• Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 Jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 Jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 Jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 Jan 2016

Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg (Dada Masilo) - Swan Lake

  • South Africa
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    Dada Masilo
8 pm Length – 1 H 10 Venue – Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier
14 January 2016 - 8 PM
15 January 2016 - 8 PM
16 January 2016 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $34.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday January 15, 2016

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

The turbulent South African Dada Masilo presents a scathing version of Swan Lake that features a gay prince, everyone in tutus, mordant humour and strong emotions. This explosive fusion of classical and African dance is a compelling work by a significant artist.

Dada Masilo - Dance Factory Johannesburg - Swan Lake

Swan Lake

Strong Emotion and Scathing Humour

Renowned for her galvanizing interpretations of great classical ballets, the young South African Dada Masilo makes her sensational debut in Canada with 13 electrifying dancers in a caustic adaptation of Swan Lake. Combining classical and African dance, she incarnates with fiery spirit the beautiful Odette, who as a victim of a sorcerer’s curse is turned into a white swan each day at dawn. But in her version, Prince Siegfried falls in love neither with her nor her double. To the great sorrow of his parents, he succumbs to the charms of a decidedly male black swan, an attraction that proves fatal. Homophobia, forced marriages, the legacy of apartheid and the ravages of AIDS are evoked with humour, sensitivity and lucid intelligence in a vigorous work of astounding beauty.

From Dancing on Points to Barefoot Dance

Created in 1877 at the Bolshoi in Moscow and set to the music of Tchaikovsky, Swan Lake is a ballet that has inspired countless versions and performances of the piece. It is a ballet that has fascinated Dada Masilo since the age of 11. After taking on Romeo and Juliette as well as Carmen, in 2010 she perfected her fusion of classical and African styles in this revised tale of Siegfried, Odette and Odile. Between arabesques, bare feet striking the floor, clapping hands, swaying hips and voices punctuating the rhythm of the dance, she employs the metaphor of Tchaikovsky’s homosexuality masked behind the impossible love of the original version, and introduces the theme of AIDS at the end of the piece. She thus confronts two major taboos prevalent in her native land. She also questions the heritage of the apartheid regime, combining more contemporary sounds with the original score and hijacking the codes of ballet. All the dancers are in tutus, torsos shimmering with sweat, and the lead is a well-built male dancer rather than a slender ballerina.


Biographical Notes

Dada Masilo grew up in the impoverished neighbourhood of Soweto, where she was born in 1985. She studied classical and contemporary dance in South Africa, followed by two years in Brussels at PARTS, the famous dance school founded by the choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Combining her training with the traditions of African dance, she established a unique signature, captivating audiences with reworkings of major classics from the Western dance repertoire. She founded her own company in 2008 and became a celebrity in South Africa, and soon afterward became a star on the international scene. She has created a dozen choreographies and is the recipient of two awards.

Credits

Choregraphy Dada Masilo. Compagny The Dance Factory. Music Tchaïkovsky, Steve Reich, René Avenant, Camille Saint-Saëns, Arvo Pärt. Lighting Design Suzette Le Sueur. Costume Design Dada Masilo Suzette Le Sueur. Costume Confection Ann and Kirsten Bailes. Hats Confection Karabo Legoabe. Stage Manager François Saint-Cyr. Technical Director Interarts Lausanne Emmanuel Journoud. Production The Dance Factory, Suzette Le Sueur and Interarts Lausanne, Chantal and Jean-Luc Larguier. Broadcasting Scènes de la Terre, Martine Dionisio.

Premiere at National Arts Festival, Grahamstown, Afrique du Sud, July 2, 2010.

Upcoming shows

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 Jan 2017

Tickets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 Feb 2017

Tickets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 Mar 2017

Tickets

message goes here

close

• Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    (Lac des cygnes)Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    (Lac des cygnes)Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    (Lac des cygnes)Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 jan 2016
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    (Lac des cygnes)Dada Masilo
    14. 15. 16 jan 2016

Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg (Dada Masilo) - Swan Lake

  • Afrique du Sud
  • Dada Masilo / Dance Factory Johannesburg

    Swan Lake

    (Lac des cygnes) Dada Masilo
20 h Durée – 1 H 10 Salle – Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier
14 Janvier 2016 - 20 H
15 Janvier 2016 - 20 H
16 Janvier 2016 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 34.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 15 janvier 2016

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

La turbulente Sud-Africaine Dada Masilo livre une version décapante du Lac des cygnes avec un prince gay, des tutus pour tout le monde, un humour ravageur et des émotions fortes. Une fusion détonante des danses classique et africaine à découvrir de toute urgence.

Dada Masilo - Dance Factory Johannesburg - Swan Lake

Swan Lake

Émotions fortes et humour ravageur

Réputée pour ses relectures galvanisantes de grands classiques du ballet, la jeune Sud-Africaine Dada Masilo fait une entrée fracassante au Canada avec 13 danseurs électrisants et une adaptation décapante du Lac des cygnes. Fusionnant danses classique et africaine, elle incarne avec fougue la belle Odette qui, victime d’un sort, se transforme en cygne blanc à chaque lever du jour. Mais dans sa version, ce n’est pas d’elle ni de son sosie que le prince Siegfried tombe amoureux. Il succombe, au grand regret de ses parents, aux charmes d’un cygne noir tout ce qu’il y a de plus mâle. Cela lui sera fatal. Homophobie, mariages forcés, séquelles de l’apartheid et ravages du sida sont évoqués avec humour, sensibilité et lumineuse intelligence dans cette œuvre d’une vigueur et d’une beauté stupéfiantes.

Des pointes aux pieds nus

Créé en 1877 au Théâtre Bolchoï de Moscou sur la musique de Tchaïkovski, Le Lac des cygnes est l’un des ballets qui a inspiré le plus grand nombre de versions. Dada Masilo en fait une fixation depuis l’âge de 11 ans. En 2010, après s’être attaquée à Roméo et Juliette, puis à Carmen, elle parfait sa fusion des styles classique et africain dans l’histoire révisée de Siegfried, Odette et Odile. Entre arabesques, pieds nus frappant le sol, claquements de mains, hanches ondoyantes et voix qui viennent rythmer la danse, elle met au jour la métaphore de l’homosexualité de Tchaïkovski qui se cachait derrière l’amour impossible dans le livret original et introduit le thème du sida à la toute fin de l’œuvre. Elle confronte ainsi deux grands tabous de son pays natal. Elle questionne également l’héritage du régime de l’apartheid en métissant la partition originale de sonorités plus contemporaines et en détournant les codes du ballet avec des tutus pour tout le monde, des torses nus en sueur et un danseur baraqué à la place de la ballerine gracile.


Notes biographiques

Dada Masilo a grandi dans le quartier pauvre de Soweto, où elle est née en 1985. Formée aux danses classique et contemporaine en Afrique du Sud, elle a passé deux ans à Bruxelles pour étudier à PARTS, fameuse école de la chorégraphe Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Métissant ces acquis à la danse africaine, elle affirme une signature unique et subjugue les spectateurs avec ses relectures de grands classiques de l’histoire de la danse occidentale. En 2008, elle fonde sa compagnie, devient rapidement une célébrité dans son pays et séduit aussi vite les scènes internationales. Elle compte déjà une dizaine d’œuvres et deux prix à son actif.

 

 

Crédits

Chorégraphie Dada Masilo. Compagnie The Dance Factory. Musiques Tchaïkovsky, Steve Reich, René Avenant, Camille Saint-Saëns, Arvo Pärt. Création lumières Suzette Le Sueur. Costumes conçus par Dada Masilo et Suzette Le Sueur. Réalisation des costumes Ann et Kirsten Bailes. Réalisation des chapeaux Karabo Legoabe. Régisseur François Saint-Cyr. Direction technique Interarts Lausanne Emmanuel Journoud. Production The Dance Factory, Suzette Le Sueur et Interarts Lausanne, Chantal et Jean-Luc Larguier. Diffusion Scènes de la Terre, Martine Dionisio.

Première au National Arts Festival, Grahamstown, Afrique du Sud, 2 juillet 2010.

Spectacles à venir

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 sep, 1 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 oct 2016

AbonnementsBillets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 nov 2016

AbonnementsBillets

message goes here

close