Akram Khan

Akram_Khan

Born in London in 1974 into a family originally from Bangladesh, Akram Khan began dancing kathak at the age of seven. His first public performance was at age 14 as a dancer in Peter Brook’s legendary Mahabharata. He toured the piece around the world from 1987 to 1989, and also appeared in the 1988 televised version. After studying contemporary dance and working on the X-Group project with Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker in Brussels, he presented his first solo works in the late 1990s. Maintaining his commitment to classical kathak alongside his modern work, he developed an innovative and contemporary language of movement. His better known solos include Polaroid Feet (2001), Ronin (2003) and Third Catalogue (2005).

He founded his own company in August 2000 with the producer Farooq Chaudhry, which provided him with a platform for innovation and a diverse range of work through collaboration with artists from disciplines ranging from theatre to literature, film, visual arts and music. As choreographer in residence at the South Bank Centre, he presented a recital with Pandit Birju Maharaj and Sri Pratap Pawar, plus A God of Small Tales, a piece for mature women with text by the acclaimed writer Hanif Kureishi. He was the first non-musician to be appointed associate artist (until April 2005) at the South Bank Centre, and is currently an associate artist at Sadler's Wells Theatre. His recent ensemble piece Vertical Road is further evidence of his ongoing desire to explore the relations between different cultures and creative disciplines. Akram Khan brings together a host of performers and artists from East and West. The piece began touring in September 2010. His work Gnosis mingles his classical Indian dance roots with contemporary dance. Working with world-class musicians from India, Pakistan, Japan and the United Kingdom, he brings the opposing worlds of tradition and innovation face to face. Outstanding earlier works include Kaash (2002), a collaboration with Nitin Sawhney and the artist Anish Kapoor, and ma in 2004 (with text by Hanif Kureishi), which received a South Bank Show award in 2005. Other recent works include In-I (2008), a duo with Oscar-winning actress Juliette Binoche and visual design by Anish Kapoor; (2008), a collaboration with the National Ballet of China; Sacred Monsters (2006), a duet with the ballerina Sylvie Guillem; Variations (2006), produced in conjunction with London Sinfonietta to celebrate the 70th birthday of composer Steve Reich; and zero degrees (2005), a collaboration with the dancers Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Antony Gormley, and Nitin Sawhney.

He has received several awards, including the Jerwood Foundation choreography award (2000); two Outstanding Newcomer to Dance awards presented by the Critics' Circle and Time Out Live (2000); the Best Modern Choreography award presented by the Critics' Circle (2002); the International Movimentos Tanzpreis (2004) for most promising newcomer in dance;  the 2005 Critics’ Circle award for outstanding male artist (modern dance); and a South Bank Show award (2005). Akram Khan was also nominated for a Nijinsky Award in 2002. In 2004 he received an honorary Doctorate of Arts from De Montfort University in Leicester for his contribution to the UK arts community, and the following year was named a member of the Order of the British Empire for his services to dance. More recently, he was the recipient of the International Theatre Institute’s 2007 award for excellence in international dance. That same year, he received the best male dancer award and the award for best choreography (zero degrees) at the Helpmann Awards ceremony in Sydney, Australia. He recently also received an honorary Doctorate of Arts from Roehampton University in London.

A recent highlight of his career was the creation of a section of the London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony that was received with unanimous acclaim.

The choreographer is returning for his sixth visit to Montreal, where he previously presented Sound of Archery in 2003, ma in 2006, In-I with Juliette Binoche in 2009 to sold-out houses, Vertical Road in 2012 and ITMOI in 2014. 

List of shows

Akram Khan

Akram_Khan

L’un des chorégraphes les plus appréciés de sa génération, Akram Khan est né à Londres en 1974, dans une famille originaire du Bangladesh. Il commence à danser à l’âge de sept ans et étudie avec le grand danseur et professeur de kathak Sri Pratap Pawar, dont il deviendra plus tard le disciple. Il fait ses débuts sur scène à 14 ans dans le légendaire Mahabharata de Peter Brook, participe à la tournée mondiale de la pièce de 1989 à 1997 et à sa version télévisée en 1988. Après des études en danse contemporaine et une période consacrée au projet X-Group d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, à Bruxelles, il présente ses premières œuvres en solo à la fin des années 1990 ; il y respecte son engagement envers le répertoire du kathak classique tout en avançant dans la modernité. Parmi ses solos les plus connus, on retiendra Polaroid Feet (2001), Ronin (2003) et Third Catalogue (2005). 

En août 2000, avec le producteur Farooq Chaudhry, il fonde sa propre compagnie, espace d’innovation qui lui permet de présenter toute une gamme d’œuvres de plus en plus diversifiées et issues de collaborations avec des artistes de différentes disciplines, du théâtre à la littérature, en passant par le cinéma, les arts visuels et la musique. Il est chorégraphe en résidence puis artiste associé au South Bank Centre, où il présente un récital avec Birju Maharaj et Sri Pratap Pawar, puis A God of Small Tales, une œuvre pour femmes mûres qui l’amène à collaborer avec l’écrivain Hanif Kureishi. Il est le premier non-musicien à bénéficier du statut d’artiste associé au South Bank Centre (jusqu’en avril 2005). Une de ses toutes dernières pièces, Vertical Road est une preuve supplémentaire de sa volonté permanente d'explorer les relations entre les différentes cultures et disciplines créatives. Akram Khan rassemble une foule d'artistes et artistes de l'Est et de l'Ouest. La pièce a commencé sa tournée en Septembre 2010. Sa pièce Gnosis mêle ses racines classiques de danse indienne à la danse contemporaine. En travaillant avec des musiciens de renommée mondiale de l'Inde, du Pakistan, du Japon et du Royaume-Uni, il amène le monde des traditions à faire face au monde de l’innovation. Parmi ses œuvres chorégraphiques, mentionnons kaash (2002), créée en collaboration avec Anish Kapoor et Nitin Sawhney ; ma (2004), sur un texte d’Hanif Kureishi, Prix du South Bank Show en 2005 ; zero degrees (2005), une collaboration avec Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Antony Gormley et Nitin Sawhney ; Variations (2006), réalisée en collaboration avec le London Sinfonietta pour souligner le 70e anniversaire du compositeur Steve Reich ; Sacred Monsters (2006), mettant en vedette la ballerine Sylvie Guillem ; bahok (2008), pour le Ballet national de Chine ; et In-I (2008), un duo avec l’actrice Juliette Binoche dans un décor signé Anish Kapoor. L’artiste a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, dont le Prix de chorégraphie de la Jerwood Foundation (2000) ; le Prix du jeune talent exceptionnel à deux reprises, l’un décerné par le Dance Critics’ Circle (2000), l’autre par Time Out Live (2000) ; le Prix de la meilleure chorégraphie moderne du Dance Critics’ Circle (2002) ; l’International Movimentos Tanzpreis (2004), qui récompense le jeune talent le plus prometteur ; le Prix national de la danse 2005 du Critics’ Circle, décerné à un artiste remarquable (danse moderne) ; et un prix du South Bank Show (2005).

Akram khan a également été nominé pour le Prix Nijinsky en 2002. En 2004, il a reçu un doctorat honorifique en arts de l’Université de Montfort à Leicester pour sa contribution à la communauté artistique du Royaume-Uni et l’année suivante, il a été nommé membre de l’Ordre de l’Empire Britannique pour ses services rendus à la danse. 
L’International Theatre Institute lui a remis le prix d’excellence en danse internationale en 2007. Toujours en 2007, il a reçu les Prix du meilleur danseur et de la meilleure chorégraphie (zero degrees) lors de la remise annuelle des prestigieux prix Helpmann, à Sydney, en Australie. Son interprétation dans In-I lui a de nouveau valu d’être en nomination pour ce prix. Récemment, un point culminant de sa carrière a été la création d'une section de la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques de Londres de 2012 qui reçu avec succès unanime. Il s’agit de son sixième passage à Montréal où il a déjà présenté Sound of Archery en 2003, ma en 2006, In-I en 2009 avec Juliette Binoche à guichets fermés, Vertical Road en 2012 et ITMOI en 2014. 

Liste des spectacles