BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

An internationally renowned contemporary dance company, BJM – Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal is a repertory company that presents a hybrid form of dance that combines the aesthetics of classical ballet and embraces many other different styles of dance. Founded in 1972 by Geneviève Salbaing, Eva von Gencsy and Eddy Toussaint, the company has pursued its own unique path over the decades. Very contemporary in its current approach, BJM performances are original and accessible, and its superb dancers are widely acclaimed. The term “jazz” in the name refers more to a “jazzing up” of classical ballet rather than a musical or dance style.

Since 1998, BJM have been under the command of Artistic Director Louis Robitaille. The company has presented works by internationally acclaimed choreographers and is also particularly interested in supporting and encouraging Canadian choreographers, composers and designers.

With over 2 000 performances in 67 countries to more than two million spectators, BJM are ambassadors of Quebec and Canadian culture worldwide. The company is celebrating their 45th anniversary in 2017.

BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal

Compagnie de répertoire contemporain de renommée internationale, BJM - Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal proposent une danse hybride alliant l’esthétique du ballet classique à plusieurs autres styles de danse. Fondée en 1972 par Geneviève Salbaing, Eva von Gencsy et Eddy Toussaint, cette compagnie a tracé son sillage à travers les époques. Plus contemporains, les BJM offrent aujourd’hui des œuvres originales, accessibles et remarquées par l’excellence de son exécution. Le terme « jazz » dans le nom de la compagnie fait davantage référence à du ballet classique mis au goût du jour qu’à un style musical.

Depuis 1998, les BJM sont dirigés par le directeur artistique, Louis Robitaille. La compagnie a depuis présenté des œuvres de chorégraphes internationaux et a aussi particulièrement à cœur de soutenir et d’encourager la créativité canadienne – chorégraphes, compositeurs et concepteurs.

Avec plus de 2 000 spectacles donnés dans 67 pays et pour plus de deux millions de spectateurs, les BJM sont des ambassadeurs de la culture québécoise et canadienne dans le monde. La compagnie célèbre son 45e anniversaire en 2017.