Damelahamid. Offering a contemporary take on traditional forms and designs, Flicker is an odyssey in movement.
 

Dancers of Damelahamid is an Indigenous dance company based in British Columbia. For several decades, the company has taken a present-day approach to traditional repertoire, developing a contemporary choreographic practice that honours its First Nations roots and preserves this sung and danced heritage for future generations. Flicker (as in “woodpecker”) is a multimedia dance work by Margaret Grenier. A young man sets out on an inner journey. As the audience follows him over mountain and through forest, we encounter wandering souls, dancers, and mythical characters. The combination of design and choreography gives the stage a life-size feel. Flicker is a link between First Nations traditions and more current forms. An ancestral gift that resonates in our collective memory.

  • Margaret Grenier

    © Ana Pedrero

    Margaret Grenier

    Margaret Grenier is the Executive and Artistic Director for the Dancers of Damelahamid. She choreographed the full length works Setting the Path 2004 and Sharing the Spirit 2007 which toured internationally to New Zealand in 2008 and the 2010 World Expo in Shanghai, China. Her other works include Visitors Who Never Left as a site specific work in 2009, Dancing our Stories (2010), Spirit...

    Read more about Margaret Grenier
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Dancers of Damelahamid is an Indigenous dance company from the Northwest Coast of Canada. The company is founded on over four decades of extensive work of song restoration; having emerged in the 1960s out of an urgency to ensure that the artistic practices of their ancestors was not lost. The current direction of the Dancers of Damelahamid is to redefine and characterize their practice in order that the dances may continue to be tangible and...

    Read more about Dancers of Damelahamid

Choreographer Margaret Grenier. Composer Andrew Grenier. Gitxsan Translations Elder Betsy Lomax. Cree song Lawrence Trottier. Multi-media Production and Design Andy Moro. Graphics Design Shaun Kingerlee. Coastal Designs / Masks Andrew Grenier. Sound Designer and additional music Ted Hamilton. Dramaturg Charles Koroneho. Regalia and costume design Rebecca Baker. Performers Margaret Grenier, Nigel Grenier, Raven Grenier, Rebecca Baker, Jeanette Kotowich.

The Vancouver East Cultural Centre commissioned Flicker where it premiered in May 2016. It was co-produced by the Canada Dance Festival, with an eastern premiere at the National Arts Centre, June 2016, and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, BC Arts Council, and the Vancouver Foundation.

Upcoming shows

Ballet BC

Ballet BC

Emily Molnar + Crystal Pite + Sharon Eyal + Gai Behar

5. 6. 7. 8 Apr 2017

Tickets
Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler

18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 Apr 2017

Tickets
Rosas

Rosas

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

4. 5. 6 May 2017

Tickets

• Dancers of Damelahamid

    Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 nov 2017
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 nov 2017

Dancers of Damelahamid - Flicker

  • Vancouver
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Flicker

    Margaret Grenier
MAI - Montréal arts interculturels
Durée – 1 h 15 Salle – Cinquième Salle
14 Novembre 2017 - 20 H
15 Novembre 2017 - 20 H
16 Novembre 2017 - 20 H
17 Novembre 2017 - 20 H
18 Novembre 2017 - 20 H
Hydro Québec
Abonnez-vous

Billets à partir de 39.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Mercredi 15 novembre 2017
    Vendredi 17 novembre 2017

Avec Flicker, le public part à la découverte des danses autochtones de Dancers of Damelahamid. Renouvelant la scénographie habituelle pour l’ancrer dans la modernité, Flicker est une odyssée en mouvement. 

Compagnie de danse autochtone de la Colombie-Britannique, Dancers of Damelahamid entreprend depuis plusieurs décennies de redonner vie à un répertoire en lien avec son passé. L’idée est de développer des pratiques contemporaines tout en honorant l’histoire des Premières Nations et transmettre ce patrimoine chanté et dansé aux générations futures. Flicker – référence au picbois – se présente comme une chorégraphie multimédia signée Margaret Grenier. Un jeune homme entreprend un voyage intérieur. Amené à le suivre dans son parcours, entre montagne et forêt, le spectateur croisera des âmes, la danse et quelques figures mythiques. La scénographie ici se joint à la gestuelle donnant l’impression d’une scène grandeur nature. Flicker est un trait d’union entre les traditions des Premières Nations et des formes plus actuelles. Un don ancestral qui résonne avec notre mémoire collective.

  • Margaret Grenier

    © Ana Pedrero

    Margaret Grenier

    Margaret Grenier est la directrice exécutive et artistique de la compagnie Dancers of Damelahamid. Elle a chorégraphié les pièces intégrales Setting the Path (2004) et Sharing the Spirit (2007) qui ont tourné internationalement : en Nouvelle Zélande en 2008, et en Chine en 2010 pour l’Exposition Universelle de Shanghai. Ses autres créations incluent Visitors Who Never Left (2009), une pièce hors les murs,...

    En savoir plus sur Margaret Grenier
  • Dancers of Damelahamid

    Dancers of Damelahamid est une compagnie de danse autochtone de la côte Nord-Ouest du Canada. La compagnie s’est fondée sur un travail de restauration de chansons démarré il y a plus de 4 décennies. Elle naît dans les années 1960 d’un besoin de s’assurer que les pratiques artistiques de leurs ancêtres ne disparaissent pas. Aujourd’hui, la ligne directrice de la compagnie Dancers of Damelahamid est de redéfinir et caractériser...

    En savoir plus sur Dancers of Damelahamid

Chorégraphe Margaret Grenier. Compositeur Andrew Grenier. Traduction Gitxsan Elder Betsy Lomax. Chant crie Lawrence Trottier. Conception et production multimédia Andy Moro. Conception graphique Shaun Kingerlee. Visuel / masques des regions côtières Andrew Grenier. Conception sonore et musique additionnelle Ted Hamilton. Dramaturgie Charles Koroneho. Conception ornements et costumes Rebecca Baker. Interprètes Margaret Grenier, Nigel Grenier, Raven Grenier, Rebecca Baker, Jeanette Kotowich.

Flicker est une commande du Vancouver East Cultural Centre dont la première représentation a eu lieu en mai 2016. Il a été coproduit par le Canada Dance Festival, pour une première dans l’est canadien au National Arts Centre en juin 2016, avec le soutien du Conseil des Arts du Canada, du Conseil des Arts de Colombie-Britannique et de Vancouver Foundation.

Spectacles à venir

Ballet BC

Ballet BC

Emily Molnar + Crystal Pite + Sharon Eyal + Gai Behar

5. 6. 7. 8 avr 2017

Billets
Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler Radical System Art

Shay Kuebler

18. 19. 20. 21. 21. 22 avr 2017

Billets
Rosas

Rosas

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

4. 5. 6 mai 2017

Billets