Compagnie Olivier Dubois - Tragédie

  • France
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
Length – 1 h 30 Venue – Théâtre Maisonneuve
1 May 2014 - 8 PM
2 May 2014 - 8 PM
3 May 2014 - 8 PM

Warning: loud sound

Tickets start at $34.00

Evening program
Press release
Press kit

A lightning rod jolting the contemporary dance scene in France, Olivier Dubois submits the nude bodies of 18 dancers to the implacable repetition of a mechanism that slowly gnaws away at their docility, pushing them toward an explosive liberation. This powerful, gut-wrenching Tragédie pulls the audience headlong into a collective catharsis.

Experience a blinding, dazzling, deafening humanity. No longer able to distinguish inpidual bodies rising to the surface from masses in movement, the piece presents a quivering, archaic momentum. With Tragédie, Olivier Dubois plunges the audience into a “sensation of the world” beyond mere choreography. Humanity is not the simple fact of being a man or a woman and therein lies the tragedy of our existence, for it is only among bodies and through the earthbound pressures of our steps and our conscious, voluntary commitment that humanity will truly emerge.

Exposed and vulnerable in their nudity, the better to incarnate anatomical variation, nine men and nine women present a truly original state of the human body, a solicitation of the human species devoid of historical, sociological or psychological troubles, one that ultimately gives way to a chorus singing the praises of the glorious body.

Walking or standing upright or face to face, they initially start with a constant to-and-fro – episode after episode of ceaseless movement – before pounding the floor and thus making of basic human steps the fundamental expression of their will.

As with Révolution, Olivier Dubois has created an obsessive and indeed hypnotic piece, movement of ebb and flow, where women and men coalesce only to break apart, the friction of their fusion creating a clash of discord. A rift opens up, revealing in this telluric tumult the precious transcendence of a human community.

“In song and dance, man expresses himself as a member of a higher community. He has forgotten how to walk and speak, and is on the way toward flying up into the air, dancing. He himself now walks about, enchanted.” The Birth of Tragedy, Nietzsche

“Olivier Dubois has created with Tragédie his very own Sacre du printemps, or his own Boléro.” (Libération, Paris, France)

“The basic energy of a march becomes a whoop of sheer vitality.”
(Le Monde, Paris, France) 

A bonus for International Dance Day: Prêt à baiser


Photo © Boris Munger

A duet created at the Musée d’art moderne de Paris the same year as Tragédie, Prêt à baiser is a lengthy kiss choreographed to Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, as arranged by the composer François Caffenne, who also worked on Tragédie. Presented for one night only in collaboration with DHC/ART and the Centre PHI, it will be performed by Olivier Dubois and Mohamed Kouadri.

Prêt à baiser (Ready to kiss) will be presented in Montreal on April 29 at 8 p.m. at Centre PHI.
Tickets: $26,25 (including taxes and service fees)
514.225.0525, 1.855.526.8888

DHC ART

  • Olivier Dubois

    Photo © François Stemmer

    Olivier Dubois

    “Amusing, enigmatic and astonishing are the descriptive adjectives that make one want to follow the dynamic path of this singular dancer-choreographer. Take note of his name – Olivier Dubois.”  (Télérama Sortir, Paris, France)Born in 1972, Olivier Dubois made his début as a...

    Read more about Olivier Dubois

Creation and Choreography Olivier Dubois. Assistant Cyril Accorsi. Music François Caffenne. Ligthing Design Patrick Riou. Set Design Olivier Dubois. General Stage Management François Michaudel. Company Director Béatrice Horn. American booking A propic, Line Rousseau. Dancers Marie-Laure Caradec, Marianne Descamps, Virginie Garcia, Karine Girard, Carole Gomes-Busnel, Inés Hernández, Isabelle Kürzi, Loren Palmer, Sandra Savin, Benjamin Bertrand, Arnaud Boursain, Jorge Moré Calderon, Sylvain Decloitre, Sébastien Ledig, Filipe Lourenço, Thierry Micouin, Rafael Pardillo, Sébastien Perrault. Production COD. Coproduction Festival d'Avignon, L’Apostrophe scène nationale de Cergy-Pontoise et du Val d’Oise, La Rose des vents Scène nationale Lille Métropole à Villeneuve d'Ascq, Le CENTQUATRE, Le Théâtre - Scène nationale de Mâcon, le Monaco Dance Forum / les Ballets de Monte Carlo, Malandain Ballet / Biarritz - Centre chorégraphique national d'Aquitaine et de Pyrénées Atlantiques, La communauté d'agglomération de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines - Le Prisme.

COD receives the DRAC Ile de France – Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication conventionnement, the Région Ile-de-France, the Conseil Général du Val d’Oise, the SPEDIDAM and La communauté d'agglomération de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines - Le Prisme help.

FRIMAS 2014

Olivier Dubois at Festival d'Avignon 2012 - Interview

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

• Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
    1. 2. 3 mai 2014
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
    1. 2. 3 mai 2014
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
    1. 2. 3 mai 2014
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
    1. 2. 3 mai 2014
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
    1. 2. 3 mai 2014

Compagnie Olivier Dubois - Tragédie

  • France
  • Compagnie Olivier Dubois

    Tragédie

    Olivier Dubois
20 h Durée – 1 h 30 Salle – Théâtre Maisonneuve
1 Mai 2014 - 20 H
2 Mai 2014 - 20 H
3 Mai 2014 - 20 H

Avertissement : sonorisation forte, stroboscopes

Billets à partir de 34.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 2 mai 2014

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Agitateur de la scène contemporaine française, Olivier Dubois soumet les corps nus de 18 danseurs à l’implacable répétitivité d’une mécanique qui ronge lentement le frein de leur docilité et les pousse à une explosive libération. Une puissante Tragédie qui nous saisit aux tripes et nous entraîne dans une catharsis collective.

Danse Danse 13 - 14 : Olivier Dubois - Tragédie

"Prêt à baiser" / Olivier Dubois

Danse Danse 13 -14: Les codirecteurs vous parlent du spectacle Tragégie d'Olivier Dubois

Faire l’expérience d’une humanité aveuglante, éblouissante... assourdissante. Ne plus distinguer les corps pour qu’affleurent de ces masses en mouvement, des élans archaïques. Avec Tragédie, Olivier Dubois nous propulse dans une « sensation du monde » plus que dans une pièce chorégraphique. Le simple fait d’être homme ne fait pas Humanité, voilà la tragédie de notre existence. Car ce n’est que d’entre les corps, d’entre les pressions telluriques nées du pas de chacun et de par nos engagements conscients et volontaires que surgira cette humanité.

Surexposés dans leur nudité, pour mieux incarner cette évidente variation anatomique, neuf femmes et neuf hommes proposent un état de corps originel, une sollicitation de leur genre humain débarrassé des troubles historiques, sociologiques, psychologiques... et laissent transcender in fine un chœur tel un chant/corps glorieux.

Marcher, être redressés, faire face, tout d’abord par des allers et retours incessants – péripéties d’un mouvement – puis par un martèlement du sol, et ainsi refaire du pas le geste fondamental de leur volonté.

Tout comme avec Révolution, Olivier Dubois signe là une pièce manifeste, obsessionnelle, voire hypnotique, où dans un mouvement de sac et de ressac, ces femmes et ces hommes se fondent, disparaissent; le frottement de leurs engagements crée le fracas. Une faille s’ouvre et laisse entrevoir, dans ce tumulte tellurique, la précieuse transcendance d’une communauté humaine.

« Par le chant et la danse, l’homme manifeste son appartenance à une communauté supérieure : il a désappris de marcher et de parler et, dansant, il est sur le point de s’envoler dans les airs. Ses gestes disent son ensorcellement. » La naissance de la tragédie, Nietzsche

« Olivier Dubois signe avec Tragédie son Sacre du printemps, ou bien son Boléro. » (Libération, Paris, France) 

« L’énergie de base qu’est une bonne marche devient un cri de pure vitalité. » (Le Monde, Paris, France) 

En prime, pour la Journée internationale de la danse : Prêt à baiser

Photo © Boris Munger

Duo créé la même année que Tragédie au Musée d’art moderne de Paris, Prêt à baiser est un long baiser chorégraphié sur Le Sacre du printemps de Stravinski, arrangé par le compositeur François Caffenne, également son collaborateur pour Tragédie. Présenté une seule fois en collaboration avec DHC/ART et le Centre PHI, il sera interprété par Olivier Dubois et Mohamed Kouadri.

Prêt à baiser est présentée à Montréal le 29 avril à 20 h au Centre PHI.
Billets 26,25 $ (incluant taxes et frais de service)
514 225.0525, 1 855 526.8888

Attention : stroboscopes

DHC ART

 

Crédits

Création et chorégraphie Olivier Dubois. Assistant à la création Cyril Accorsi. Musique François Caffenne. Création lumière Patrick Riou. Scénographie Olivier Dubois. Régie générale François Michaudel. Directrice de compagnie Béatrice Horn. Agent tournée nord- américaine A propic, Line Rousseau. Interprètes Marie-Laure Caradec, Marianne Descamps, Virginie Garcia, Karine Girard, Carole Gomes-Busnel, Inés Hernández, Isabelle Kürzi, Loren Palmer, Sandra Savin, Benjamin Bertrand, Arnaud Boursain, Jorge Moré Calderon, Sylvain Decloitre, Sébastien Ledig, Filipe Lourenço, Thierry Micouin, Rafael Pardillo, Sébastien Perrault. Production COD. Coproduction Festival d'Avignon, L’Apostrophe scène nationale de Cergy-Pontoise et du Val d’Oise, La Rose des vents Scène nationale Lille Métropole à Villeneuve d'Ascq, Le CENTQUATRE, Le Théâtre - Scène nationale de Mâcon, le Monaco Dance Forum / les Ballets de Monte Carlo, Malandain Ballet / Biarritz - Centre chorégraphique national d'Aquitaine et de Pyrénées Atlantiques.

Compagnie soutenue par la Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Ile de France – Ministère de la Culture, au titre du conventionnement, la Région Ile-de-France, le Conseil Général du Val d'Oise, la SPEDIDAM et La communauté d'agglomération de Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines - Le Prisme.

La compagnie est en résidence à L’apostrophe scène nationale de Cergy-Pontoise et du Val d’Oise. Olivier Dubois est artiste associé au CENTQUATRE - Paris.

FRIMAS 2014

Spectacles à venir

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 jan 2017

Billets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 fév 2017

Billets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 mar 2017

Billets

message goes here

close