• Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Apr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Apr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Apr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 Apr 2015

Alan Lake Factori(e) - Ravages

  • Quebec
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
In co-presentation with
Place des Arts
8 pm Length – 1 H 00 Venue – Cinquième Salle
14 April 2015 - 8 PM
15 April 2015 - 8 PM
16 April 2015 - 8 PM
17 April 2015 - 8 PM
18 April 2015 - 8 PM

Tickets start at $33.00

Post-performance talk with the artists

    Friday April 17, 2015

Evening program
Press release
Press kit
* NOTE ON PRICES

A new revelation on the emerging Quebec dance scene, Alan Lake will transform the Cinquième Salle into a mysterious garden tended by high-flying dancers. Their raw, fiery yet tender dance finds an echo in the splendid images of a film that opens up the horizons of this dreamlike landscape.

Danse Danse 14-15 Alan Lake EN

Alan Lake, résidence pour Ravages

“Alan Lake presents an ambitious work that combines physical expression with the best of video art. Spectators will long remember the film that opens the show, a standout for its creative photography and its impeccable special effects that highlight the talent of the dancers.” (Voir, Quebec City, review of Là-bas, le lointain)

A choreographer, dancer, director and visual artist, Alan Lake combines his multiple passions and talents in pieces that he has been creating since 2003 in the Alan Lake Factori(e) research lab he founded in Quebec City. Pursuing the mélange of film, choreography and sculpture that led to his success in Quebec City. Alan Lake takes to the path of multidisciplinary dialogue and explores new territories. Blending disciplines and weaving a tale of abstract narration, he invites the spectator to plunge into a raw and fragile world of epic symbolism where mankind is confronted with the perishable or the unchanging. From his exploration of the correlations between the body, filmed images, art installation and raw material, what emerges is a powerful dance vocabulary where the bodies of the four dancers are transformed into a landscape, a mysterious garden that evokes both the world around us and the inner life that is its driving force. With the passage of time, order and disorder follow one another as sedimentation and birth, tragedy and comedy, the ugly and the sublime merge and blend together. Gradually nature is restored and humans reinvent themselves, each of them bearing the imprint of the seasons of life.

Biographical Notes

It was while researching objects and organic imagery that the visual artist Alan Lake discovered dance. Even before graduating from the École de danse de Québec, he presented multidisciplinary pieces centred on movement. Ravages, his seventh choreography, includes a film, as was also the case with Chaudières, déplacements et paysages (2009) and Là-bas, le lointain (2012). Renowned as one of the most brilliant emerging artists in Quebec City, he received the people’s choice award at Vidéastes Recherché•es for his piece 9 Minutes, 2 Fois (2004).

“His style is strong and singular, and his choreography goes beyond the frontiers of movement. With Là-bas, le lointain, Alan Lake has created a surprise of the 2011-2012 season and managed to touch the great Lepage, who was full of praise during the post-show discussion.” (Voir, Quebec City)

Photo (out of a film) © François Gamache.

Credits

Choreography Alan Lake with the dancers. Interpretation Dominic Caron, David Rancourt, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Arielle Warnke St-Pierre. Rehearsal AssistantArtistic Advisor Annie Gagnon. Set Design Julie Lévesque. Set Design Assistant Jean-Nicolas Demers. Composer Antoine Berthiaume. Photography Direction François Gamache. Video Design Louis-Robert Bouchard. Lighting Design François Marceau.

This work received the support of Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts du Canada. Creation partners La Place des Arts, La Rotonde centre chorégraphique contemporain de Québec, les Productions Recto-Verso, Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique et O Vertigo.

 

Upcoming shows

María Pagés Compañía

María Pagés

29. 30 Sep, 1 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

ARIAS Company

Bryan Arias

11. 12. 13. 14. 15 Oct 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

Nederlands Dans Theater

Sol León + Paul Lightfoot + Crystal Pite

1. 2. 3. 4. 5 Nov 2016

SubscriptionsTickets

message goes here

close

• Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 avr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 avr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 avr 2015
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
    14. 15. 16. 17. 18 avr 2015

Alan Lake Factori(e) - Ravages

  • Québec
  • Alan Lake Factori(e)

    Ravages

    Alan Lake
En coprésentation avec
Place des Arts
20 h Durée – 1 H 00 Salle – Cinquième Salle
14 Avril 2015 - 20 H
15 Avril 2015 - 20 H
16 Avril 2015 - 20 H
17 Avril 2015 - 20 H
18 Avril 2015 - 20 H

Billets à partir de 33.00 $

Rencontre post-spectacle avec les artistes

    Vendredi 17 avril 2015

Programme de soirée
Communiqué de presse
Dossier de presse
* NOTE SUR LES PRIX

Révélation de la relève de Québec, Alan Lake transforme la Cinquième Salle en jardin mystérieux que défrichent des danseurs de haut vol. Leur danse brute, rageuse, mais aussi tendre, trouve écho dans les splendides images d’un film qui ouvre les horizons de ce paysage onirique.

Danse Danse 14-15 Alan Lake FR

Alan Lake, résidence pour Ravages

« Alan Lake présente une production ambitieuse qui allie l’expression corporelle à ce qui se fait de mieux en arts vidéo. On se souviendra longtemps du film ouvrant le spectacle, qui se démarque par sa photographie créative et ses effets spéciaux impeccables mettant en valeur le talent des interprètes. » (Voir, Québec, à propos de Là-bas, le lointain)

Chorégraphe, interprète, réalisateur et artiste en arts visuels, Alan Lake conjugue ses multiples passions et talents dans les œuvres qu’il crée depuis 2003 dans le laboratoire de recherche Alan Lake Factori(e) qu’il a fondé dans la ville de Québec. Poursuivant l’hybridation des médiums cinématographique, chorégraphique et sculptural qui a fait son succès à Québec. Alan Lake emprunte à nouveau le chemin du dialogue pluridisciplinaire et en explore de nouveaux territoires. Il entremêle les disciplines et tisse le récit d’une narration abstraite, invitant le spectateur à plonger dans l’univers brut et fragile d’une épopée symbolique où l’humain se confronte à ce qui est périssable ou immuable. De son exploration de l’interrelation entre le corps, l’image filmée, l’installation et la matière brute, naît un langage chorégraphique puissant dans lequel le corps des quatre danseurs devient paysage. La scène est métamorphosée en un jardin mystérieux évoquant à la fois le monde qui les entoure et la vie intérieure qui les anime. Au fil du temps qui passe, l’ordre et le désordre se succèdent, comme la sédimentation et l’éclosion, le tragique se teinte de légèreté, le laid et le sublime se confondent. Peu à peu, la nature se renouvelle et les humains se réinventent, les uns comme les autres portant la trace des saisons de la vie.

Notes biographiques

C’est par sa recherche d’un objet et d’une image organique que l’artiste visuel Alan Lake est arrivé à la danse. Et il n’a pas attendu son diplôme de l’École de danse de Québec pour s’engager dans une pratique pluridisciplinaire centrée sur le mouvement. Ravages, sa septième œuvre chorégraphique, intègre un film, à l’instar de Chaudières, déplacements et paysages (2009) et de Là-bas, le lointain (2012). Reconnu comme l’un des plus brillants artistes émergents de Québec, il a remporté le prix du public à Vidéastes Recherché•es avec 9 Minutes, 2 Fois (2004).                    

« Sa signature est forte et son œuvre s’étend au-delà des frontières du mouvement. Avec Là-bas, le lointain, Alan Lake avait créé la surprise en fin de saison 2011-2012 et su toucher le grand Lepage qui ne s’était pas montré avare d’éloges à la causerie post-représentation. » (Voir, Québec)

Photos © (tirés d'un film) François Gamache

Crédits

Chorégraphie Alan Lake avec la complicité des interprètes. Interprètes Dominic Caron, David Rancourt, Esther Rousseau-Morin, Arielle Warnke St-Pierre. Répétition et conseil artistique Annie Gagnon. Scénographie Julie Lévesque. Assistant à la scénographie Jean-Nicolas Demers. Compositeur Antoine Berthiaume. Direction de la photographie François Gamache. Conception vidéo Louis-Robert Bouchard. Conception lumière François Marceau.

Une création soutenue par le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, le Conseil des Arts du Canada. Partenariats à la création La Place des Arts, La Rotonde centre chorégraphique contemporain de Québec, les Productions Recto-Verso, Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique et O Vertigo.

 

Spectacles à venir

Batsheva Dance Company

Ohad Naharin

19. 20. 21 jan 2017

Billets

Anne Le Beau / Compagnie Dave St-Pierre inc.

Dave St-Pierre

1. 2. 3. 4. 8. 9. 10. 11 fév 2017

Billets

Akram Khan Company

Akram Khan

17. 18. 19. 23. 24. 25 mar 2017

Billets

message goes here

close