ARIAS Company - a rather lovely thing

  • New York
  • ARIAS Company

    a rather lovely thing

    Bryan Arias
Length – 1 H 05 Venue – Cinquième Salle
11 October 2016 - 8 PM
12 October 2016 - 8 PM
13 October 2016 - 8 PM
14 October 2016 - 8 PM
15 October 2016 - 8 PM
Hydro Québec

Tickets start at $38.00

Evening program
Press release

The New Yorker Bryan Arias blends styles and employs humour in subtle fashion to show how our past, our environment and our networks influence our behaviour. Discover this choreographer and dancer, part of a quartet of equally amazing performers.

a rather lovely thing

A New Yorker born in Puerto Rico, Bryan Arias draws inspiration from both popular social dance styles and great contemporary choreographers who made an impact on his career as a dancer such as Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin and Crystal Pite. This emerging choreographer is making waves at prestigious festivals, charming audiences with his refined movement and works that speak directly to the heart. Favourite themes include the human condition, relationships and notions of identity. In a quartet with top-notch dancers, he blends various styles to create a specific dance language for this new work. Fabricating dreamlike atmospheres that illustrate our fears and desires, he gives form to our paradoxes and uses humour to loosen the grip of stereotypes. A force to be discovered.

“An expressive young powerhouse dancer…” − The New York Times

  • Bryan Arias

    Photo © Joris-Jon Bos

    Bryan Arias

    Born in Ponce, Puerto Rico, Bryan moved with his family to New York City at the age of nine. While growing up Bryan was exposed to many urban and social dance styles, receiving his formal dance training at La Guardia High School for the Performing Arts. As a dancer, Bryan went on to perform with Complexions Contemporary Ballet, before moving to Holland to join The Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT), and Crystal Pite’s company Kidd...

    Read more about Bryan Arias
  • ARIAS Company

    ARIAS Company was founded by dancer/choreographer Bryan Arias in 2013. Throughout his life and artistic career Bryan has been exposed to many dance genres which has led him to explore his own creativity. His love of theater and artistic development led him to form the company as a choreographic home to cultivate his own work.  His creations strive to be relevant, forward thinking, and thought provoking. Referencing aspects of...

    Read more about ARIAS Company

Premiere July 27, 2016. Choreography Bryan Arias. Dancers Bryan Arias, Jermaine Spivey, Spenser Theberge, Ana Maria Lucaciu. Lighting Design Nick Hung. Costume Design Spenser Theberge, Marion Talan del Rosa. Props Brandon Lee. Manager and agent Brent Belsher, belsherartsmanagement.com.

Music
Ólafur Arnalds & Alice Sara Ott : 
Nocturne in G Minor (Frédéric Chopin). The Royal Chopin Orquesta : Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise in E Flat Major, Op.22 (Frédéric Chopin). Pro Arte Guitar : Children’s Games (Georges Bizet). Jónsi & Alex : Happiness. Isabelle Faust : Sonata III BWV 1005 in C major: I. Adagio (Johann Sebastian Bach). Victor Silvester & His Ballroom Orchestra : It’s the Talk of the Town (Nils Frahm's '78' Recording). Nina Simone : Who Knows Where the Time Goes. Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm : 20:17. Terry Riley : Mescalin Mix.

Upcoming shows

Clara Furey

Clara Furey

Clara Furey \ Artiste associée Par B.L.eux

6. 7. 8. 9. 13. 14. 15. 16 Dec 2017

Tickets
Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Legend Lin Dance Theatre

Lin Lee-Chen

24. 25. 26. 27 Jan 2018

Tickets
La Veronal

La Veronal

Marcos Morau

8. 9. 10 Feb 2018

Tickets

ARIAS Company - a rather lovely thing

  • New York
  • ARIAS Company

    a rather lovely thing

    Bryan Arias
Durée – 1 H 05 Salle – Cinquième Salle
11 Octobre 2016 - 20 H
12 Octobre 2016 - 20 H
13 Octobre 2016 - 20 H
14 Octobre 2016 - 20 H
15 Octobre 2016 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 38.00 $

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse

Le new-yorkais Bryan Arias fusionne les styles avec raffinement et passe par l’humour pour montrer comment notre passé, notre environnement et nos réseaux influencent nos comportements. À découvrir en quatuor avec des interprètes aussi époustouflants que lui.

a rather lovely thing

New-yorkais natif de Porto Rico, Bryan Arias s’abreuve autant aux sources de danses populaires qu’à celles des grands chorégraphes contemporains qui ont marqué sa carrière de danseur tels Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin et Crystal Pite. Chorégraphe émergent, il s’impose dans les festivals les plus prestigieux, séduisant par le raffinement de sa gestuelle et par des œuvres qui vont droit au cœur. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la condition humaine, les relations, la quête identitaire. En quatuor avec des interprètes triés sur le volet, il fusionne les styles afin de créer un langage spécifique pour cette toute nouvelle création. Tissant des atmosphères de rêve pour illustrer nos désirs et nos peurs, il met en scène nos paradoxes et use de l’humour pour desserrer l’étau de nos stéréotypes. À découvrir.

« La chorégraphie de Bryan Arias est fluide et incisive, les émotions qui la traversent sont extrêmes. » − The List, Édimbourg

  • Bryan Arias

    Photo © Joris-Jon Bos

    Bryan Arias

    Né à Ponce, Porto Rico, Bryan Arias déménagea avec sa famille à New York à l'âge de neuf ans. En grandissant, Bryan a été exposée à de nombreux styles de danses urbaines et sociales. Formé en danse à la Guardia High School for the Performing Arts, il a dansé au cours de sa carrière d’interprète avec plusieurs grandes compagnies telles que Complexions Contemporary Ballet, le Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) et Kidd Pivot de...

    En savoir plus sur Bryan Arias
  • ARIAS Company

    En 2013, le danseur et chorégraphe Bryan Arias fonde Arias Company. Tout au long de sa vie et plus particulièrement lors de sa carrière artistique, Bryan a été exposé à de nombreux styles de danse qui l'ont conduit à explorer sa propre créativité. Son amour pour le théâtre et le développement artistique l'ont amené à créer sa compagnie comme une maison chorégraphique afin de cultiver son propre travail. Ses...

    En savoir plus sur ARIAS Company

Création 27 juillet 2016. Chorégraphie  Bryan Arias. Danseurs Bryan Arias, Jermaine Spivey, Spenser Theberge, Ana Maria Lucaciu. Éclairages Nick Hung. Costumes Spenser Theberge, Marion Talan del Rosa. Accessoires Brandon Lee. Manager et agent Brent Belsher, belsherartsmanagement.com. 

Musique
Ólafur Arnalds & Alice Sara Ott : Nocturne in G Minor (Frédéric Chopin). The Royal Chopin Orquesta : Andante Spianato and Grande Polonaise in E Flat Major, Op.22 (Frédéric Chopin). Pro Arte Guitar : Children’s Games (Georges Bizet). Jónsi & Alex : Happiness. Isabelle Faust : Sonata III BWV 1005 in C major: I. Adagio (Johann Sebastian Bach). Victor Silvester & His Ballroom Orchestra : It’s the Talk of the Town (Nils Frahm's '78' Recording). Nina Simone : Who Knows Where the Time Goes. Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm : 20:17. Terry Riley : Mescalin Mix.

Spectacles à venir